Impaled Nazarene
Eight Headed Serpent


3.5
great

Review

by Grumpy CONTRIBUTOR (36 Reviews)
June 1st, 2021 | 24 replies


Release Date: 05/28/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fast and more furious than ever.

Black metal veterans Impaled Nazarene have to date released thirteen studio albums. The Finnish maniacs' fame is probably rooted in their punkish and flippant attitude, since they never took themselves seriously anyway. However, it is important to mention that they have sampled and adopted several styles into their sound, and from this aspect, Eight Headed Serpent is among their best works... at least in terms of variety.

Interestingly enough, they took a step away from the blackened-thrash style they presented in Vigorous And Liberating Death seven years ago, and they returned to a very grind-influenced path: a sound more familiar to the likes of Road to the Octagon and Manifest. It was quite a twist for me, since personally I thought they should’ve anchored to making more melodic albums, since that approach worked better in their first albums and in Absence of War Does Not Mean Peace, but their thirteenth assault proved this opinion wrong. How? Well, the album runs at an incredibly high speed and most of the songs barely last longer than two minutes, but they managed to condense their best spices into the mix. As mentioned above, this creation is more of a blackened-grind mixture than it is “pure black metal”, but you can hear some sweet Motörhead worship (like in “The Nonconformists”), second wave assault (“Metastasizing and Changing Threat”), and bits of death metal (“Unholy Necromancy”) during the album. These extra elements helped a lot to ease the flow of the otherwise very punchy album, thus making it far more exciting than some of the predecessors. Despite these extra elements, I can’t say it is easy to digest this monster, since the album’s pace is still very overwhelming. The only time they changed the pace and took it slow is in the album's closing moments, particularly “Foucault Pendulum”, which fell into the complete opposite direction: they went very doomy there, which is one of the highlights of the album.

After seven years of silence, Impaled Nazarene has released yet another beast into this world. The Eight Headed Serpent is no less crazy than any entry in their back catalogue, and if you’re looking for something extreme, you are in the right place.



Recent reviews by this author
Red Fang ArrowsCandlemass Green Valley
Keygen Church ░█░█░░█░█░█░Kekht Arakh Pale Swordsman
Taake / Helheim HenholdsvisA Compendium of Curiosities Heaven Feels Like Floating Around in a Golden City
user ratings (19)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2021


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Osmose's Bandcamp: https://osmoseproductions.bandcamp.com/album/eight-headed-serpent

Digging: Nordgeist - Frostwinter

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2021


16216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I'm glad the album got a review, it rules. I dig the way they blend grind with their Venom influences.

Digging: Helloween - Helloween

bloc
June 1st 2021


65755 Comments


Cool band name

Digging: Rochelle Jordan - Play With The Changes

Azog
June 1st 2021


505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Finally, an Impaled Nazarene album that is actually listenable. It has been a while.

Digging: Portal - Avow

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2021


24533 Comments


I was surprised how ferocious and extreme these guys sound after all these years. Great rev garas.

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2021


14307 Comments


Three contrib reviews sitting in a row. Not bad at all.

Digging: Diskord - Degenerations

Supercoolguy64
June 2nd 2021


10598 Comments


I guess last fm banned this band or something because one time some guy left some shit in my shout box to the effect of “the sjws BANNED impaled Nazarene sign THIS petition to get them back”

Digging: Janitor Joe - Big Metal Birds

combustion07
June 2nd 2021


8562 Comments


Always enjoyed some of this bands releases. Will jam m/

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2021


8042 Comments


very m/ of you garas

Bedex
June 2nd 2021


2717 Comments


knew who reviewed it before i clicked m/

Hawks
June 2nd 2021


74778 Comments


Gotta hear. Love this band so much.

Digging: ...and Oceans - Cosmic World Mother

Donchivo
June 3rd 2021


1185 Comments


Crazy... the lat thing I listened to from them is Rapture... fucking 23 years ago... wtf, where has my life gone?

The way you describe it, sounds like it could appeal to me. My favorite album of theirs is raw grinding Latex Cult, so should check his out I guess!

Digging: Yon - order of violence

garas
Contributing Reviewer
June 3rd 2021


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm grateful for the feautre, and for your kind comments!



> I guess last fm banned this band or something

Yeah, I noticed something is weird there. I have no idea why did it happen though. These folks are harmless, who just likes making crazy extreme metal.



@Hawks & @Donchivo: Get on it, lads! Good time guaranteed! ;]

Muzz79
June 3rd 2021


676 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Donchivo you’re my vintage by the sounds. When I was reading metal mags in the early 90’s as a young kid the 2 most infamous bands were Sadistik Exekution and Impaled Nazarene. Didn’t get into either but Tol Cormpt Norz Norz Norz was always talked about. This latest is p good

Digging: Esoctrilihum - Dy'th Requiem for the Serpent Telepath

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
June 3rd 2021


10063 Comments


"Three contrib reviews sitting in a row. Not bad at all."

That's how we do it :]

Great review btw. Haven't listened to Impaled Nazarene in a long time, but I'll check this out soon

Azog
June 3rd 2021


505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"My favorite album of theirs is raw grinding Latex Cult"



Same here. People keep on raving about those first two or three albums, but I like that one the most.

Hawks
June 3rd 2021


74778 Comments


Pro Patria Finlandia is my fav.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
June 3rd 2021


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Perkele.

Pikazilla
June 3rd 2021


17080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this band and 1349 are some of the most cookie cutter bm acts around

Hawks
June 3rd 2021


74778 Comments


1349 slayz.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy