Katahdin
No Longer Room For Us


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
May 7th, 2021 | 29 replies


Release Date: 04/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pissed Off

Katahdin’s debut packs a serious punch. In just under 8 minutes, No Longer Room For Us barrels through the eardrums of the listeners with about as much power of a speeding freight train. With no room for breath, Katahdin jumps right into the action with an intense hardcore introduction that sets the stage for the EP’s pure relentlessness. Each moment is full to the brim with the band’s love and affection for all things heavy, relying on chunky, chugged power chords, abrasive and aggressive drumming, intensely deep bass tone, and raw dual harsh vocals. Much in line with the modern tropes of hardcore, No Longer Room For Us displays an immense amount of groove that swiftly moves the listener along the EP, anticipating the next tempo switch-up and crushing breakdown. For a newcomer’s debut, Katahdin stands among even the most proficient of hardcore artists, showcasing an impressive band chemistry within the compositions, incredible understanding of flow with the interplaying of instrumentation and dual-vocals, and crisp production that leaves no member left in the shadows.

The guitar work, although rather simple, brings forth an intense tone that deeply entices the listener with its heavy presence in the power chord chugging with the occasional dissonance or riff that adds a bit of flavor to the songwriting. The drumming is on full display here, driving each moment along with insane grooves and chops, utilizing everything from a simple two-step to blasting double bass to perfectly fit what feels necessary. Perhaps the most impressive moments lie within the basslines, crafting a deeper tonality to the already heavy moments and amplifying them even further. Moreover, the bass shines through in many moments, from deep-driving grooves where the guitar takes to the background to catching the listener off guard with subtle moments of slapping progression (refer to the intro of “from hell’s heart”). Lastly, the vocals are full of raw and pure aggression that match the hardcore energy of the project fluidly. Providing contrast between a grittier scream and a harsher shout, Katahdin effortlessly combine the two techniques together to compose an intense display of harsh vocal work.

Despite the far above average display of talent from these newcomers, No Longer Room For Us suffers from an all too short runtime, leaving the project with little room to breathe as Katahdin attempts to fire on all cylinders. For what it is, the band manages to capture the raw aggression they were going for yet fail to let the music breathe as the short time frame forces the music to rush by in a rather compact manner. Nonetheless, Katahdin’s debut proves to be one of immense potential with plenty of talent and chemistry that points towards a bright future for the band’s career. If No Longer Room For Us tells us anything, it’s that we need to be on the lookout for these guys in the hardcore scene and prepare ourselves for the next crushing endeavor.



Recent reviews by this author
Twenty One Pilots Scaled and IcyDarko (US) Darko
Love and Death Perfectly PreservedOf Mice and Men Timeless
Landon Tewers Frontal Lobe SubmissionKars Landman Clouds
user ratings (22)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's been a while, but we're back! Just finished up my first year of college so I should be dedicating more time to writing some reviews here

Definitely give these guys a shot if you're into hardcore, nice quick listen that flows together like one song

Cygnatti
May 7th 2021


35266 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pog, this is a 7 minute album btw

FadedSun
May 7th 2021


2653 Comments


Katahdin? This band from Maine or something? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Katahdin

bigweinerdon
May 7th 2021


1506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck this is so good, wish it was longer.

Digging: Desolate (USA-NY) - Oyasumi Vol. 1

SteakByrnes
May 7th 2021


24226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man, sweet little EP that'd be a ton of fun to hear live

Digging: Origami Button - No Parking

normaloctagon
May 7th 2021


6057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bet

DadKungFu
May 7th 2021


1234 Comments


Lol I was gonna ask if this was a Maine band but FadedSun beat me to it. And apparently it is, they're out of Portland.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, echoing what DadKungFu said

"Fuck this is so good, wish it was longer." [2]

"sweet little EP that'd be a ton of fun to hear live" I would absolutely love to see this thing live with a solid pit going the whole time

DavidYowi
May 7th 2021


1145 Comments


My friend recommended this band to me. Nice to see a band from my home state get some buzz on sput

kevbogz
May 7th 2021


3176 Comments


not usually one for the semantics of genre, but this is more metal-/deathcore. it's also pretty average metal-/deathcore at that

Digging: Midwife (USA) - Luminol

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they brand themselves as hardcore so that's what I went with... all the details on what define a genre are so blurred nowadays I just go off of what the band says about themselves

kevbogz
May 7th 2021


3176 Comments


ah fair point m8. i just got real excited to see hardcore on the front page.

have you heard bands who have a similar sound? there's stuff like Jesus Piece, Left Behind, and Knocked Loose are some of my personal favorites. def rec if this is something up your alley

kevbogz
May 7th 2021


3176 Comments


honestly, Left Behind's Blessed by the Burn is prolly my favorite modern -core album. it's got this southern twang to it that gives it so much character, and the lyrics are incredibly cheesy in the best possible way

RadioSuicide
May 7th 2021


1982 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

saw the summary and insta-checked



bad choice

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@kev, yessirrr, Left Behind is pretty great man! slowly but surely warming up to Knocked Loose, but it's been tough for me to get into the vocals a bit

and sorry Radio

RadioSuicide
May 7th 2021


1982 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i enjoyed your review anyway! it's nice to see different perspectives, think that's why i've stuck around here for as long as i have

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it!! never been huge into legit hardcore, so I'm writing from the perspective of self-proclaimed hardcore bands nowadays and what not

combustion07
May 8th 2021


8640 Comments


Excited to jam this one. Sounds pretty solid

RadioSuicide
May 8th 2021


1982 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'm fine with this band using the tag to describe themselves, even if it is a stretch. honestly at this point no one relevant is making actual hxc, and it has been misappropriated and misrepresented by FAR worse

normaloctagon
May 8th 2021


6057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gonna jam this today my man



see ya on the next page



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy