Rusted Brain
Deceiver


4.5
superb

Review

by dogdaysunrise1 USER (4 Reviews)
April 29th, 2021 | 10 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Kill'Em All of 2019

This Album is a great example of how fresh and great old school Thrash can still be. It took me back in time when I was a teenager and I listened to Kill'Em All for the first time. It blew me away. Same happened when I listened to Deceiver for the first time.

The production is raw and less polished which perfectly fits this kind of music, the vocalist has a raunchy voice, there are no growls on this Album, which is kinda rare these days in Metal and it's great that it doesn't. The bass is clearly audible and sometimes wild in the mix that adds it's own flavor on top of the excellent drumming and the catchy riffs, but it never gets cheesy.
It's raw, relentless and mostly very fast. The solos are so well incorporated into the mix and takes the album to another level. Even when things get slower, these guys know how to pull it off, in fact the slowest song "Face Yourself" on the album is the one I'd recommend to get into it. The following song "Satan's Night" is one of the faster ones which will carry you through this release and they will show you what's in store for the rest of the Album. The best though is, to enjoy this from start to finish and I'll doubt you will be disappointed. It's old school, yet really brings a fresh breeze into the genre.


user ratings (1)
4.5
superb


Comments:Add a Comment 
dogdaysunrise1
April 29th 2021


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I know I'm not.good at writing reviews and it's my second language but if I can get just a few people to check this out and maybe even buy it on bandcamp, then I'm happy to help these guys get more recognition, because I think this release rocks and deserves it.

parksungjoon
April 29th 2021


30896 Comments


>The production is raw and less polished which perfectly fits this kind of music

it sounds about as clean as any 2010s testament/kreator/etc album

>there are no growls on this Album, which is kinda rare these days in Metal

is it rare though?

>and it's great that it doesn't.

in a review u should prob explain why

>Even when things get slower, these guys know how to pull it off, in fact the slowest song "Face Yourself"

its not slow at all though

>It's old school, yet really brings a fresh breeze into the genre.

what is fresh about it? should prob explain that in a review

>It took me back in time when I was a teenager and I listened to Kill'Em All for the first time.

are you polish by chance


Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

dogdaysunrise1
April 29th 2021


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You're right with almost all your points. I thought it was not quite as polished and clear as some other productions. "Face Yourself" is a slow song for a Thrash Metal band and compared to the other songs



I'm not polish, which reminds me I forgot to mention that most songs are in English and a few in Polish.



Like I said, I know I suck at writing reviews that's why I pretty much stopped writing them, I wrote 3 on here in all those years.

I guess you can learn almost everything on YouTube but not how to write a good review.

parksungjoon
April 29th 2021


30896 Comments


>I'm not polish

only asking cuz kill em all is ... kind of special among polish rock and metal fans in particular

just a stab in the dark

anyway site's seen worse reviews, you get better learning from feedback and practicing. dont want to discourage you from writing

dogdaysunrise1
April 29th 2021


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks, I appreciate that.

I didn't even know Kill'Em All was special for polish rock fans.

Cool info!





parksungjoon
April 29th 2021


30896 Comments


yea in that scene there is apparently the belief that metallica's debut is their best album by far... i have a friend who is not super into metal and even he could confirm that for me, strange

dogdaysunrise1
April 29th 2021


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'd agree, Kill'Em All & Ride the lightning are in my Top 2.



Somehow Deceiver hit me in 2019 like Kill'Em All did back then, just absolutely love it and I have never heard of Rusted Brain before then.

parksungjoon
April 29th 2021


30896 Comments


well im glad you like it that much

LaughingSkull
April 30th 2021


703 Comments


@parksungjoon can you explain that about Poland and its special place in its heard for KEA?
Genuinely curious...

@dogdaysunrise1 and my question is: Are you friends with the band or otherwise associated with them? :D :D :D

dogdaysunrise1
April 30th 2021


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

No not at all. I just love the release and saw on Facebook they couldn't tour and promote the Album because of covid19. Of course like every other band, but just wanted to give them a little push. That's all. If it was already reviewed on here, I wouldn't have posted it. It's 2021 and I still spin it from time to time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy