Oublieth
À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Grumpy CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
August 5th, 2021 | 22 replies


Release Date: 06/21/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Synths and sorcery.

Oublieth is a one-man dungeon synth project hailing from Canada, who masterfully blends together the spirit of old-school dungeon synth music and the sound of Tangerine Dream, Vangelis and Klaus Schulz. À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres is Oublieth’s second full-length release, which turned out to be one of the best dungeon synth albums this year so far.

What makes À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres such an extraordinary release is its ability to be the perfect starting point for an all inclusive, dungeon synth experience. It utilizes many elements from both past or modern eras of the genre. The influence of old-school dungeon synth is especially dominant during the whole album, strongly resembling the sound of grand masters of the genre, such as Depressive Silence, Mortiis, Old Tower and so on. As such, the easily flowing, idyllic yet adventurous edge of the modern-era dungeon synth is perfectly inserted into the overall soundscape - similarly to what was heard in Malfet’s releases. Moreover, Oublieth’s latest contains a significant amount of cinematic drones, nature sound samples and these had a great impact in building up the desired enchanting atmosphere. The variety À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres's runtime is very impressive already on its own, but it is also important to note the beautifully textured and organic sounds of the album, thanks to the artist’s strict focus on using analog synthesizers.

What could possibly make a dungeon synth album outstanding? There could be many answers for this question, but I always thought the most important factor is a certain atmosphere. A magical, enchanting feeling which embraces and takes the listener to unknown realms on the wings of imagination. From this aspect, À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres perfectly fulfills this requirement, and offers a gorgeous sonical experience.



Recent reviews by this author
Peste Noire Le Retour Des PastoureauxMayhem Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando
Darkthrone Eternal HailsRed Fang Arrows
Impaled Nazarene Eight Headed SerpentCandlemass Green Valley
user ratings (8)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2021


6431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Bandcamp: https://oublieth.bandcamp.com/album/lombre-du-royaume-en-cendres

Already available on CD (by Sepulchral Productions), cassette version comes later this year (by Out Of Season).

Digging: Sarke - Allsighr

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2021


15140 Comments


Very sweet artwork

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2021


8898 Comments


aye new dungeon synth to check, nice nice nice

Digging: Full of Hell - Garden of Burning Apparitions

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2021


15140 Comments


Garas-core is the best core-Garas

Egarran
August 5th 2021


24350 Comments


> I always thought the most important factor is a certain atmosphere. A magical, enchanting feeling which embraces and takes the listener to unknown realms on the wings of imagination.

That's so beautiful.
Also I kinda want this from all my music.

SteakByrnes
August 5th 2021


24782 Comments


Very rad album art, nice review garas :3

garas
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2021


6431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks guys!



> Also I kinda want this from all my music.

So it happens I know a genre which can deliver exactly like that~ ;]

DDDeftoneDDD
August 5th 2021


18524 Comments


hum. Juicy?

Digging: Spiritbox - Eternal Blue

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
August 5th 2021


20793 Comments


sounds great, gonna check.

good review.

Digging: Phoenecia - MD.SLVG

Aberf
August 5th 2021


3821 Comments


a short review or an extended sound off?

Never heard any dungeon synth before, should I pop my cherry with this?

Digging: School of Seven Bells - Ghostory

AaroN911
August 5th 2021


3191 Comments


this is a must check

Digging: Spiritbox - Eternal Blue

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
August 5th 2021


20793 Comments


"ever heard any dungeon synth before, should I pop my cherry with this?"

no, listen to this. its far and away the best dungeon synth ive ever heard.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKSu-wZChcQ

garas
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2021


6431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Excellent choice Hyperion.

> Never heard any dungeon synth before, should I pop my cherry with this?

The most popular albums on The Dungeon Synth Archives youtube channel is a great start to find out!

Pho3nix
August 5th 2021


1158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad to see a review of this! :]



The first track in particular is very Vangelis-esque. I really don't know how to categorize this... like a mix of ambient and dungeon synth. Very unique. Will probably up my rating by .5 after further re-listens



Dedes
August 6th 2021


7802 Comments


Hi garas
Good review will pretend to check
Ok but fr I'll definitely jam sometime this week
My dungeon synth game is lacking quite severely

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2021


25688 Comments


"old-school dungeon synth music and the sound of Tangerine Dream, Vangelis"

I've never been so sold on smth, will definitely peep. Sweet find and rev garasbro.

Digging: Earth and Fire - Song of the Marching Children

butt.
August 6th 2021


9049 Comments


cool name, cool album art, cool review.
very cool.
checking now

0xME
August 6th 2021


763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a Depressive Silence comparison is a high praise, guess I'll have to czeck

Digging: Alustrium - A Monument to Silence

DDDeftoneDDD
August 6th 2021


18524 Comments


yeah cover art is pretty cool indeed

DungeonBoy
August 6th 2021


8424 Comments


Nice review dude. This is pretty cool, really nice synth sounds and beautiful cover art. Dungeon synth has never been my forte, but appreciate the atmosphere oozing out of this one.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy