Bala
Maleza


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged STAFF
May 17th, 2021 | 40 replies


Release Date: 05/14/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A stoner punk shotgun blast to the head.

See those jaws on the cover? Imagine them biting your chest like a shark torpedoing out of the water and sinking you forever in the deep blue sea. That's the feeling a few seconds after Anx, guitar grinder and main screamer of explosive Spanish stoner punk duo Bala, whispers the first words that introduce Maleza, the band's fiery debut on Century Media and their third album overall if my eyes don’t deceive me. The album is short and fulminating, like a shotgun blast at point blank, with tracks like "Hoy No" spewing venomous rock anthemics in the language of Quevedo, or "X" making the band rail down brakeless down a hardcore punk rollercoaster of frenetic d-beats and crushing riffs. Anx's guitar tone hits unfathomable low tones, crunchy and chunky as it should be, while V's intense drumming provides the necessary punch with every hit. As vocals go, both girls shred their lungs out on every word, with a few exceptions, like the phantasmagoric intro of "Quieres Entrar", while channeling a myriad of influences, from Nirvana in a cut like "Rituals", to Melvins, Hellacopters, and Kvelertak in "Mi Orden" or "Bessie", or even more recent and rising bands like Brutus in some of the more hardcore-oriented parts. Essentially, Maleza is an absolute wonder for those that like their rock'n'roll without sugar, as the duo show what they are able to create with only a couple of minutes per track, a heavily smashed drumkit and an evil-toned guitar, with the addition of their throat ripping singing spicing up the distortion mayhem with some really memorable hooks. One hell of a surprise for those craving some good ol' stoner rock with bits of punk, hardcore and grunge added to the mix. Bite the bullet!



Recent reviews by this author
Kaelan Mikla Undir Köldum NorðurljósumKatatonia Mnemosynean
Full of Hell Garden of Burning ApparitionsSuccumb XXI
Public Service Broadcasting Bright MagicAnette Olzon Strong
user ratings (32)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2021


26047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't wrote anything in more than a month so allow me this humble, cringeworthy shorty rev for an album that definitely deserves better.



Cheers to Mythodea for the playlist link on Youtube:



https://youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_mpX5fM8kYfHl5zO7_peJJPJc6CAsTUL7E



Check their videos too cause they are really cool.



Hope you people enjoy the album.



Digging: Blackwater Holylight - Silence/Motion

parksungjoon
May 17th 2021


38184 Comments


hellacopters ;o

Digging: Slint - Tweez

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2021


26047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for some reason the name popped up in my head while jamming the album, totally random, i could be wrong

parksungjoon
May 17th 2021


38184 Comments


this is quite sludgy ;o

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2021


26047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It has some sludgy parts too yeah but for the most part they are on turbo

parksungjoon
May 17th 2021


38184 Comments


cool find !

WatchItExplode
May 17th 2021


9345 Comments


This was good yes

Digging: Floating Cloud Music - Love is a Burning Building That Will Suffocate Us

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2021


2944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is pretty nifty upon first listen!

deathofasalesman
May 17th 2021


7640 Comments


definitely gonna check anything labeled stoner punk

Digging: Every Time I Die - Radical

Mythodea
May 17th 2021


6811 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it didn't feel ''stoner'' to me, more like ''garage'' punk. Anyways, it's a cool find and opener is my favourite song of the month, so...

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2021


2944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I agree it's more loud, aggressive punk, with some stoner-y moments. Very good stuff that doesn't overstay its welcome.

WatchItExplode
May 17th 2021


9345 Comments


This gal is a belter, to be sure

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2021


2944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The opening riff in "Bessie" is so damn tasty

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2021


26047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's hard to tag them yeah, but anyway, they're amazing.



I missed their shows in Japan, fml

RogueNine
May 18th 2021


4825 Comments


Adding to muh list.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2021


15260 Comments


Good to see you on the front page my Dew

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2021


26047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

other revs deserved the spot tbh but, yeah always happy to see a feature

botb
May 18th 2021


14822 Comments


This sounds right up my alley. Good write up dew!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2021


26047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers brother, hope you have a good time!

Gmork89
May 18th 2021


8228 Comments


This is blast, really enjoying it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy