Gonemage
Mystical Extraction


3.5
great

Review

by MiloRuggles STAFF
May 21st, 2021 | 21 replies


Release Date: 05/07/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Castlevanian Hunger

Gonemage is a spiritual offspring of Cara Neir's latest video game inspired outing; a solo project of Galimgim, who takes the reins in every duty here except for playing the drums. Get this, though: he programs them. Get it? The metatextual thematic depth on display here is on par with CD Projekt Red's masterstroke of releasing an unfinished version of Cyberpunk 2077, cleverly communicating that we were living the real Cyberpunk all along, which we'll all realise once we shut the game down and venture outside to yell in Poland's general direction.

Shitty jokes aside, Gonemage's genre synthesis is one that's almost destined to go wrong. At a glance, video game soundtracks and metal have a rockier past than From Software and intuitive NPC questlines, Cliff Bleszinski and good ideas, or Chris Redfield and that boulder in Resident Evil 5. Even shittier jokes aside, if one perseveres, it's possible to make just about any idea work. Open world games and fetch quests are tedium manifest to my tastes, and yet Death Stranding is one of the better AAA games I've played [once] in a long, long while. Similarly, Gonemage's approach to mixing the Fedora Atheism of video game soundtracks with the Misanthropic Atheism of black metal is surprisingly effective.

Gonemage's gimmickry on Mystical Extraction is at its best when Galimgim integrates and weaves the video game influences into the music, creating something analogous to Murmuüre's synthesis of black metal, Morricone, and, uh, other stuff, into one sprawling tapestry that detached Murmuüre from human performance and propelled it into a realm of obscure abstractions and surreal sonic mania. Mystical Extraction has this same potential coursing through its veins in a way that Cara Neir's Phase Out doesn't, and the moments that effectively recontextualise the sounds plundered transform simple genre breeding into a swirling, bit-crushed milieu. At these moments, Gonemage are onto something special.

Balance in all things, though. Every great game has a shitty sewer level. When the black metal stylings and otaku symphonies refuse to collide and instead run parallel to each other – trems and cute 8-bit excursions sharing everything but timbre; or traditional drum sounds being swapped out for comical, distorted vidya drumkits – we wind up with something that sounds more like mash-up than composition, and the wheels start to wobble.

Mystical Extraction's potential mitigates its wobbliness, though. It's easy to recognise the fertile ground Gonemage stands upon, Blue Jazz and Star Fruit germinating in confident silence beneath the freshly tilled earth. If the weather holds, and we come together and support Galimgim [is that a real name?], maybe he'll yield a bumper crop someday. With that in mind, would you kindly stay a while and listen?



Recent reviews by this author
J. Cole The Off-SeasonSpectral Lore Ετερόφωτος
Genesis Owusu Smiling with No Teethslowthai TYRON
Shlimp Warc Thgie DrsowAesop Rock Spirit World Field Guide
user ratings (48)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2021


1319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm really out here making myself cringe with this review, but let's just lean into it, huh?



https://gonemage.bandcamp.com/album/mystical-extraction

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2021


10063 Comments


Good review! Gotta say, combining black metal and video game influences definitely sounds intriguing

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules, glad to see a review for it!

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2021


1319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers team. Yeah, if the concept even vaguely appeals to you give it a go, divergent, it's heaps of fun

garas
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2021


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sounds like this would interest me. Will check.

Digging: Nordgeist - Frostwinter

parksungjoon
May 21st 2021


32249 Comments


lmao

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2021


1319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ayy

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2021


1319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice dig

XingKing
May 21st 2021


15335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the conceptual stuff between Phase Out and this

Donchivo
May 21st 2021


1185 Comments


Best review summary in a while!!

Digging: Yon - order of violence

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2021


1319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha cheers Don, wrote itself really.

I haven't actually delved into lyrics at all, xing, is it worthwhile?

Flugmorph
May 21st 2021


24224 Comments


this is 100% inspired by the mtg card surgical extraction

Evreaia
May 21st 2021


5247 Comments


halfway into the first song

this is surprisingly good for being a videogame bm album.

someone
May 21st 2021


3156 Comments


when you combine neckbeard bm fans and neckbeard video game fans

TheSpirit
May 21st 2021


27896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

garry is neither of those really



entertaining review! i think the levity really works for an album like this.



i enjoy this record a great deal and more than phase out (though that is still very good)



the last season of castlevania and this coming out around the same time definitely heightened my liking of both!

Digging: Dodsrit - Mortal Coil

Floofus
May 21st 2021


148 Comments


"Chris Redfield and that boulder in Resident Evil 5"

That's cannon now thanks to RE8, I'll have you know

XingKing
May 21st 2021


15335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@MiloRuggles

The lyrics to Phase Out are all really cheesy tongue in cheek dialogue that's written like two guys who literally got sucked into a video game and have no idea what is happening. The lyrics on that record aren't particularly well written but each song is a different level of the video game to the final boss and it's a fun time. Gonemage, as far as I can tell, is about a clone of Garry being created in the video game realm and wandering a strange land meeting characters while trying to learn his purpose. The final track seems to end with him realizing his power as the curator of this realm as he takes flight and becomes a god. I'm thinking it'll be a well intentioned creator turned evil storyline but we shall see!

parksungjoon
May 21st 2021


32249 Comments


wow epic just like sword art online and ready player one!!!

Illoomorpheme
May 22nd 2021


447 Comments


Gonemage sounds like if Old Nick took themselves a little too seriously. Not too bad, but I'd still prefer latter.

Digging: Old Nick - Curse Of The Lock Master/Witch Of The Northern Vil

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2021


14307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

would i dig this mr ruggles

Digging: Diskord - Degenerations



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy