Poppy
EAT (NXT Soundtrack)


4.5
superb

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
June 10th, 2021 | 72 replies


Release Date: 06/09/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Look, no safety net!

Poppy’s career is starting to reveal a rather interesting trajectory: it seems like every odd year, in between massive(ly enjoyable) gimmicks of full length albums, she releases her best music in hyper-focused, five-track EPs. EAT solidifies this pattern, simultaneously feeling like a natural progression of 2020’s I Disagree and like a spiritual successor to 2019’s Choke. Whereas the former was a campy pop-metal full length, the latter presented a brief, excellent conclusion to Poppy’s dim-brooding-Eilish-type-beat brand of pop music. Now, five new tracks have arrived to solidify her ability to craft records without relying on tacky tactics, and provide a finalised version of hevvy metal Poppy as well as a new point of departure and potentialities.

EAT’s most impressive accomplishment may just be that it affords itself no safety net of memery to fall back on. Whereas previous projects would appear to music for meme’s sake, these five tracks only occasionally meme for music’s sake, with the rest of the time being dedicated to music-ing for music’s sake. There’s still plenty of, eh, oddities to be found in Poppy’s lyricism: ‘Breeders’ excellent chorus employs the notion of ‘mouth breathers’ to capitalise on consumerism and hypocrisy, rhymes it with ‘feeders’... and fully gets away with it. Hell, it is easily one of her strongest choruses to date. Similarly, ‘CUE’ is one of the most straightforward depictions of the world in its current state, simply listing all that is wrong before erupting into cries of “We’ll march to the end of the world / We’ll march to the end of everything”. Remarkably, it more than suffices and accomplishes what it sets out to do. A few projects ago, such lyrics would have been delivered with a snarky sense of playfulness (‘Time Is Up’, ‘Concrete’), Poppy appears self aware enough to know that there is no need for that now: reality has become enough of a joke.

This self awareness is aided both by Poppy’s voice and the way it has been utilised throughout her career. In the music, her voice has never been the gimmick; the words and guitars, bleeps and bloops completed the memez while Poppy focused on making everything pleasantly listenable, occasionally aiding comical jabs by aiming for different octaves. On EAT she sings like before and screams like never before. While her ear-piercing yells could easily have been overused to the extent of being nothing but a minor novelty, every aspect of the EP’s vocal department is balanced perfectly and only used to optimise the music’s impact. ‘EAT’ complements a driving chorus with tortured screams and spoken sections, effectively evoking its imagery of the destructive nature of eating disorders and subsequent declining mental health. ‘Say Cheese’ pulls similar punches, with its blistering first minute contrasting an angelic chorus in a way that can only be described as a more elegant version of I Disagree’s main trick. Instead of opting for the ‘hey, look, it’s pretty wild when we do really soft after really heavy lol’-route, the shifts feel more natural here; everything is geared towards benefitting the music’s overall impact.

In essence, EAT is five intense songs of Poppy’s very best material with a fraction of the memes and ten times the effective songwriting. From the firing of a more-than-questionable creative partner to this EP being the WWE NXT soundtrack, the artist’s future is looking bright. Where she'll go from here is anyone's guess, but if these songs are any indication, it should be a reasonably good time. Even if the future is bound to include more unnecessary projects such as last year’s “noise” record, Poppy forging her own path, oddly enough, seems like one of the most intriguing things in heavy music as of right now. She screm for real now, yay!



Recent reviews by this author
Rise Against Nowhere GenerationCursetheknife Thank You For Being Here
Waterparks Greatest HitsTrade Wind The Day We Got What We Deserved
Submotile Sonic Day CodasLeon Vynehall Rare, Forever
user ratings (75)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2021


3086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wasn't rly planning on reviewing this bc uni/work's v much burning me out but it just kinda happened yeah fun nice summer jam eh yay

Digging: The Buildings - Heaven is a Long Exhale

Teal
June 10th 2021


165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Totally agree with this: "Poppy forging her own path, oddly enough, seems like one of the most intriguing things in heavy music as of right now." I highly doubt anyone imagined Poppy of three to five years ago transforming into this. I hope she continues in this direction although I'm not sure how much further she can push the limits into heavy music without sacrificing any last shred of accessibility.

Digging: Enterprise Earth - Luciferous

Feather
June 10th 2021


6956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have been waiting for this to drop since hearing her perform Eat live for the Grammy's. Great as expected. It has been a wild ride being a poppy fan beginning with her youtube videos ~2014. What a strange strange evolution it has been.



Sincerely enjoyed every track on this, but Eat is my standout so far.

Feather
June 10th 2021


6956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Anyone remember being really bummed about the low quality of poppy.computer after what a banger of a song Lowlife was on the bubblebath ep?

alamo
June 10th 2021


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy shit this is sooooooooooooooooooooooo good

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2021


3086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah guys!

and yep feather poppy computer was a bit of a letdown when that came out, thankfully she somehow ended up here tho haha

Tundra
June 10th 2021


6076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

banger of an EP

Minushuman24
June 10th 2021


4762 Comments


I should listen to this, as it is a pro-wrestling thing

alamo
June 10th 2021


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes i think this finally settles the debate between pro-wrestling and anti-wrestling

Minushuman24
June 10th 2021


4762 Comments


Wiser words never spoken before

Feather
June 11th 2021


6956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“ and yep feather poppy computer was a bit of a letdown when that came out, thankfully she somehow ended up here tho haha”



Indeed... how we got here is pretty perplexing

JakeStallion
June 11th 2021


598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

very good review. been a mega fan of Poppy since ‘Am I A Girl?’ and genuinely think shes gotten better with each release. After jamming this well over a dozen times within the last couple days, I can say with confidence that it’s her best release yet. The most confident and well realized her music has sounded, at least as far as the metal stuff is concerned

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2021


3086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers jake! would be v hype is she could stretch this quality/intensity out over a full length 30 minute experience, wouldn't be mad if that's what she'll do next lol

KrillBoi
June 11th 2021


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Way more focused sound and it suits her very well.

Digging: Dodsrit - Mortal Coil

Lucman
June 11th 2021


5243 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dang, this is heavy. Good on ya, Pops!

Digging: Television - Marquee Moon

eames91
June 11th 2021


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This site rarely disappoints. Solid release

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 11th 2021


38099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excited to check this one out. I loved I Disagree and Choke, so the prospect of something combining those aesthetics sounds wonderful. She's also dropped some absolute clunkers though (that EP last year, ugh), so I'm not fully letting my guard down. I didn't even know this was coming out, so I'm glad you reviewed it.

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

LunaticSoul
June 11th 2021


1717 Comments


I miss pretty much all the pop/noise bits on this, seems like some tracks are subpar female-led metal. . . will re-listen, but eh.

A Triple H vouched release though lol

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2021


3086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hope you enjoy sowing! she's pretty hit or miss, but her misses are pretty exclusively the more low effort shitposty stuff (like last year's noise n xmas eps)

romulanrancor
June 11th 2021


7536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

poppy really do be screaming tho, v nice

Digging: Buckethead - Monument Valley



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy