Leon Vynehall
Rare, Forever


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (66 Reviews)
May 5th, 2021 | 27 replies


Release Date: 04/30/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A beautiful vacuum

Rare, Forever feels hollow. For most artists, such a statement would likely imply the existence of a rather disappointing record: for Leon Vynehall, it’s a convincing testament to his strengths. Rather than letting the music get consumed by emptiness, the producer envelops his rhythms and atmospheres in a unique vacuum, rendering the record an excellently monotonous experience.

The album’s best moments find themselves rooted in minor, muted experiments. ‘Alichea Vella Amor’ succeeds at reducing its jazzy patterns to a hazy minimum, while remaining entirely distinguishable and ultimately hypnotising. Similarly employed repetition can be explored on the transcendent ‘An Exhale’, where Vynehall bathes dreamy motifs in gentle waves of trance; occasionally exploding, yet leaving more than enough space for both the song and listener to breathe. Spread throughout Rare, Forever, such moments of calm not only add to the record’s textural depth, but also afford it its cohesive properties. Unlike previous projects by the artist, the album does not follow a particular concept or storyline, instead fully relying on the fabric of its sound and arrangements to achieve similarly successful results.

‘Farewell! Magnus Gabbro’ and ‘All I See Is You, Velvet Brown’ close the album on two eerily abstract notes. Distilling the glitchy eruptions of ‘Dumbo’ into a combined seven minutes of densely layered drone and ambient, the closing moments feel like an inevitable comedown. While being the most minimal tracks on Rare, Forever, they appear less empty; more filled with the beautifully desolate patterns that preceded. As such, the album neither overstays its welcome nor neglects prospects: its ominous finale appears to hint at a more replete and hopefully equally beautiful future. For now, the intricately captivating vacuum is ours to bask in.



Recent reviews by this author
Submotile Sonic Day CodasBig Brave Vital
London Grammar Californian SoilPONY TV Baby
half/cut Salt an AtlasCitizen Life In Your Glass World
user ratings (24)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is v good

listen here https://leonvynehall.bandcamp.com/album/rare-forever

Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture

anatelier
May 5th 2021


4107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

top review friend, it’s a lovely album

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank u :] still a bit scary writing about stuff where i can't use the word 'reverb' twenty times lol

MotokoKusanagi
May 5th 2021


3756 Comments


oo can't wait to hear this, Leon can do no wrong

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2021


26453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YES

Digging: My Bloody Valentine - Isn't Anything

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


1175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet review jesper, album is so so good

Digging: Joseph Shabason - The Fellowship

normaloctagon
May 5th 2021


5628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love the review, loving this album

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2303 Comments


Not my usual style, but this looks intriguing. Nice review Jesper, will check!

Pangea
May 5th 2021


6425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i just ruined the streak of 4 ratings. i'm sorry

Digging: Charles Mingus - Tijuana Moods

anatelier
May 5th 2021


4107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't believe you've done this

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys!

you are forgiven pan, glad you at least kinda enjoyed it

betlwedl
May 5th 2021


159 Comments


yessss album is wonderful

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2021


26453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he's definitely becoming a favorite of mine in the genre (not that I know a ton admittedly)

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

atari have you heard that leifur james record i put in the rec section? it's v v good as well

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
May 5th 2021


20424 Comments


this guy has one of the best DJ sets ive ever seen, highly recommend checking him out once live shows start up again.

album is great, but it needs a few more listens to fully digest. mothra is a fuckin tune tho.

Digging: Kraftwerk - Minimum-Maximum

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2021


36153 Comments


bump will read this when awake and jam in the evening

Digging: Flipper's Guitar - Doctor Head's World Tower

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2021


26453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Jesper, nope but I'll add it to my library - cheers!

Pikazilla
May 6th 2021


16321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is great but not as good as the previous one

Relinquished
May 6th 2021


46272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

disagree but both are beautiful in their own rights



congratulations on the feature. felt like maybe you could’ve expounded on other tracks too but I appreciate your impressions.

Project
May 6th 2021


4814 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see Amnioverse in the recs and am thus obligated to check, great review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy