Lucy Dacus
Home Video


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
June 30th, 2021 | 163 replies


Release Date: 06/25/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A vivid memory reel

Of the three Boygenius members, Lucy Dacus seems destined to end up on top. I recently witnessed her stunning live rendition of “Brando” on Jimmy Kimmel, and that fact became as clear as day. As the contagious thirst for music came pouring out of her – energizing the crowd – it was clear I’d underestimated the Virginia native. With lyrics more grounded than her peers, she crafts tunes anchored down with longevity and less attached to a specific emotion. Rather than getting lost in depression or angst, she’s a natural storyteller who finds the poetry in just about anything – including the poor excuse of poetry by the guy at Church Camp in a Slayer T-shirt. That’s poetic, right?

Proving herself to be a master of reflection, Home Video plays out like a vivid memory reel with delicate production touches. Infusing gentle indie rock with folk flourishes and the occasional fuzz, her songwriting knows no bounds, but all sounds unmistakably connected. The most powerful snapshots – young love, breaking curfew – are the ones we can all relate to. With her rare, bellowing voice, Dacus measures lofty expectations against reality, providing colorful flashbacks that remind us of our most naïve, carefree days. More focused than the ambitious Historian, Dacus unleashes these vital recollections through deceptively quiet rock songs. The immense opener “Hot & Heavy” is the best thing she’s ever written without question - a swelling build and irresistible vocal hooks giving it a magnetic quality. It’s also a lyrical mountain; I’ve listened to this beast repeatedly and still feel I’m scratching at its bright surface.

Home Video has the odd sense of feeling like a crowd-pleaser while at the same time being an incredibly personal and authentic album that Lucy Dacus made for nobody but herself. It’s all in the details. “Christine” flaunts a breathtaking level of introspection without even nearing the 3-minute mark. Over the soft whisper of a piano, Dacus’ soul-melting voice sets the scene: You’re falling asleep on my shoulder in the back of your boyfriend’s car/We’re coming home from a sermon saying how bent or evil we are.” It soon becomes clear her feelings for her friend run a bit deeper: I try to imagine what you’re dreaming/You’re muttering nonsense between the steady breathing. This wasn’t just another car ride for Dacus, but rather one where she felt an unmistakable, vulnerable connection with another woman. I think we’re all more affected by the blooming love of our youth than we’d like to admit; our initial relationships leave lasting scars that diminish but never completely fade. Home Video is a vibrant, unsparing celebration of life's many chapters and what it means to be human: flaws, doubts and all.



Recent reviews by this author
Musk Ox Inheritance The Raging Nathans Waste My Heart
Necrot MortalFaceless Burial Speciation
Paysage d'Hiver Im WaldSpanish Love Songs Brave Faces Everyone
user ratings (116)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (4)
The future is a benevolent black hole...

related reviews

Historian


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


26786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sunnyvale beat me to it but yes this is a very good album. Worth the time even if she didn’t completely win you over before



Hot & Heavy is my potential SOTY

Digging: Sincere Engineer - Bless My Psyche

ghostalgeist
June 30th 2021


409 Comments


christine is actually gorgeous

this isn't really my kinda music otherwise but i will say the music video for VBS is otherworldly good

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


45715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

great review, Atari, I didn't really like the singles but I will probably check this anyway



noticed a few errors here eg "deceptively quit rock songs", "crow-pleaser" (actually this would be a pretty m/ song title) and "felt un unmistakable, vulnerable connection"

Digging: Little Simz - Sometimes I Might Be Introvert

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2021


11103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So yeah, I think I'm gonna give up on reviewing this one. Already got two great ones that basically say what I wanted to say, lol



But in any case, album rules for sure

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2021


11103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also:



"Of the three Boygenius members, Lucy Dacus seems destined to end up on top."



With all due respect to the other members of Boygenius, I 100% agree

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2021


21498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like this a lot better than I expected. "Thumbs" and the last four are unbelievable

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2021


2748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well-said, Atari!



I was going to mention the "Crow Pleaser" in the last paragraph, but I see Rowan already noted it. Seems like a great band name though

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


15111 Comments


You know you're big on Sput when you get 2 reviews...at least in 2021 anyway.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


3737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to read these two reviews tonight. Goddamn, though, obsessed with Partner in Crime.

Dylan620
June 30th 2021


5545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Both this and Sunnyvale's reviews are fabulous, mind pos' all around



"Please Stay" is SOTY so far for me...



You tell me you love me like it'll be the last time

Like you're playing out the end of a storyline

I say, "I love you too" because it's true

What else am I supposed to do?

Maybe bar the door when you move to leave



I think you mean what you say

When you say you wanna die

I think you mean what you say

When you say you want to stay alive




FUCK

Digging: The Killers - Pressure Machine

Sowing
Moderator
June 30th 2021


39057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright alright I'll listen to this again

Digging: The Felice Brothers - From Dreams to Dust

botb
June 30th 2021


14752 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My wife loves the boy genius trio but this was NyQuil to me

SteakByrnes
June 30th 2021


24709 Comments


Ratboy Genius

Feather
June 30th 2021


7250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have always really loved Phoebe, enjoyed Julien and been bored with Lucy. In fact, I dont even really like boygenius. I will give this a shot though considering you were firing shots at Phoebe and Julien in that intro paragraph.

therollingstoned
June 30th 2021


21 Comments


You do know Lucy can be judged on her own merits without bringing Phoebe and julien into every discussion, right

Feather
June 30th 2021


7250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@rolling Sure she can, but its a bit harder to do when she is the least commercially successful member of a trio of musicians making relatively similar music, for a similar fan-base that she released an album and went on tour with.



ANYWAY, I am 4 songs deep and this is significantly better than anything else I have heard from her. The opening single is stellar. Thanks for putting this on my radar.

botb
June 30th 2021


14752 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I definitely liked the last record more

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


26786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Rowan, really appreciate you catching those hiccups! not sure how I missed some of that when I proofread last night but I'll just blame this historic heat wave ;)



cheers everyone else too!!





BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


3737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Phoebe and Julien coming in on Please Stay is gorgeous.

Not a huge Boygenius fan, but all their solo music from the past year featuring Boygenius: 🤌

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


3737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review Atari. One tiny thing: 'our initial relationships leave lasting scars that dimmer but never completely fade' -- should be dim or get dimmer I think?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy