Old Wizard
Old Wizard II


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
April 20th, 2021 | 19 replies


Release Date: 04/04/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Flawed yet promising dungeon synth.

Dungeon synth has to be one of the most deceptive genres. The combination of cover art and song titles often creates a promising package which, at least for me, regularly tends to disappoint. Nevertheless, there are rare cases where the outcome is pure magic. Old Wizard lies somewhere in the middle, as it nails the packaging aspect, but delivers promising yet flawed songwriting.

Right from the bat, Old Wizard II unfolds like a fairy tale, as the serene "Through Woods and Valleys" places the listener into a mythical setting. The illustration and the story complement the music perfectly, as it moves seamlessly from ethereal in "Altherin - The Wood Elf" to menacing in "Tower of Doom" and awe-inspiring in "Zoltark - The Dark Wizard". By now, the main flaw of the album has been revealed, and this is none other than repetitiveness, even for dungeon synth standards. There are some interesting melodies here and there and the variety among the songs helps in breaking the monotony, but unfortunately, the songs themselves are quite repetitive. Nonetheless, the album has a certain charm that is enough to keep the listener's attention and warrants multiple listens. The medieval atmosphere is genuine and convincing, and each song contributes to the story, like the lush "Ghost Citadel", "Old Hilltop Mill" that brought to my mind Basil Poledouris, or "Hall of the Ancients" that conveys a feeling of exaltation.

So, all in all, Old Wizard II is certainly flawed but, at the same time, addictive like a DOS RPG. It draws you into its magical world and before you know it, it's over. Now, if only Wulf Von Reifenstein (the man behind Old Wizard) works on making his songwriting a bit more adventurous, we might have something special in our hands in the future.




Recent reviews by this author
Blaze Bayley War Within MeKanonenfieber Menschenmühle
Castle Zagyx Doors to the Battlefields of ErtbeEmpyrium Über den Sternen
Electric Sun EarthquakeCauldron Born Born of the Cauldron
user ratings (6)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A quick one, to bring this one to your attention.

Digging: Steelbourne - A Tale As Old As Time

BallsToTheWall
April 20th 2021


50351 Comments


Sold.

Digging: Ansome - Hounds of the Harbor

garas
Contributing Reviewer
April 20th 2021


5974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice! The first was a bit disappointing, I hope this is better.

Digging: Impaled Nazarene - Eight Headed Serpent

garas
Contributing Reviewer
April 20th 2021


5974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Also: "The combination of cover art and song titles often creates a promising package which, at least for me, regularly tends to disappoint."

Sad but true.

BallsToTheWall
April 20th 2021


50351 Comments


All I expect out of dungeon synth is dungeon synth and the song here I enjoyed.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you enjoyed it, dude.



Still need to listen to the first one, garas. Hope you enjoy this one more if you manage to check it.

parksungjoon
April 21st 2021


30896 Comments


is this dungeon synth https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8EqrIWUlN8

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have no idea, but I remember reading about it in old pc magazines and thinking it's the coolest game ever haha.

parksungjoon
April 21st 2021


30896 Comments


its pretty good man

parksungjoon
April 21st 2021


30896 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dfqu-QS0c1I

real shit

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Absolutely. Can't remember if I had the real game or a never-ending demo, but it was a great game.

DungeonBoy
April 21st 2021


8176 Comments


needed some new tunes for the first post-covid D&D session and I feel like this will hit the spot from what I heard. Good review dude, "quite repetitive" is sometimes what i'm actually looking for (:

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ooh nice, I think that this is going to be great for a D&D session.

Pho3nix
April 23rd 2021


1081 Comments


Nice! I'll have to check the debut first though. Can't have enough dungeon synth on Sput :]

@parks Yeh you could probably call it that. Don't know if 8-bit / 16-bit would be another genre niche for it. Loved both of those games as a kid!

wayfaringstranger
April 23rd 2021


236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Checked it out based on your rec, definitely a solid slab of dungeon synth. A little forgettable with only a few moments that really stood out to me, but seems like there's a lot of potential here

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you enjoyed it, wayfaringstranger. Agreed 100%.



If you do check out the debut, let us know Pho3nix. Still haven't checked it.

Azazzel
April 25th 2021


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No clue if this is good or average but it was a comfy muzak vibe to read a book to, will have to check out some more dungeon synth

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2021


12235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's cool, man.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2021


5974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Okay, this is lot better than the previous.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy