Adjy
The Idyll Opus (I-VI)


5.0
classic

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
July 9th, 2021 | 545 replies


Release Date: 06/30/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "I've spent years trying to find my way back in."

"Let's not talk of love or chains, and things we can't untie", the great Leonard Cohen sang once, and folks: if there's a truer line in existence I don't care to hear it.

It's July 2021, and I'm fucking scared, for so many reasons I'm sure I don't need to name or elaborate on. Things are hopeless and not getting better anytime soon. So I do what I've always done when shit gets rough - hide in my room and retreat to an imagined world better than the one I live in. Self-invented or offered by the art I consume, it doesn't matter, as long as it's vivid enough that I don't have to colour between the lines myself. As long as I can easily pretend it's real.

It's June 2021, the very last day, and Adjy have released the most complete document I know of regarding love and chains. It was pure serendipity that this band, whose name I wasn't familiar with a week ago, released The Idyll Opus (I-VI) just as I once again found myself inside, stuck with myself and nothing but time. Lord knows I needed it: we're talking about an album that clocks in over an hour and a half, where the lyrics are laid out in an accompanying document like a play, with different indents for the main characters and an actual Greek chorus. Yup, it's one of those albums, brazenly ambitious and audacious in its absolute certainty that it's worth your time.

The good news? It absolutely is. Adjy's past work caps out with a hard-to-find cassette EP in 2014 and the Prelude EP in 2016 – that's how long ago they started mapping out this thing - and here they are in 2021, releasing a concept album you can try to untangle like House of Leaves. Labyrinthine though it may be, The Idyll Opus is oddly accessible for a piece of work this long and involved. Gorgeous intertwining melodies unwind like clockwork around airtight backing tracks; songs build themselves up, shudder apart and reassemble from what's left, all overlapping vocal lines and superlative polyrhythmic drumming. The overarching effect calls to mind if The Hotelier decided to one-up The Dear Hunter at their concept album game, conscripting a drummer who could keep time with The Mars Volta on their way; the sheer talent on display makes all this insanity not only possible but palatable, with drummer Austin Smith constantly threatening to steal the show from vocalist/lyricist Christopher Noyes. It's so easy to be sucked into Adjy's welcoming vortex that you subconsciously absorb the concept, letting it rest in your brain to unfurl on repeat listens. Put simply: a boy named June meets a girl called July, and an elaborate, multi-generational story of (sometimes literal) Greek tragedy unfolds around their love.

"Can you fence life in? when life like wind/is the movement made, it's not the air moving."

One could argue that The Idyll Opus is simply too much album, too much concept. It wouldn't be going out on a limb, this being an album with a five-minute instrumental overture leading into a nine-part suite, not to mention a monolithic 17-minute closer. Maybe I just desperately need distraction, but when making an album that needs a companion text to be fully decoded, I reckon you might as well go big as hell - especially when every page is as touching, bold and thrilling as what Adjy have inked here. The main thing I love about The Idyll Opus is, hilariously, its restraint; this is a quietly lovelorn album that works in gentle autumnal textures, like an old book you've found in a forgotten attic, pages worn but words still glowing like burning coal. In other words, a significant departure from the proggy, math-indebted emo of the Prelude EP, although the album certainly isn't without moments of contagious energy.

"On a Road Trip That Summer's Day" begins as a simple meditation on our protagonist's life, even allowing for a quick cameo of the Moirai of Greek mythology, but halfway through the pace picks up into one of the most stunning music sequences all year. One doesn't need to follow the lyrics to feel June's heartbeat picking up speed as he first meets July; it's all there in the music, man, as Smith lays down a furious beat and violins dance winningly over an honest-to-god banjo. Like the formidable Aaron Weiss, Noyes is excellent at puncturing the writerly pretensions of his text with lovely moments of simple humanity at exactly the right times. The very next song, "At a Dance Where the Stars Cross", is purely a dialogue between the two, making it clear that this is no male-gaze text with a paper-thin female character, but a true duet between characters:

JULY: "Y’ever think we are the movements in some grander wheel?"
JUNE: "You mean like the pinions in a clock from the second hand view?"
JULY: "Yes, and when our beats cross, we act the cardinal rhymes/that must sound silly, I just, I've never felt this small or this important..."


Immediately after all this existential talk is a foot-tapping dulcimer breakdown as the characters get up to dance, furthering the balance between Adjy's hefty dialogue and its undeniable sense of fun. I could pick out great moments like this for paragraphs and not even scratch the surface: when "O Tonight" arrives like a lightning bolt in the middle of the album, a masterwork in sequencing a catchy banger in an album this complex; when "Maps" arrives at the bone-chilling climax "all moments lead to here, and all futures flow from now!"; the spine-tingling refrain that closes the sublime "In The Space Between Pages...", slowly morphing between "it used to be here" and "you used to be here". All the composite pieces of The Idyll Opus will be easily identifiable for most of you; its blueprints are the bold-font emotionality of Clarity (especially "Just Watch the Fireworks"), the reckless ambition of The Early November's The Mother, The Mechanic and The Path, the clever meta-commentary of The Dear Hunter's use of Greek chorus, the complex musicality of The World is a Beautiful Place... or Foxing. But it's how Adjy build the structure up from those plans, investing every brick with care and attention and absolute sincerity, that makes this something truly special.

"We keep circling around here, don't we? Age after age?"

If the album slightly stumbles, it's with the overlong "Secretus Liber (Beneath The Fireworks That Fell In Mystique Participation)". The song certainly lives up to that name, a lyrical turning point where a sweet love story becomes something infinitely more complex and mythological, but it's the one time Noyes struggles to fit all these huge ideas into a simple melody. What a twist, though: this is no simple boy-meets-girl yarn, but the story of lovers trapped in an Ouroborus, "on an endless loop 'til we get this right". If that sounds a lot like Trophy Scars' superb Never Born, Never Dead EP, the comparison is a compliment. Noyes handles the subject matter with tenderness and grace, expanding its edges to fit in enough ideas for a whole discography: maple seeds and cicada hibernation cycles, books which tell the half-written stories of the characters' own lives, even a Foxing-esque banger that namechecks Wuthering Heights and Ancient Greece – I know, I know - called "The Farmland and the Forest's Edge".

"How could you leave half a tale untold?"

The sublimely gorgeous "Lake Adeyoha", perhaps the best song on the album, begins as a quiet folk song before layering in horns and clattering, stop-and-start drums which stir the tune to life. It almost feels like a microcosm of the album; a slowly flourishing piece of work, moving at its own gentle pace, but unafraid to stomp and shake the ground when the moment comes. The 17 minutes of "Eve Beneath the Maple Tree" feel like a generously compact coda after everything else: the song shifts from tempo to tempo and style to style, never gratuitously, moving with purpose as it tracks the last moments of July's life before gently washing away into piano and cicada noises. Any overly grandiose or cheesy moments along the way - sure, I can admit there are a few - are more than justified at the end. With a stunning, contradictory lyric "though we won't last the evening, we'll have 'til dawn", Noyes closes one chapter of his tale while still suggesting endless possibilities to come.

"This isn't how this story is supposed to go."

As the 1000-plus words above can attest, I'm invested to the core in the world Adjy have created here: trying to decode strange symbols in the lyrics booklet, scouring the lyrics of Prelude for clues, the whole deal. (Don't even get me started on the fact that the lyric site lists numbers VII-XII without songs yet attached – dear god, I am in this for the long fucking haul). I don't know if I'll always love The Idyll Opus as fiercely as I do now, but frankly, that's not what matters at all. Adjy hand-crafted a beautiful world right when I needed it most, and extended an invitation to dive right in. Whatever happens in the future, The Idyll Opus always will have been the most important thing to me for this one, shining, vivid moment in time. What is that if not what we all need music for?



Recent reviews by this author
Lil Ugly Mane Volcanic Bird Enemy...Little Simz Sometimes I Might Be Introvert
Indigo De Souza Any Shape You TakeBig Red Machine How Long Do You Think It's Gonna Last?
Meet Me @ The Altar Model CitizenIsaiah Rashad The House Is Burning
user ratings (138)
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

my lord, the massive 5 hype review and it's not by sowing! I'm encroaching on some serious turf here



seriously, what a fuckin album. I wrote all that and still barely know where to start. but uhh here I guess



https://adjy.bandcamp.com/album/the-idyll-opus-i-vi

lyrics sheet: https://www.theidyllopus.com/text?utm_campaign=f524f4b1-54b1-47fa-80ea-6c91f08fe673



O Tonight is the best tune to sample if you're unsure about diving into this whole goddamn beast straight up. tl;dr ka is a wheel etc

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - VOLCANIC BIRD ENEMY AND THE VOICED CONCERN

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2021


3775 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You beautiful man. Great, great writing. Don't love this, but love your love for this -- and I think others will definitely love this, too.

DadEsquire
July 9th 2021


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh man, this album is so incredible. they're doing a great job of carry the anathallo torch.

Project
July 9th 2021


5198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

rowan this review is spellbinding, and not just because this sounds like God himself made an album specifically for me



" The overarching effect calls to mind if The Hotelier decided to one-up The Dear Hunter at their concept album game, conscripting a drummer who could keep time with The Mars Volta on their way; " — I mean, those clauses alone!



lovely writeup and I can't wait to sink into this

Digging: The World Is a Beautiful Place... - Illusory Walls

Sowing
Moderator
July 9th 2021


39324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"my lord, the massive 5 hype review and it's not by sowing! I'm encroaching on some serious turf here"



The more the merrier, we need more optimism! Phenomenal review; I'm still sinking my teeth into this. I listened once through but I feel like that's not nearly enough to glean all the details of this literal opus lol.

Digging: S. Raekwon - Where I'm at Now

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks fellas. love me a good clause



the I WANNA SHARE IT ALL hook in Space Between may never leave my brain and tbh I'm okay with it

TooManyFriends
July 9th 2021


3405 Comments


some strong theater kid energy on this album but still pretty good

onionbubs
July 9th 2021


13890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its the right amount of theater kid energy tho, enough to push this to its level of grandiosity without straight-up feeling like a musical



granted im only 3 songs in but so far so good. loving both the ambition and accessibility so far. these melodies are stunners, not to mention how gorgeous all the instrumental textures are

Digging: Invent Animate - The Sun Sleeps, As If It Never Was

Sowing
Moderator
July 9th 2021


39324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed re: theatrical vibes, although that's never stopped me from loving TDH



It just has to access the right balance which I feel this one does

Project
July 9th 2021


5198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"theatrical" =/= "theater kid"

onionbubs
July 9th 2021


13890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

christ tracks 9-12 make up a stunning stretch

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2021


26864 Comments


now this is a review

even more stoked to hear this now

Digging: Patterson Hood - Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance

onionbubs
July 9th 2021


13890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

goddamn what a beautiful record and review. you absolutely did this justice

GreyShadow
July 9th 2021


5296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dear hunter, mwy, foxing, trophy scars, yeah brb checking this now

Digging: The World Is a Beautiful Place... - Illusory Walls

GreyShadow
July 9th 2021


5296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fucking hooked after the first 3 tracks.

idk if i have the time to finish this now but i'm on board

treos777
July 9th 2021


480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you for writing this rowan! I was scared I'd have to brush off my frankly awful review skills and do another one here lol. The album is incredible. And like the story is so touching and your point about it avoiding the male gazey romance is so important cos I was scared it would fall into that. But June and July are both symbols and both well fleshed characters. I love the moment when they first dance together. Felt so cinematic. And made clear why I like this more than the dear hunter Noyes is just a better lyricist.



GreyShadow
July 9th 2021


5296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

glad i finished it. lovely album. definitely a lot to digest with this one. at a Dance Where The Stars Crossed is my early highlight

onionbubs
July 9th 2021


13890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea def needa spend more time w this since there's a ridiculous amount on display but right out of the gate im already very sold

Slex
July 9th 2021


12268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't been able to listen to it all yet lol

But it's crazy good so far

Digging: Magdalena Bay - Mercurial World

secondsun
July 9th 2021


26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm not usually one for this type of overly theatrical conceptual stuff but i actually really like this a lot. definitely seeing the mewithoutyou/"goodness" era Hotelier comparisons



also stoked to see this kind of thing come out on an actual label instead of being relegated to a dusty corner of bandcamp, thats pretty cool

Digging: If I Die First - They Drew Blood



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy