Year of No Light
Consolamentum


3.9
excellent

Review

by Dewinged STAFF
July 15th, 2021 | 72 replies


Release Date: 07/02/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Purify the flesh, so the angel might be reborn

The Cathars didn't fuck around. For about two centuries, this gnostic branch of Christianity who referred to themselves as the "Good Christians" would perform a ritual on those following their gospel only and when they were on the verge of death. This ritual would allow the purification of their soul and their reunion with the Holy Spirit through their original angelic form. In the eyes of Catholicism, this was plain witchcraft, but for Year Of No Light, the long-standing and ever-growing collective from Bordeaux, Consolamentum represents a long-sought enlightenment, a milestone twenty years into their craft, achieved while reaching out to the impossible depths and heights they've been pushing their music with every release since their inception.

The last iteration from the French is an exercise in austerity, voiceless as you would expect, built with layers of synths and waves of distortion eroding the walls of its vessel, with a rhythm section that sounds like the sky folding violently and hitting the earth as it shatters the will of those who try to power through this rite of passage. Consolamentum, in this sense, is unforgiving. The beauty that surrounds some of the passages of "Objuration", the first chords of "Alètheia" or the introductory section of "Réalgar" are just ephemeral illusions, the preamble of the impending darkness that manifests itself in gargantuan tremors that grow out of control in several parts of the album, like in the feverish second half of the aforementioned "Alètheia", or in the last surge of black metal that closes "Came", the final charge of Consolamentum.

If Year Of No Light's aim with this record was to recreate the sonic representation of an angel spirit being ripped off its carnal prison so it can reunite with the Creator, I would say they have thoroughly succeed in doing so, but once again, and as it happens with a sound of this magnitude, its taxing nature will alienate those few unprepared going in just to test the waters, while on the other hand, it will exalt and strum the inner chords of those familiar with these battlegrounds. And there are many reasons why: The guitar tone on this record is sublime; when they mesh with that abyssal combo of bass and drum, the band hits like a celestial hammer, profoundly lost in a few chords, repeating themselves like a funeral procession going in circles, while slowly building a wall of melody that guides the track to either a frantic rampage or a comforting and sumptuous relief. The album also shines in its many scattered moments of clarity, with post rock guitar leads shimmering in the endless void while synths are used to elevate some of the heavier sections. At this point, it’s clear that the band knows how to create balance, how to build up tension and when to release it, and in this album, they show it in spades.

Consolamentum is one more successful incursion into the deepest corners of post metal for Year Of No Light, but also a promising receipt for a live set that we all surely hope happens sooner than later. For now all we have is this ritual, so may that be enough to embrace the Holy Spirit.




Recent reviews by this author
King Woman Celestial BluesMidwife (USA) Luminol
Hypnotic Brass Ensemble This is a Mindfulness Drill...Sojourner Perennial
Bala MalezaZao The Crimson Corridor
user ratings (61)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


24957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Wanted to have this published at the beginning of the week, but work, health, life, etc.



Honestly, another great album from these guys, but it takes its good time to sink in, took a few listens for me.



https://yearofnolight.bandcamp.com/album/consolamentum-2

Digging: King Woman - Celestial Blues

Azazzel
July 15th 2021


189 Comments


Wow these guys are still active! Amazing, can't wait to hear.
I reviewed Ausserwelt when I was a much younger (and poor) writer but it needed *A* review if that would get it some listens. Yours is much better but it's funny how many of your descriptors and metaphors match the same feelings I had listening and trying to capture writing about Ausserwelt which makes me excited, they're still making their unique brand of massive grandiose post-metal

wildinferno2010
July 15th 2021


1539 Comments


Was a bit iffy on this at first, but it gets better as it goes on. This might be the one post-metal album that sticks with me this year. Great review man

Digging: John Mayer - Room for Squares

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


24957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Thanks Azazzel, inferno, yeah descriptors with this band ought to be very hyperbolic, they really conjure an incredibly massive sound ;)

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


14573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes my son. Having a little read right now!

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2021


8361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oi didn't even know there was a new one! Will read when I jam 💪

Digging: MC Solaar - Qui seme le vent recolte le tempo

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


24957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Cheers, it was a quick write cause I got busy with the Midwife that releases tomorrow and wanna have it out asap, but hope u enjoy the album!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2021


3196 Comments


great review dewi! heard this twice and thought it was okay but nothing special, third spin's the charm ig
also midwife hype

nightbringer
July 15th 2021


2073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is really good, been jamming it a fair bit. It's also NYP on bandcamp.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


24957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Thanks Jesp, it takes a few spins and still is pretty... hostile, in a way, but throw in a bit of patience, a good pair of headphones and it's a total trip.

Sowing
Moderator
July 15th 2021


38518 Comments


Superb review, the intro had me hooked right away lol.

Doesn't sound much like my thing though.

Digging: Needtobreathe - Into The Mystery

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


24957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Thanks Sow, whenever you are in the mood for some purifying of the soul, preferably before you die, this is your album.



Also get, you cut your hair? I mean, your name?!

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet review, this was my first experience with the band but I like it

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2021


24957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

You could say you started climbing the tower from the top, Sunny, my friend ;)



Be sure to check Ausserwelt if you want more, that's their best imo.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds good, may have to do that!

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2021


1246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review. wish I liked this more, it’s wonderfully atmospheric and sounds excellent (as usual for YONL), but the songs just aren’t hitting and kind of blur together. I’m going to give it more time since I like some of their previous work a lot, hopefully it clicks

DDDeftoneDDD
July 15th 2021


17807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Altar of Plagues?

Digging: Wheel (FIN) - Resident Human

Pikazilla
July 15th 2021


17635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

???

DDDeftoneDDD
July 15th 2021


17807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

similar artists:

Humanfly, Pelican, Wolves In the Throne Room, Blindead, Altar of Plagues

DungeonBoy
July 15th 2021


8347 Comments


wow, haven't thought of these guys since jamming Ausserwelt back in the day. Didn't realize they had an album in-between then and now. Good review man, I don't listen to as much post-rock/metal stuff these days, but maybe this will change my tune.

Digging: Musk Ox - Inheritance



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy