Lord Huron
Long Lost


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nolan D. USER (6 Reviews)
May 24th, 2021 | 20 replies


Release Date: 05/21/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For those who guess they just weren’t made for these times.

My first exposure to Lord Huron was from a freshman level philosophy course at my university. My professor was a younger guy and quite the character; he wore tweed blazers with patches on the elbows, and meticulously cuffed jeans. He was clearly an introvert (and not really built for teaching), because as soon as he stepped in front of the class he would freeze, with a look of pure terror in his eyes.

But above all, his defining characteristic was that he was a diehard Lord Huron fan. He always made sure to show up to lecture ten minutes early, so that he could have LH playing from the speakers as the students walked in. His passion was endearing; he was never forceful about his fandom, exposing us subliminally before class, and only talking about it casually if we asked. It was more that the students developed an interest in LH organically from seeing our professors excitement, rather than us being forced to listen.

I paint this picture of my awkward, yet wholesome philosophy professor because it is essential to understanding Long Lost. LH knows exactly who their audience is, and plays off those tropes with slight satire, rather than pandering. Given the “I guess I just wasn’t made for these times” vibe of every LH fan ever, they contextualized this album within an old-timey radio show, complete with a Colonel Sanders-esque host. But this remnant doesn’t stand on its own, it is surrounded on all sides by deep atmosphere and lush orchestration, and this is where the album is meant to shine, what it is meant to be loved for. The remnants of old are the symbols and set pieces.

The instrumentation on Long Lost mirrors that idea. The most obvious instruments and melodic ideas, the ones that jump out on a cursory listen, are steeped in traditional styles of folk, blues and country. These ideas are also very simple, usually playing a role or setting the tone rather than carrying the track. My biggest nitpick with the album is in the repetitious bluesy lead guitars, which frequently reprise the chorus melody. Willie Nelson and Johnny Cash certainly used leads in a similar fashion, so it fits the genre, just a minor gripe.

If all Long Lost had to offer was tradition, it would make for a boring, unnecessary listen. But tradition only scratches the surface, the atmosphere in which this “long lost” time is captured is where the magic lies. Haunting strings and abrasive synths drenched in reverb accompany cheerful songwriting. Even the cheerful songwriting breaks down into self-loathing if you really hone in on the lyrics. All things considered, they feel as critical of the prairie lifestyle as they are reminiscent of it. Lines like “You got holes in your clothes, booze on your breath. You look like hell and you smell like death, uh huh” encapsulate their intended meaning. Though tradition has been beaten down and bastardized, it’s still kicking.

Maybe Lord Huron view themselves as the champions and torchbearers of a time long lost, for better or worse. Their music calls back to a time when music was more high-brow and organic; made for the pontificators of the world. Made for my freshmen year philosophy teacher. But here’s the thing: I actually enjoyed his class enough to enroll in more philosophy classes. And I hated every other class I took; the department was full of ‘smartest in the room,’ ‘uses jargon exclusively,’ ‘I understand the meaning of life,’ types of pretentious assholes. My nervous wreck of a professor was the only one I felt I learned anything from. Our discussions were down-to-earth, topical, divisive and flat-out interesting. I think that says something about his favorite band.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Abbey RoadEarl Sweatshirt Some Rap Songs
Cymbals Eat Guitars LOSEJanelle Monae Dirty Computer
Bruno Mars 24K Magic
user ratings (123)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
nol
May 24th 2021


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You'll never understand how hard it was to write this review without mentioning Colton forcing me to listen to it, or without mentioning fedoras. yw

Digging: Silk Sonic - An Evening with Silk Sonic

Cygnatti
May 24th 2021


35400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

pos'd

Colton
May 24th 2021


13278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this sums up their sound well and describes the sorta concept of the band well pos'd



professor sounds like a legend

Purpl3Spartan
May 24th 2021


1948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Super nice review. Love how you pulled together the anecdotal and analytical portions making the whole review feel cohesive.

Digging: Satyr - Locus

nol
May 24th 2021


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thank you, garbage

Colton
May 24th 2021


13278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@mods feature

Purpl3Spartan
May 24th 2021


1948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

of course fam

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2021


2758 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great read man! gotta echo Spartan here with how cohesive this review was, nailed the sound perfectly

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

Divaman
May 24th 2021


13287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bought this but haven't had the chance to listen to it yet. I liked Strange Trails a lot, though, so I'm hopeful.

Digging: Duran Duran - Future Past

Purpl3Spartan
May 24th 2021


1948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

(Sing For Us Tonight) is peak songwriting



Holy crap "I Lied" is rough

someone
May 24th 2021


3739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

that's a good thing you wrote



Sowing
Moderator
May 24th 2021


39726 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

cool anecdotal review, I think both of our write-ups discuss our personal relationship with the band/album more than the music itself, ha. Regardless this is well-written and was a thoroughly enjoyable read. I know exactly what you mean about that "type" of professor; I also had a teacher who would play music before (and sometimes during) class, although he didn't limit it to a single artist. He was very quirky and humorous, just treated his students as equals and didn't act like a man among boys/girls (like so many other teachers at my university did!). I learned so much from him because it was like hanging out with a friend and engaging in real, organic conversations. I definitely think that's one of the better teaching styles out there, and I wish that more professors - or at least the ones with the right personality to pull it off - would adopt it.

Digging: Cynic - Ascension Codes

nol
May 24th 2021


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hey, I like I Lied. It's nice. Really like the sound of the twangier guitar.



With other departments it's a mixed bag but with Philosophy this was the general rule of thumb:

Philosophy 1000: lit and fun

Aesthetics/Philosophy of Art: the first class you learn that you can't classify art, and then you spend the rest of the semester trying to classify art

Meta-Ethics: throw me out of a third story window

Divaman
May 24th 2021


13287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I had a young comp lit teacher who said he'd once met Dylan. He described him as "an obnoxious little punk."

nol
May 24th 2021


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

he probably fucking was let’s be honest

Colton
May 25th 2021


13278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah that was kinda his whole thing for a while

butt.
May 25th 2021


9152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck me....this is really good. never listened to a full length from these guys, only singles. just lovely front to back, great writing and beautiful production

Colton
May 25th 2021


13278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah the production is amazing on this. so many little details, listened like 12 times and still noticing new things

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
May 31st 2021


9631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cool rev man, enjoying this one atm

Digging: Ethereal Shroud - Trisagion

Evangelancer
May 31st 2021


30 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy