Royal Blood
Typhoons


2.9
good

Review

by While She Sleeps: [in the back] STAFF
May 1st, 2021 | 54 replies


Release Date: 04/30/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Having resurrected rock and roll, Royal Blood kick it to death (again)

Credit where credit’s due, Typhoons is rather catchy. “Trouble’s Coming”? Banger. “Oblivion”? Absolute tune, mate. “Either You Want It”? Well, it certainly has the good musical notes. You get the gist, I'm sure: on their 3rd LP, British (ex-)rock duo, Royal Blood, have perfected the inoffensive ear-worm. With their bluesy, garage rock edges sanded down and the pursuit of artistry put on the back-burner, Typhoons sees the band squeezing themselves into an increasingly generic (lucrative) mould, blending poppier, dancier, funkier sounds into their previously straight-shooting, overdriven sound. Once proclaimed as the saviours of rock and roll - in the UK, at the very least - Mike and Ben can be seen hurriedly stamping out the flames of that almost revolution, following in the recent chart-topping footsteps of Muse and Imagine Dragons with woefully mixed results.

To avoid unjustly mischaracterising Royal Blood’s latest outing, let’s back up a sec. Typhoons is, without a shadow of a doubt, quite fun. These words weren’t written reluctantly through gritted teeth, but rather with a bobbing head and tapping toes, such is the obvious appeal of the duo’s 2021 effort. “Boilermaker” is a veritable groove city, rekindling a hint of the spirit of the band's 2014 debut with its palpably punchy percussiveness, riding its massive lead riff all the way home. Boogie-er, woogie-er cuts “Limbo” and “Hold On” are equally engaging, weaving Daft Punk style electronics within effervescent, funky refrains with admirable ease.

Even the record’s worst moments manage to worm their way into one’s noggin, as much as I’d rather they didn't - see the incessant one-chord mashing of “Who Needs Friends”, grating falsetto skwarking of “Mad Visions” and inescapable sing-a-long whoa-ing on “Typhoons”. It’s not necessarily that Mike and Ben’s trip to the disco is, in and of itself, bad - indeed, as characterless as lukewarm slow-burners “Million and One” and “All We Have Is Now” are, they’re still more interesting than the confused self-parody of 2017’s How Did We Get So Dark?. Rather, what’s frustrating is the way in which Typhoons signals the less ambitious intentions of a band surely destined for more, such that its inconsistencies compound and shortcomings shine.

I’m not angry, Royal Blood, just disappointed. Perhaps it was premature to hope that the duo might be the ones to fight the good fight for the riff, reigniting the reign of rock as the headlines so excitedly predicted, yet the eagerness with which they seem to have exchanged authenticity for accessibility makes their fall from that lofty pedestal all the harder to watch. Placing the weight of an entire genre’s future on two blokes from Brighton was, no doubt, a bit unfair; but, with expectations reset, perhaps the future of Royal Blood remains hopeful. I for one look forward to finding out, if and when the storm subsides.



Recent reviews by this author
While She Sleeps Sleeps SocietyFloating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO Promises
World Peace Come And SeeGenghis Tron Dream Weapon
God's Hate God's HateKing Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard L. W.
user ratings (91)
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
FCY (3.5)
Royal Blood find their (inner) Muse....



Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

apologies if this reads a bit rushed, I tried Jonny's 'write a free form review in 40 ish minutes' thing and this is what happened.

cc very welcome. have a nice day.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2021


36306 Comments


yay this is energetic and lucid and i enjoy and understand it ! nice !

cc-wise, I think your bookending paras are solid but I feel the middle two feel would read better as one single concessional para without nearly as many examples (they both make the same point clearly enough that these don't add much imo). also not sure about your last sentence; you could probs close more cleanly on the one before.

that is all! happy!

Digging: Lenny Valentino - Uwaga! Jedzie tramwaj

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Ta johnny bb, agreed with all of that - may make some tweaks, though perhaps that would defeat the purpose of a quick boi? Idk, will do a think.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


7854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

aye cool read mate

i do agree with johnny re the middle paras, but the review is swell nonetheless

Digging: Erika de Casier - Sensational

Cormano
May 1st 2021


2706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Once proclaimed as the saviours of rock and roll"



over the years I've learned not to ever trust the british press

Marxman
May 2nd 2021


63 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This band has taken a nose dive since that great debut album. Yikes.

g40st
May 2nd 2021


27 Comments


They started out rather promising, as did Nothing More and Highly Suspect as far as mainstream rock goes.

CaliggyJack
May 2nd 2021


6546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Same with Bastille, though the problem seems to be opposite here.



Bastille's debut was so good because it so blatantly straddled mainstream radio with it's absolutely lavish instrumentation and biblical lyrics. It was hammy as hell and that's why it was so good. Then all of a sudden on Wild World they started experimenting and trying to fix what wasn't broke, they started changing time signatures, and going more into the indie pop scene. Wild World was just a cacophony of garbage, and then they went straight dance-hall/electronic with Doom Days and it completely failed. They were a band that made selling out look cool, and now they're a bunch of posers pretending they make ART.



With Royal Blood they're debut was just raw, unfiltered, aggressive energy. It was commercially accessible but it wasn't produced in a way that catered to their interests. Then on their 2nd they started slowing the tempo and the songs started to drag, and now they're dropping any pretense of being "Rock" in favor of a more poppy direction and they suck at it.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

"over the years I've learned not to ever trust the british press" lol ye agreed



Always loved Bastille's debut, for what it was - never bothered with the rest of their discog after its lukewarm reception

EoinCofa
May 2nd 2021


592 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Whole album kind of reminds me of Finger Eleven’s “Paralyzer” (which I can’t stand). Well who knows, maybe they’re trying to bring sexy back. This album won’t stand the test of time like some of their earlier stuff. But I agree that it is a fun album; temporarily.

Kopkiwi
May 3rd 2021


56 Comments


Man, disappointing. From the highs of their incredible self title debut, to this in 7 short years, depressing.

Conmaniac
May 3rd 2021


26412 Comments


Saw score, checked rev n saw that Ben agrees Troubles Coming a certified banger
Gj gj I'll prob check highlights off this

Terulian
May 3rd 2021


14 Comments


It happens a lot with this type of music. Their first album was years of refining their sound and was a culmination of everything they learned to that point.

The following albums there is just no creativity so they fall back on the sound of the first album. Except there is no inspiration and its just a boring slog.

For some reason it mostly happens with this genre. But yeah. Basically what I'm trying to say is this album is ass.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Cheers con bb x



Ye there are a couple of good bops on this, and tbf their new direction could have a fair bit of potential if they commit to it all the way ... but also ye where the riffs at I want riffs gimmie riffs heck

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

"It happens a lot with this type of music. Their first album was years of refining their sound and was a culmination of everything they learned to that point"



Agreed, seems to be a recurring issue, kinda what I expect happened with imagine dragons and bastille, though the former seem to be revelling in the act of selling out and making that dolla so idk

StickFeit
May 3rd 2021


1564 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Album comes off as a quick cash grab tbh



Well “quick” isn’t the proper term cause this turd fest costed them 4 years

Digging: Greet Death - New Hell

CaliggyJack
May 3rd 2021


6546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Imagine Dragons actually began to improve at first.



Smoke and Mirrors was their absolute peak. And then evolution happened

StickFeit
May 3rd 2021


1564 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Imagine Dragons? Peak?

Faraudo
May 3rd 2021


3941 Comments


It's not that bad lmao, solid 3

Digging: Manchester Orchestra - The Million Masks of God

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2021


2966 Comments


imagine dragons peaking is kind of like the netherlands calling its highest point of 300 meters a mountain
great writeup, hyped to never check this lol

Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy