Greg Puciato
Child Soldier: Creator of God


4.5
superb

Review

by Zac124 USER (50 Reviews)
April 8th, 2021 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist


Greg Puciato is a vocalist who is most notably known for being in the frantic and chaotic band, The Dillinger Escape Plan while also being part of other projects such as the synth-pop group, The Black Queen, and the supergroup, Killer Be Killed. His solo debut album feels like a mash-up of all of his previously named projects while still adding new and interesting sounds to the mix.

One of the most evident achievements on this album was that he managed to mix up so many different genres of music while making the album stay somewhat cohesive as he took inspiration from synth-pop, mathcore, grunge and more. Songs like Deep Set feel reminiscent of his work in The Dillinger Escape Plan while adding grunge to the blend. It starts with a chunky, yet groovy bassline that leads to Greg Puciato's fantastic vocals. The songs also shows his range as he jumps from intense screams to gritty cleans. Similarly, Roach Hiss features some visceral screams that remind me of Limerent Death. The song is also by far the heaviest on the album with it's fierce guitar riffs. His more synth-pop focused tracks are also just as good, if not better than his heavier songs. Temporary Object proves that he can make some catchy and engaging songs that nobody could possibly dislike and A Pair of Questions is an especially calming listen as well as being one of the most memorable tracks on the album.

In the song Down When I'm Not, we hear Greg Puciato experiment with a pop-punk sort of sound. While he does succeed in creating a song with a good hook, the song does falter by being pretty repetitive. The songs Creator of God and Do You Need Me to Remind You? are both great but their enjoyability are lessened with outros that last way too long. Thankfully the album finishes with the fantastic 1-2 punch that is Heartfree and September City. Heartfree is a great example of the biggest positive that I have with the album which is Greg Puciato's skilful vocals. The middle section of the song feature his most impressive performance in his clean singing to this date and then the songs fades into a relaxing piano segment. The closing track, September City, begins as Heartfree left off with a calming opening but then leads into a heavy and momentous end that creates the perfect closer for the album.

Overall, the album is fantastic as it holds multiple different genres that create a mostly cohesive experience and brilliant vocals (whether he is singing or screaming). However, some songs do have minor issues that worsen them with each listen but it never gets too bad as the songs never become a chore to go through.

MY TOP 5 SONGS:
1. Heartfree
2. Temporary Object
3. Deep Set
4. A Pair of Questions
5. Roach Hiss



Recent reviews by this author
Blue Oyster Cult Ghost StoriesBegotten (CAN) To The Dreary End
Valdrin Throne of the Lunar SoulPsychedelic Porn Crumpets Fronzoli
The Callous Daoboys God Smiles Upon the Callous DaoboysThe Hirsch Effekt Eskapist
user ratings (234)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Beware NO TWINKCORE here, real metal only goddamnit! (they/she) (4.5)
"Don't you and I belong?"...

related reviews

Mirrorcell


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
April 8th 2021


18421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid little writeup, this clicked for me in a big way the other day. I'm glad there aren't too many electronic cuts to interrupt the flow and September City is an immense closer.

botb
April 8th 2021


17771 Comments


I totally forgot this came out. Gotta check

BallsToTheWall
April 8th 2021


51216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Heartfree still my SOTY.

Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


9951 Comments


Greg Puciato is a god. Nice review my dude! I'll prolly jam sometime this weekend

DavidYowi
April 9th 2021


3512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad to see the avg go up. Nice review!

JWT155
April 9th 2021


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't know how Evacuation didn't make your top songs, I think it's the best song on the record.

Teal
April 12th 2021


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to re-listen to this album. I love dynamic albums, but this one came across just a little toooooooo disjointed for my liking. It's still solid and there's some definite highlights here. I'd just prefer a few songs trimmed off to make the whole thing a little more cohesive.

TetraVaal
April 18th 2021


337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lk4vJ_KprOI



So good.

Scoot
July 24th 2021


22188 Comments


fireflies is such a vibe

Ashtiel
July 24th 2021


1469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

some of the songs here have become so fuckin important to me in the last year, especially "A Pair of Questions", "Heartfree", and "Evacuation"...i really need to get off my ass and listen to Dillinger.

DavidYowi
July 24th 2021


3512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

“Heaven waits for you”

Lasssie
July 24th 2021


1619 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

was kinda worried this would be sucky, but goddamn Greg does no wrong

Edit: why does this album give me the vibes that it is the kind of album NIN wished they could make, tries to make, but never succeeds in making? lol

ParoXysm
December 12th 2021


220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I made a double album kinda playlist on Spotify adding the Fuck Content songs and split up the rockier stuff on one side and the more softer electronic stuff on the other side. Makes for a great listen:



1. Heaven of Stone

2. Fire For Water

3. Deep Set

4. Don't Wanna Deal

5. Absence as a Presence

6. Do You Need Me to Remind You?

7. Roach Hiss

8. Crazy All Around

9. Down When I'm Not

10. September City



1. You, Staring at You, Staring At Me

2. Creator of God

3. Temporary Object

4. Fireflies

5. You Know I Do

6. Through the Walls

7. A Pair of Questions

8. Heartfree

9. Lying at the Bottom of the Sky

10. Evacuation

Scoot
February 28th 2022


22188 Comments


new track rules

Zac124
February 28th 2022


2607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it is great. I am really excited for his new album.

Tunaboy45
March 7th 2022


18421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

new track is Watch the Throne for Revolver readers

DavidYowi
March 7th 2022


3512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lmfao

AlexKzillion
April 17th 2022


17116 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"new track is Watch the Throne for Revolver readers"



holy shit lmao



as for this album... all the tracks are good to great but the flow is all over the place and im not sure all the genre hopping works. the more electronic based tracks are straight flames tho and i hope he goes all in on that direction on an album in the future

Prancer
April 17th 2022


1599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea the cuts on here that sound more black queen-esque are definitely the highlights

TheWr3tched
May 12th 2022


491 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Roach Hiss is heavy as fuck, damn.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy