Beachy Head
Beachy Head


3.5
great

Review

by Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (36 Reviews)
May 4th, 2021 | 25 replies


Release Date: 04/30/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dream pop for those who like dream pop

Beachy Head’s self-titled album is the first release from an indie supergroup featuring two members from Slowdive, two members from The Flaming Lips, and one member from The Soft Cavalry. Given the bandmates’ backgrounds, it’s no surprise that Beachy Head’s sound falls into an indie style, but they trend heavily towards Slowdive’s direction. The result is a short and sweet collection of tunes leaning towards dream pop (especially) and shoegaze (to a lesser extent), with a helping of Britpop and alt-rock as well.

It should be noted promptly that this is not an innovative release in any way. While Beachy Head delve into several directions throughout the album’s eight tracks, all of the styles pursued have been explored an ample number of times previously. That critique aside, though, this is a thoroughly enjoyable and well-executed piece. Despite variation in tempo and mood through the songs, the band maintains an airy feel throughout. The results are a nice summer record with decent replay value, and no bad tracks.

Opener “Warning Bell” alerts the listener of what to expect from much of the rest of the LP, It’s an almost-plodding but melodious number, which turns out to be subtly catchy. It lays out a pattern for several of the more reserved tracks scattered throughout the album, the best of which may be the second-half gem “October” with its simultaneously dreary and beautiful presentation. Meanwhile, the second track “Michael” is the first representation of the slightly heavier side of the album, featuring muscular guitar underscoring the soaring vocals. This alt-rock tinged style reappears later in the album with “Looking For Exits” and “Hiddensee”, the latter of which is perhaps the album’s most infectious, feeling like a song which wouldn’t be out of place on a Ride album. As can be seen from this summary, Beachy Head has a bit of dual approach here, with a mixture of more fast-paced and harder-rocking songs and slower, dreamier tunes, which ultimately come together in a coherent fashion.

All told, Beachy Head haven’t broken any new terrain here, but taken on its own merits this is a very good debut. The self-titled album can be recommended to anyone in the mood for something dreamy who has twenty-nine minutes on their hands (yes, it’s that short). Beachy Head probably won’t change the minds of those who don’t enjoy their chosen genre, but for those who do, they’ve produced a worthwhile collection which touches on several existing threads within the shoegaze/dream-pop mosaic.



Recent reviews by this author
Runnner Always RepeatingHollie Kenniff The Quiet Drift
Lucid Express Lucid ExpressRota Fortunae Hinterland
White Ward Debemur MortiLucy Dacus Home Video
user ratings (19)
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


2556 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A quick writeup for a solid album, definitely check this is you like this style!

SandwichBubble
May 4th 2021


12984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice, didn't think this would get a review.

Like you said, album feels like a mix of two different styles (alt rock/psych and standard dream pop). But I don't think either is done all that well.

Digging: Dirt - Never Mind Dirt - Here's the Bollocks

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


2556 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks @SandwichBubble!



I guess it all comes down to preference, I don't think this is innovative but I definitely like all the songs

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


3170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yess lovely stuff sunny, summary is perf

album's just very nice pleasant dreamy and nice

Cormano
May 4th 2021


2797 Comments


sweet I had forgotten this thing dropped

will check rn

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


2556 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Jesper, appreciate it!



Cheers @Cormano!

Bilbodabag
May 4th 2021


65 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Was looking forward to this, but didn't realize it dropped already. Gotta check it

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


1233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice writeup! will give this a listen

WatchItExplode
May 5th 2021


9070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

You've been busy Sunny. This had some very nice cuts.

Digging: Teamonade - This Far

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2556 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks @hel9000, let me know what you think!



@WatchItExplode, yep, I'm keeping busy. Any favorite songs on here?

Sinternet
May 5th 2021


24221 Comments


hey i grew up right by beachy head

Sinternet
May 5th 2021


24221 Comments


maybe i shuld check i liked the teaser track

WatchItExplode
May 5th 2021


9070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Warning, Michael, All Gone. Kinda enjoyed Hiddensee too.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2556 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice! Warning, October, and Hiddensee are probably my top three if I had to pick

WatchItExplode
May 5th 2021


9070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's all pretty competent, if not engaging at times.

Bilbodabag
May 6th 2021


65 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now that I've finally gotten around to this, it's a little disappointing, but still a decent listen.

Bilbodabag
May 6th 2021


65 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Looking for Exits is a nice little jam tho

ChaoticVortex
May 6th 2021


1182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is nice, but nothing too outstanding. Good dream pop for dream pop fans.

Nikkolae
May 6th 2021


5869 Comments


so if i like dream pop will i like this?

Digging: Counterparts - Nothing Left to Love

normaloctagon
May 6th 2021


6057 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nice write up



want to 3 this so bad but just can't do it. will keep an eye out for another one though, there's potential



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy