Maria BC
Devil's Rain


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trifolium USER (18 Reviews)
April 7th, 2021 | 18 replies


Release Date: 02/05/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Introspective intimacy.

A mournful, softly played electric guitar drenched in reverb and a dreamy voice. Sometimes this is all you need. On their debut EP, New York City-based musician Maria BC shows how these two ingredients are worth more than enough, even in 2021. Or should I say, especially in 2021? After a year of worldwide lockdowns during the covid pandemic, a short but sweet album filled to the brim with introspective intimacy might just be what the world needs. Across these five quiet tracks, Maria BC provides us with just that: a comfortable space to get lost in, padded with daydream-inducing guitar, but in the end entirely revolving around their softly sung lines. Their voice reminds me of Elizabeth Fraser sometimes, just listen to those first few beautiful melodies at the start of the title track. Sea Oleena is another quite obvious resemblance. Next to these easily notifiable dream pop qualities, there are moments that resemble female fronted heavier music as well. Think Grouper or even Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering). This becomes especially apparent in the final track, the gorgeous The Deal. There even is a surprise at the end, listen for yourself to find out what it is, this short EP is totally worth your time.



Recent reviews by this author
Underworld Beaucoup FishGabriel Rios Flore
Sungrazer SungrazerAn Pierle and White Velvet An Pierle and White Velvet
RX-101 SerenityUlver Teachings In Silence
user ratings (5)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
April 7th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

An ultra-short word for this ultra-sweet EP. Hope you'll check this, dear reader! It can be found here:

https://mariabc.bandcamp.com/album/devils-rain-2

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2021


2194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice little review! Will definitely check this, looks right up my alley

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2021


7531 Comments


ooooo nice lil one Trif

Digging: Andy Stott - Never the Right Time

Trifolium
April 7th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hope you dig Sunnyvale!



Hi dedex!

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome review! Short, but tells me exactly what this album’s all about. I’ll have to check it out... I’m always on the hunt for more dream pop 😊

normaloctagon
April 7th 2021


5129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

beautiful little rev trif, will check sounds like something i might enjoy

Trifolium
April 7th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you and you! I really loved this little thing, heard it four times on repeat or something today.

Trifolium
April 8th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This seems good for morning listening!



EDIT: It indeed is.

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So yeah, this is gorgeous

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Btw trif, have you ever listened to Psalms by Arbes? I reviewed that EP back in 2016, and it’s basically this kind of sound with a backing band behind it and even more vocal reverb. Beautiful stuff

Trifolium
April 8th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yesss! Glad you liked it too! We shouldn't change anything about the m/-ness of the rating graph any more.



I haven't heard any Arbes, but I'll certainly check it, I need more in this vein always 💞

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://youtu.be/5ZwHmFFRaDo



Here’s a link to the album for when you wanna check them out :]

Trifolium
April 8th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, am now checking a weirdo bluesy album, these Arbes people will be up next.

Trifolium
April 8th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok I LOVE this, I hope Maria will release a full length at some point. Would be lovely. 80 minutes of this please.

bludngorevidal
April 8th 2021


130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wonderful potential on the EP but not enough meat for me to grab onto. I imagine with a full length release Maria BC (who uses they/them pronouns according to bandcamp) could really knock my sox off. patiently waiting

Trifolium
April 8th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"who uses they/them pronouns according to bandcamp"



Oh I didn't even know that, I'll adjust my review accordingly tomorrow, when I'm behind a computer again. Thanks for notifying me about this!

bludngorevidal
April 8th 2021


130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Trifolium, no problem! Solid write-up, pos'd. Seems like the EP evoked similar feelings in the both of us, I just want more

Trifolium
April 9th 2021


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fixed! And thanks, and I can imagine that yes. Let's hope a potential next record will be more to your liking.



Now for another spin of this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy