Saccades
Flowing Fades


3.5
great

Review

by Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (25 Reviews)
April 12th, 2021 | 30 replies


Release Date: 04/09/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An unassuming summer soundtrack

Saccades is a side project of British musician Nicholas Wood, best known as a member of the wall-of-sound post punk group The KVB. Flowing Fades is Saccades’ second effort, following a self-titled release in 2017. While the debut marked a lighter, more indie-leaning departure from The KVB’s trademark style, Flowing Fades sees Saccades moving even further into the light. Dreamy, psych-tinged compositions are the order of the day, with sun-drenched, easily accessible melodies predominating. Flowing Fades does maintain a few connections to The KVB through the vital presence of synths and periodically darker lyrics.

Flowing Fades’ album artwork feels instructive. The color scheme suggests light and warmth, which evokes the summery vibes of the releases’ songs, while the portrayed edifice calls to mind an anonymous resort on the US southern gulf coast (or given Saccades’ European origins, some coastal getaway on the Mediterranean). This feels appropriate, both because Flowing Fades seems to stylistically be an ode to the summer, and because some of the album’s grimmer lyrical moments seem to ponder the inability of momentary hedonism to fulfill a meaningless existence.

The album consists of twelve songs adding up to just under forty minutes of runtime. The mostly short length of the tunes here works well with the material, as they are generally acceptably catchy but somewhat repetitive little numbers. In the few cases of tracks running longer than four minutes (for example, the closer “Lady Blue”), their welcome is sometimes sadly overstayed. There are a few highlights, notably the smooth opener “Islands Past”, which sees Saccades at their most Real Estate-esque, the shimmering “Like Everyday”, and the bouncy title track, but overall Saccades have crafted an easy-going work best taken in as a whole. The results are a sunny-day experience unlikely to offend any ears, but with enough moodiness to reward a closer listen.

All in all, Flowing Fades feels like a step forward for Saccades. The LP seems designed as a companion piece for summer escapism, and there are throngs ready for just such a style as the weather gets warmer and the world slowly emerges from the pandemic. Don’t expect a classic, but if a series of mellow and soothingly sunny tunes floats your boat, look no further.



Recent reviews by this author
Beachy Head Beachy HeadMonobody Comma
The Vintage Caravan MonumentsDohlmen Dohlmen
Mythic Sunship WildfireThe Antlers Green to Gold
user ratings (6)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Quick review for a nice little album which will probably sound even better in a few months!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sunny did ur contrib contract come with the obligation to exclusively review albums with the prettiest cover art?

great stuff as always, will probs check since i could do with some more summer escapism

Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, thanks Jesper! I do seem to gravitate towards albums with beautiful artwork (but no contractual obligations, sorry to disappoint).



I'd definitely recommend checking this, seems like something you may enjoy. Let me know what you think!

WatchItExplode
April 12th 2021


8741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This us super chill wavy stuff for sure.

Digging: Sumo Cyco - Initiation

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@WatchItExplode, yep, very chill stuff. Really hits in a certain mood for me.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this was really smooth! bit overlong but i reckon i'll come back to this a bunch

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you enjoyed it, Jesper!

WatchItExplode
April 12th 2021


8741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Small black from this week was also similary chill and enjoyable

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll have to check that one, hadn't heard of it but looks intriguing

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2021


14070 Comments


sunny did ur contrib contract come with the obligation to exclusively review albums with the prettiest cover art? [2]

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2021


7831 Comments


aight this sound chill

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What can I say, Nocte? I guess I'm a sucker for some great artwork



@dedex, yes, quite a chill album

butt.
April 13th 2021


8758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely digging this. Second listen right now. There are probably hundreds of albums that sound like this, but this is slightly better than the average one. Sometimes you just need a nice chill summery album and that’s exactly what we’ve got here.



Anybody who likes this NEEDS to listen to If I Am Only My Thoughts by Loving. Came out last year and it is just lovely.

WatchItExplode
April 13th 2021


8741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree that they share vibes butt...that album is deeply rooted in folk while this poppy/synthy though

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2021


2292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad to hear it, @butt.



I like that Loving album, definitely has a similar sunny texture to it even if it doesn't really sound alike.

butt.
April 13th 2021


8758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely different, but both hit that sunny afternoon vibe

WatchItExplode
April 13th 2021


8741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sunny day at the outlet mall versus Sunny day on the hiking trail

MrSirLordGentleman
April 13th 2021


13929 Comments


love the artwork

butt.
April 13th 2021


8758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@WatchItExplode Lol not sure I can agree with the outlet mall part. Both would be great to listen to while chillin in the hammock in my backyard

WatchItExplode
April 13th 2021


8741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that sounds truly ideal for both



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy