The Flight of Sleipnir
Eventide


4.0
excellent

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
June 2nd, 2021 | 14 replies


Release Date: 05/28/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All things dark and beautiful.

The Flight of Sleipnir boast one of the most consistent and overlooked discographies in the metal scene. Formed in 2008, they’ve released six full-length LPs – each one garnering a fair amount of fan praise – and although there have been lineup changes with minor stylistic tweaks along the way, they’ve mostly kept their fusion of doom, prog, folk, and black metal intact. Their seventh LP, Eventide, is a further refinement of that atmosphere: a midnight stroll through a starlit forest that manages to encompass all things dark and beautiful.

Eventide is grim more often than it is gorgeous however, with plenty of Agalloch-esque black metal shrieks accompanied by doom chords and the occasional acoustic guitar. The Flight of Sleipnir do an excellent job of pacing the record, swaying between slower meandering moments like ‘Voland’ and urgent, uptempo pieces such as ‘January’ or ‘Servitude’. Throughout this journey, even during its quieter moments, they maintain a crushing edge – always ready to launch into bleak, atmospheric screams or to send another tidal wave of doom chords crashing over us. Eventide plays a tension-and-release game, using its softer moments to set us up for another big blow.

Despite Eventide’s generally menacing atmosphere, it’s the flourishing folk sections that distinguish the album from works by similar artists. The way that ‘January’ stops on a dime and fades into ambient acoustic strums to a serenade of songbirds isn’t something totally novel, but it’s a jarring enough dynamic shift to prevent Eventide from blurring together. ‘Bathe the Stone in Blood’ has what you might describe as a borderline country opening sequence, which is one of the most interesting junctures on the album simply for how far it deviates from Eventide’s core sound. ‘Harvest’ concocts a depressing acoustic atmosphere reminiscent of Opeth’s Damnation or, more recently, Katatonia’s City Burials. Collectively, these moments give Eventide its rich, Earthly-bound tones and the sort of thoughtful depth that makes the album feel more like a moonlit night as opposed to stark, uniform blackness.

The Flight of Sleipnir have crafted an extremely well-rounded metal album with Eventide. They incorporate a wide variety of genres, both internal to metal’s umbrella (doom/black metal/prog) as well as from other genres entirely. The progressions are intricate, but not so complex that the songs lose their accessibility. The band also balances heaviness and pure melody with a deft hand, allowing chaos and beauty to coexist harmoniously. The Flight of Sleipnir set out to explore concepts like dreams and nighttime this time around, and they succeed in just about every conceivable way. Whether it’s an alluring, tranquil dream or an utter nightmare depends on which section of the album you’re listening to – but you can sure bet that you’ll experience both on Eventide.



s
Recent reviews by this author
Maroon 5 JordiAFI Bodies
Floating Points CrushRise Against Nowhere Generation
Wolf Alice Blue WeekendWythersake Antiquity
user ratings (26)
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Skadi


Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
June 2nd 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Go easy on me, I'm new here.

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sowing goes metal, part II...



Great review, band slays for days

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 2nd 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm much happier with my Wythersake review than this one, tbh. I feel like this album doesn't do a whole lot of new stuff, but everything that it does do is executed to perfection. It's sort of hard to go on for days about an album that is excellent for what it is, but not particularly noteworthy in a creative/experimental/boundary-pushing way. So I just aimed for brevity and hopefully did okay. I'll await critique from Nocte/Notrap but yeah this is just an all-around solid record with nothing to wax poetic about for paragraphs on-end.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, for more in-depth feedback, I think you did spell out what makes this album great quite well. You captured a lot of the fusions and elements which make this album (and band) interesting, and the Opeth reference about "Harvest" is something I would've mentioned as well. This really doesn't read (at least to me) as the work of someone unfamiliar with metal conventions, etc.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2021


3095 Comments


more like sawingseason amirite
or m/owingseason
no, nice review, i don't know a lot about this type of music either lol

Digging: The Buildings - Heaven is a Long Exhale

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 2nd 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Sunnyvale! That was what I was aiming for. Cool to see you already listened to this. Like I said it's excellent/very solid, and very listenable, I do wish it branched out into the country influences a little more, that'd be insane haha.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2021


24533 Comments


jesus man, you're unleashed. I'm glad you're covering for my absolute slack lol

been meaning to check this, their past albums were alright but they missed smth, maybe they got it right on this one.

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

Hawks
June 3rd 2021


74778 Comments


Have never heard of this band but looks sweet. Will czech ahrd. m/

Digging: ...and Oceans - Cosmic World Mother

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2021


14307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Guess I better find a couple indie/folk/country/pop albums to review to bring balance to the force : ]



Commenting here to remind myself to check this out.

Digging: Diskord - Degenerations

teamster
June 3rd 2021


5604 Comments


Will check. I’ve been slacking lately.

Voltimand
June 3rd 2021


1261 Comments


Came for the album art, stayed for the "Agalloch-esque"

combustion07
June 4th 2021


8562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just jammed this last night and thoroughly enjoyed. Great review. Band is new to me but I'm most definitely gonna dig into their discog

osmark86
June 5th 2021


10755 Comments


I like what I'm hearing so far. Nice review m/owing!

Metaxu
June 6th 2021


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't tell if I'm feelin this or not yet. I love everything but the vox, I have a hard time getting into black metal shrieks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy