Blaze Bayley
War Within Me


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
May 3rd, 2021 | 25 replies


Release Date: 04/09/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Put some respect on his name.

It's interesting how narrative can influence someone's opinion, or in Blaze Bayley's case, a myriad opinions. Had Blaze Bayley stayed with Wolfsbane or followed a solo career, he might have been perceived as an underground warrior. But the oft-maligned Birmingham-born vocalist was considered an important reason for Iron Maiden's slump in the mid-'90s, even though his vocal approach was just different and unsuited for the material that he was asked to sing. However, what cannot be disputed, is his ability as a bandleader and his talent to come up with quality material; his solo career has been more than solid, and War Within Me is further proof of his ability to produce fist-pumping, honest heavy metal.

What makes this album such an enjoyable listen is the attention given to choruses. After completing a trilogy of concept albums, it seems that the music here is more song-oriented and Blaze is just having a great time. The album oozes positive energy, expressed in the form of lyrics and melodies. Right from the start, the title track's lyrics deal with overcoming difficulties, which is also a very current subject. You can feel that the lyrics are quite personal for Blaze, but they're also easy to relate with. Several catchy moments on here will stay with the listener and bring to mind Virtual XI, so if you think that Iron Maiden's 11th release is awful, then this LP might not be for you. Apart from the above, great work has been done on the guitars, with some memorable riffs, nice harmonies, and solid solos. The aforementioned qualities are present in all songs, with the album containing not even one stinker.

Now, if you're wondering if this is one of those albums that will stay with you for years and jam every once in a while, the answer is probably "no". However, it will lift your spirits and maybe help you forget your worries every time you decide to revisit it; and these are qualities as underrated as Blaze himself.



Recent reviews by this author
Old Wizard Old Wizard IIKanonenfieber Menschenmühle
Castle Zagyx Doors to the Battlefields of ErtbeEmpyrium Über den Sternen
Electric Sun EarthquakeCauldron Born Born of the Cauldron
user ratings (11)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2021


12236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is really cool if you're looking for something to lift you up.

Digging: Steelbourne - A Tale As Old As Time

Mythodea
May 3rd 2021


6127 Comments


I never thought I'd check out a Bayley album (I have nothing against the guy, but it's a genre that seems outdated to me), but I feel I might try this one out.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2021


12236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, let us know if you enjoyed it Myth.

FabiusPictor202
May 3rd 2021


979 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

wow this dude is still around, i respek it. can't imagine that this is any good though

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - Violence Unimagined

Muzz79
May 4th 2021


515 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wasn’t expecting such a cool riff to begin. Fans of Priest’s Firepower will take to this

Digging: Grave Miasma - Abyss Of Wrathful Deities

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2021


14082 Comments


This guy is such a work horse.

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

Pikazilla
May 4th 2021


16372 Comments


I liked TMWWND and PAT a lot so will check

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2021


12236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hope you enjoy Pika, both of those albums are solid.



Agreed Nocte, few people believed that he would have a decent solo career when he left Maiden. Much respect.



Glad to see you enjoying the album, Muzz79.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2021


9127 Comments


Nice little write-up, thanks for reminding me to check this out.


One petty correction

and these are qualities underrated as Blaze himself.

as underrated as

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2021


12236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, Voi!

FabiusPictor202
May 4th 2021


979 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

boomer metal

FabiusPictor202
May 4th 2021


979 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

guys in their 50s with beer bellies on their second divorce will love this though

DioFan05
May 4th 2021


23 Comments


Given that I'm a kid (not necessarily in the sense of being a minor, but you get the point) and I like this....
*visible confusion*

To be fair my music tastes are pretty boomer metal.


parksungjoon
May 4th 2021


31674 Comments


Given that I'm a kid (not necessarily in the sense of being a minor, but you get the point) and I like this....
*visible confusion*

To be fair my music tastes are pretty boomer metal.

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

Lasseg
May 4th 2021


347 Comments


Blaze always got so much undeserved hate so im very interested in checking this out. He had some bangers when he was in Maiden

DioFan05
May 4th 2021


23 Comments


Lasseg I completely agree
I'm a huge fan of Bruce but Blaze was actually pretty good.
Maiden fans at the time just felt like nobody could replace Bruce--so they naturally hated Blaze.
But Sign of the Cross, Futureal, Lord Of The Flies, etc are all really cool.

Lasseg
May 4th 2021


347 Comments


Dont forget Man On The Edge! That one is so dang good too! I admire the fact that everytime Maiden has recruited a new vocalist they have never done what many other bands have done and just found a clone vocalist that sounds the same as the one they are replacing. My favorite Maiden albums are the one with DiAnno but those ones luckily arent hated on like Bayleys albums with them

MrSirLordGentleman
May 4th 2021


13947 Comments


cool to see that he's still making music and cool review as well manosg

Silicon Messiah was an awesome album and Tenth Dimension and Man Who Would not Die were great as well

The guy doesn't deserve the hate he gets for the Maiden years, those albums had some classic songs as well

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2021


16043 Comments


I always associated Blaze Bayley with Maiden's decline in the '90s so I never really cared about his solo career, but your review piqued my interest. I'll have to check those choruses.

Digging: Grave Miasma - Abyss Of Wrathful Deities

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2021


12236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He's definitely learned some tricks next to Steve Harris, Notrap. Hope you enjoy the album.



Appreciate it MSLG and agreed, those albums you mentioned are great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy