Lucid Express
Lucid Express


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (37 Reviews)
July 16th, 2021 | 23 replies


Release Date: 07/16/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Feel the waves crash

There are few things more beautiful than an album’s artwork perfectly matching its sound. Hong Kong band Lucid Express (previously known as Thud) have achieved this synthesis of the senses of eyes and ears on their self-titled debut LP, with the gorgeous watery scene visually depicted being sonically mirrored by the titanic but still smooth psych-tinged shoegaze of the record’s ten songs.

The modern shoegaze scene has acquired a bit of a bad rap, given its preponderance of blandly generic bands coasting off the genre’s beautiful basic tenets. Lucid Express can’t fully shake that critique with this album, which falls very much within the standard confines of what might be expected from a contemporary release of this style: an amalgam of nods to the essential 90s pioneers, formulaic fusion of shoegaze and dream pop strands, and intermixing of psychedelic, alt-rock, and synthpop influences. However, all told the band has executed their vision with precision and clarity, leaving the listener with a staunchly atmospheric vibe, and the highlights here are among the best new tunes in the genre which this reviewer has heard in a while.

The songs presented on Lucid Express are all quality, albeit with a few being slightly less memorable than the others. “North Acton” begins the album by laying foundations of pristine dream pop, with the reverb-drenched second track “Hotel 65” adding in greater muscle. Mid-record highlight “Hollowers” is a subtle psychedelic number with delicate stretches interrupted by periods of thundering guitar. Meanwhile, “Aquarium” builds from an almost-ambient intro to the most melodically lush and carefree moment of the album, the soundtrack to a hazy summer dream. “Ride The Night”, with its anthemic tendencies, closes the record with a fittingly triumphal note.

This five-piece band has been around for a while (Thud was formed in 2012) and has become a relevant fixture in the Hong Kong indie scene, but their footprint remains quite small as far as releases go. Hopefully that changes, as the high quality of their first full-length demonstrates that the band has the potential to be stalwarts of modern shoegaze for years to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Low Roar maybe tomorrow...Runnner Always Repeating
Hollie Kenniff The Quiet DriftRota Fortunae Hinterland
White Ward Debemur MortiLucy Dacus Home Video
user ratings (18)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My real rating is somewhere between a 3.5 and a 4, primary reasons for the lower rating would be its not particularly original and not the most consistent album, but I erred on the side of the higher rating due to, ultimately, this just being an exceptionally listenable and thoroughly enjoyable album. Band definitely has talent and there's some very good songs here.

normaloctagon
July 16th 2021


6115 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is p good so far!



Do you know I Mean Us, sunny? Budgie rec’d them to me a little while ago

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you're enjoying, @normaloctagon!



Nope, I haven't heard of them, but I'll have to check.

GooGooGajoob
July 17th 2021


234 Comments


I love how mediocre and derivative this album artwork is and your first sentence is how perfectly the artwork fits the music. Say no more, I know this ain't for me lol

Slex
July 17th 2021


11857 Comments


Gotta check this

Digging: Isaiah Rashad - The House Is Burning

sixdegrees
July 17th 2021


11846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

name 5 album covers with waves on them

Purpl3Spartan
July 17th 2021


807 Comments


will check this and I mean us

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@normaloctagon, jammed I Mean Us' LP last night and it is was pretty sweet on first listen, will have to give it another spin

NorthernSkylark
July 17th 2021


11508 Comments


Crashing feels huh. Will check now.

Digging: Them Are Us Too - Remain

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers @NorthernSkylark, hope you enjoy.



Also, nice dig. Ruby Haunt is an awesome band, although their later albums are my favorites.

NorthernSkylark
July 17th 2021


11508 Comments


Their latest is my favourite one. Really hope he delivers on the new one! Haven’t heard the dig yet so can’t say much about it.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah ok! Yes, I'm looking forward to the new one as well.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yess this was expectedly lovely (comment can be applied to review and album alike)

and hell yeah skylark, ruby haunt hype!!

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you Jesper! Glad you're liking this, thought you might!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is super far up my alley haha. it's already turning into the soundtrack of the lil holiday i'm on atm :]

Sowing
Moderator
July 17th 2021


38515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is very solid, nice rev



Hotel 65 is something else

Digging: Needtobreathe - Into The Mystery

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Jesper, sounds delightful!



Thanks @Sowing! That is a great song, although I'd probably put Hollowers or Aquarium as my top pick.

oltnabrick
July 18th 2021


40286 Comments


name 5 album covers with waves on them [2]

Digging: Limp Bizkit - Gold Cobra

NorthernSkylark
July 21st 2021


11508 Comments


@ljesper, I agree. The new ruby haunt single is gorgeballs!

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is holding up nicely, really hits the spot for this type of music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy