Irepress
Sol Eye Sea I


4.5
superb

Review

by Josh D. USER (13 Reviews)
June 8th, 2021 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pack a lunch.

Instrumental music seems to, more often than not, subscribe to a duality. Sometimes songs play out in longform journeys of defined movements or sections, inviting the overindulgent adjective of “storytelling”. On the other hand are shorter forms that serve as either a raucous appendix to the aforementioned or a tranquil bridge from one quest to the next. A successful execution of this duality hinges on the tastefulness of both sides. Irepress splashed a palette of colors on this canvas in the form of Sol Eye Sea I.

In nine songs spread just shy of an hour, the quintet heaps their version of post-whatever into an amalgam that shoos away comparison. Immediately “Diaspora” defines the album, within its first minute weaving together their styles of heavy and dreamy. At times chugging and sputtering with fits and starts, at other times kicking off the dirt pedals to reveal sparkly guitars wetted with time-based and modulation effects. It also contains an asterisk: the album isn’t purely instrumental, with an occasional gang vocal or otherwise shouted part spiked somewhere within a song.

Sol Eye Sea I is also peppered with more progressive elements like walls of sound with horn flutters, the idiosyncrasy of a full track of breakneck Aphex Twin-like breakbeat, and a piano sonatina midway through. And unlike a fault of some instrumental projects there aren’t overly virtuosic performances, rather every contribution is unto its own noteworthy without distracting from others. Although if you had to choose one to wear that crown, Sheel Davé affixes a few extra jewels to the diadem and dons it elegantly on his drum throne.

While not releasing music prolifically Irepress use their time wisely, creating immersive music when they do. Oscillating across sludge, post-rock, electronica, and sprinkles of various other ideas Sol Eye Sea I encapsulates the best adventuresome qualities of instrumental music, inhaling the fumes of many genres to shirk the complacency of invariance that can so easily plague others of the classification.



Recent reviews by this author
Mouse On The Keys TresPlanning for Burial Below the House
Susumu Yokota SymbolMuscle and Marrow Love
Mohican Honest RedPhineas Newborn, Jr. A World of Piano!
user ratings (240)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Josh D.
June 8th 2021


16527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I went to this album page to post "I spun this on vinyl for the first time in forever, so good" but didn't know Sputnik didn't have a review. As I've done with the last few reviews I've put up, I have rectified the situation with a shorty.

Relinquished
June 8th 2021


46343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love you for this





forreal the first couple years since I joined I repped this hard.

too bad they never continued. I bought both their records on vinyl recently too.

MotokoKusanagi
June 8th 2021


3847 Comments


damn finally got a review after all these years

now i just need to rejam this

Josh D.
June 8th 2021


16527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There is so little info on them online, I know they released some songs at least, just don't know about full albums. Their song "Shaolin Knights" they did with some vocalist is fun.

BigTuna
June 8th 2021


5542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yo such a great album

Digging: Japanese Breakfast - Jubilee

FadedSun
June 8th 2021


2596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh damn - nice to see a review for this. I heard they're making a new album. Their first album, Samus Octology is an instrumental post metal classic IMO.

Josh D.
June 8th 2021


16527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I always liked this more, tbh I can't remember what SO sounds like.

Relinquished
June 8th 2021


46343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wish there was more fun guitar interplay like on here

DungeonBoy
June 8th 2021


8258 Comments


pos man, never even heard of this but it's blowing my mind how much they've packed into the so far 20 minutes I've listened to. I love the random spurts of vox too, like never really heard something like this. It's cohesive insanity, definitely digging it.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 8th 2021


66928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't jammed this in like 12 years

FadedSun
June 8th 2021


2596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I always liked this more, tbh I can't remember what SO sounds like."



Review that one too, then :P They're both amazing albums.

Ecnalzen
June 8th 2021


10895 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh shit, was not aware this didn't have a review



Good on you for writing one!

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heeeeyyyyy love your work, big pos. Band gud

Josh D.
June 8th 2021


16527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Happy to see people caring about this album. I didn't think it was completely unknown, but without a review I never see it discussed here.

twlichty
June 8th 2021


4846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album rules, it's got a palatable vibe

FadedSun
June 9th 2021


2596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Happy to see people caring about this album. I didn't think it was completely unknown, but without a review I never see it discussed here."



tbf, Irepress aren't an active band or anything. I think they have their cult following, and that's about it. They seem to get together when they can for an album. Not entirely sure what the band members do in the mean time. Must all work day jobs. They only have two albums to their name, but seem to have remained a band the entire time - never announcing any sort of hiatus.



I remember seeing them live in MA at a small club. This was some years after Sol Eye Sea came out. I was expecting to know at least ONE song, but they didn't play a single cut from either Samus Octology, or Sol Eye Sea. I honestly have no idea what those songs were in that set, but it was incredible. They don't seem to be on any album, or single they have released on their Band Camp.

Relinquished
June 9th 2021


46343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

interesting





but yea it’d be cool for a sign of life but I think that ship sailed

deathofasalesman
June 9th 2021


7398 Comments


OH a josh d review, yes pls

excellent write-up. makes me want to listen to this album i never listened to

Scoot
June 9th 2021


20582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is a banger



opener has one of the heaviest intros ever

Digging: Yautja - The Lurch

chemicalmarriage
June 10th 2021


3519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Psychedelic purple ping pong god sets the tone real nice like



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy