Wode
Burn in Many Mirrors


4.0
excellent

Review

by Evok CONTRIBUTOR (45 Reviews)
April 17th, 2021 | 20 replies


Release Date: 04/02/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: black winged delirium.

Let's get one thing straight. If it wasn't glaringly obvious already, Wode aren't here to cater to the chorus of mamby-pamby nose-turners who exclusively listen to Kayo Dot or Deathspell Omega demos for a sense of self-congratulatory counterculturism. That sort of fluff is for midnight wanks with your socks on and lonely walks in the rain. "Keep it" I say, "I need a fix of prickly, chest-haired black metal with ironclad riffs, sharp teeth and a sleeveless attitude to get my gears going. Those fedora-donning ensembles of art school dropouts simply won't do." Now, if this brazen and off-the-cuff sentiment resonates with your inner cheap-beer drinker, then you, like I, need Wode. And you need them now. We all remember Jason Statham's cinematic masterpiece Crank, right? Good, because from there we can draw nearly a straight line between that timeless film's oeuvre and that of Burn In Many Mirrors. The adrenaline doesn't stop. It simply cannot, for the whole premise depends on it. Moreover, Wode's knack for embalming these sentiments on their latest offering with the braggadocio of tried-and-true kvltness sautéed with a sausage-fingered dash of NWOBHM riffage makes them the perfect candidates for soundtracking an "easy going evening with the mates" in the notoriously pretentious spheres of extreme metaldom.

Everything that made their last two efforts such brilliant exercises in unabashed badassery has been dialled up to eleven on their third full-length effort. The riffs are rattlesnake deadly, the mood is grim and bloodlusting, and the songwriting is tighter than a nun's you-know-what. Everything that counts in the world of Wode has been counted twice over on Burn In Many Mirrors; an album dripping with a sultry homage to everything that's made the last 30 years of extreme metal such a global phenom. Frosty black metal, melodic black metal, osdm, thrash metal, speed metal... it's all here, and it all combines into a surprisingly cohesive package once again. You can almost hear the jean jackets and leather boots ruffling through the speakers as these gruff Manchester boys rock their diddies, with shameless influence borrowed from everyone between Dissection and Obliteration. Timbres of epic conquest, occult summonings, scathing strife and sombre seasons are achieved through a fine balance of eschatonal tremolos, fervent drumming and a boldly roasted production job that lends itself well to the coveted real estate between raw and rich. It makes for an album that isn't just fun, but also replete with the kind of dynamism the beckons repeated playbacks. Through and through, it's a blast and a half that definitely spends less time fretting about the merits of innovation and quality journalism than you do, and we're all the better for it. Is Wode's newest incantation a timeless work of high art? For many, probably not, but where Burn In Many Mirrors falters at cementing itself as a bonafide mantlepiece, it more than succeeds in appeasing the restless legs of the metal gods themselves, and for that, we thank them.



Recent reviews by this author
Screamarts Endless Journey InwardsRY X and London Contemporary Orchestra Live From The Royal Albert Hall
Hyperdontia Nexus of TeethNubya Garcia SOURCE
Uada DjinnWounds of Recollection Nowhere Else Feels More Like Home
user ratings (57)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Evok
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2021


8383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My review might suck, but the album sure as hell doesn't. Cop it here..



https://listen.20buckspin.com/album/burn-in-many-mirrors

parksungjoon
April 17th 2021


30896 Comments


hmm

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

parksungjoon
April 17th 2021


30896 Comments


review doesnt suck tho

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2021


8383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Park, idk, it feels half-assed by my own standards, but I really like Wode and I've been having horrid writer's block lately, so I had to get something out to grease the brain gears back up.

parksungjoon
April 17th 2021


30896 Comments


i know exactly what you mean man

parksungjoon
April 17th 2021


30896 Comments


wish i could help, i struggle with this a lot myself

just writing probably helps... evne if some things remain as drafts you can still come back later

zelenichajnik
April 17th 2021


618 Comments


Oh shit fuck heck yes new Wode

up there with Wallfahrer for 'quality no-bullshit black metal'

botb
April 18th 2021


14480 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys have some killer riffs on this. Super solid

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2021


14058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So very glad this got a review. 20 Buck Spin know no suck.



Liking your review (not my usual style - need another 600ish words to get me going etc etc/this is not a direct crit etc etc). I would however change:



Kayo Dot and Deathspell Omega demos to "or"



Wode's knack for embalming these sentiments with the braggadocio of tried-and-true kvltness sautéed with a sausage-fingered dash of NWOBHM riffage...



Wode or the album?



in the notoriously pretentious spheres of extreme metaldom.



Nice.



with shameless influence borrowed from everyone between Dissection and Obliteration



Great name drops, but could we expand - some examples would be super nice.









Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

parksungjoon
April 18th 2021


30896 Comments


yea a bit more about the music itself would be gucci

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2021


14058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

quality journalism than you do



You, as in the listener right? This is kind of bold and irksome but I could be assuming too much here.



Is Wode's newest incantation a timeless work of high art? For many, probably not,



Bit of a cop-out no?



Great final line.





Mind Pos'd - these are all super little nit-pics. Well done.

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2021


8383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Appreciate the feedback. I know my reviews are usually far from being this lowbrow. If I get some time today I'll tidy it up. If not, here's to hoping the next one flows out a bit easier! Can't win 'em all

bloc
April 20th 2021


65448 Comments


Nothing groundbreaking on this, but really solid stuff so far

Digging: Anthony1 / Exodia / Sienna Sleep - Ateriavia

FabiusPictor202
April 20th 2021


857 Comments


hi Wode, Im Wald

ZippaThaRippa
April 20th 2021


10630 Comments


First time I've felt like Wode has written an actually good album and not just one or two good songs.

Dedes
April 20th 2021


7659 Comments


This sounds like it fucks
Nice review gonna jam rn

zaruyache
April 21st 2021


23850 Comments


metal BLACK m//////

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Sweet rev Evok, album fvcks

Digging: Arabrot - Norwegian Gothic

Egarran
April 22nd 2021


22369 Comments


Amazing review.

Digging: Kauan - Ice Fleet

hangth3dj
April 30th 2021


71 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, enjoying the record so far.



Streams Of Rapture is a banger.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy