The Raging Nathans
Waste My Heart


4.5
superb

Review

by Atari STAFF
June 15th, 2021 | 29 replies


Release Date: 06/04/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Every single day is goddamn strange

It’s safe to say I haven’t had this much fun listening to a new punk album since PUP dropped Morbid Stuff. The Raging Nathan’s breakthrough effort is nothing short of a melodic punk powerhouse. The upbeat tracks waste no time, shifting giddily between each slick riff and vocal hook with the consistency and swiftness of falling dominos. This concise approach feels oddly refreshing after spending too much time listening to sadboi sh*t like Spanish Love Song or The Hotelier. Life gets heavy, and Waste My Heart mirrors a simpler time when many of us – who process our emotions largely through music – need it the most.

The Raging Nathan’s decision to go all-out on their playful nature and imagery was a wise one. With heavy metal influence sprinkled throughout and rowdy gang vocals, they deliver on the energy promised by such a whacky band name. From the moment a Titus Andronicus-lite guitar riff opens the frantic title track, you can just tell these guys had a good time making this album. The galloping guitars carry the song with ease, but it hits the sweet spot during the last minute with the explosive tag-team exchange between clean and harsh vocals. For those opting for something with a rawer vibe, “Shadow of Youth” provides an extra shot of adrenaline as it plunges headfirst into hardcore territory. And of course, there’s the Blink 182 worship on “I Could Never Fall in Love with You” thrown in for the Rowans of the world.

There’s no clear winner on the insanely consistent Waste My Heart, but man are there memorable moments – the most notable brought to life with dusty Oujia boards and unconventional tales of friendship. “Cemetery Drive” is a proper centerpiece, maybe perfectly emblematic of the album’s charm and potent energy. It’s a tune that finds the lead singer belting satirical lines between the buried dead: an unofficial prophet of the graveyard. Sure to force a smile, these amusing little anecdotes are what makes this album so special. Each track has at least one lyrical gem or that extra jolt of guitars to keep you on your toes. The Raging Nathan’s focused formula of pop-punk and hardcore mixed with the occasional heavy metal riff is a blast to witness. Waste Your Heart is a punk album worth talking about; it’s all so clever and exaggerated. Can you say binge-worthy?



Recent reviews by this author
Necrot MortalFaceless Burial Speciation
Paysage d'Hiver Im WaldSpanish Love Songs Brave Faces Everyone
Lagwagon RailerOff With Their Heads Be Good
user ratings (28)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

first review since last August so if the rust shows...



but fwiw I enjoyed this enough to write something since nobody else did :]

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 15th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds right up my alley. Love the name-dropping of staff in the review as well, I chuckled at that. If this review is rusty, then we truly don't deserve you. Great work.

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

AaroN911
June 15th 2021


3052 Comments


I don't remember if you asked me to give this a shot, but I still plan too! Rather it was you or not thanks for the reminder!

Digging: Origami Angel - Gami Gang

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@Sowing, you’re way too kind!! I’m honestly just happy to contribute something that’s more than a half-assed comment lol. I really do appreciate the encouragement though! And I’ll be curious to hear what you think of this one ;)



@Aaron, yeah I inadvertently recommended them to you in that Direct Hit! Thread, haha. Hope you enjoy!

Pikazilla
June 15th 2021


17085 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

waste my fart

Slex
June 15th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Awesome to see this reviewed

Digging: The Raging Nathans - Waste My Heart

WatchItExplode
June 15th 2021


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Absolutely nothing original... Absolutely nothing that isn't great

Digging: Islands - Islomania

SlothcoreSam
June 15th 2021


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Great review, and fantastic album.

Their last album was great, but this one is next level.

On top of my to-see-live list.

Digging: Lost In Society - Stay Jaded

Lucman
June 15th 2021


5245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album and fantastic review. Not quite as impacting as Gami Gang for me, but it's pretty damn close.

Digging: Natalie Bergman - Mercy

Guzzo10
June 16th 2021


1289 Comments


I get a lot of early Menzingers vibes from Waste My Heart.

SlothcoreSam
June 16th 2021


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah a bit of early Menzingers and some early Lawrence Arms

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2021


45260 Comments


"And of course, there’s the Blink 182 worship on “I Could Never Fall in Love with You” thrown in for the Rowans of the world."

you come to my house. ON THE DAY OF MY DAUGHTER'S WEDDING

seriously good review been meaning to check this

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Lmao, figured there was about a 50/50 chance you’d even see that!



Cheers for the kind words everyone. Wouldn’t know about this if it wasn’t for our favorite Sloth

Minushuman24
June 16th 2021


4763 Comments


This was such a drastic improvement of their first album

WatchItExplode
June 16th 2021


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Three cheers for our slow moving boi

SlothcoreSam
June 16th 2021


3175 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

You talking about their 2014 album "Losing It" Minus?

Their album last year wasn't too bad.

I need to add the others to the database. They have a heap of EPs

Minushuman24
June 16th 2021


4763 Comments


Ah, the first one I wasn't much a fan of! it was like a 3. Not completely sure why

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2021


14307 Comments


I love Atari reviews.

Digging: Diskord - Degenerations

GhandhiLion
June 16th 2021


12586 Comments


good rating graph. someone 2.5

Digging: William Parker - Migration of Silence Into and Out of the Tone World (Volumes 1?10)

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Haha, yeah no middle ground yet... apparently this is either great or shite depending on who you ask.



Cheers Nocte!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy