'68
Give One Take One


3.5
great

Review

by ian b CONTRIBUTOR (9 Reviews)
April 4th, 2021 | 36 replies


Release Date: 03/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Scogin in stasis.

I’m not going to lie, when it comes to the general consensus of what I’ve seen since its release, you are all still sleeping on Two Parts Viper, and thus are deemed tasteless wretches of society to me (and yes that is the hill on which I’ll die honorably), just to get that out of the way, but anyways Uh. When it came to preparing for my review of Josh Scogin and Nikko Yamada’s new slapsterpiece, I was coming to a struggle of how exactly to put into the right words of how this album really resonates with me. It’s not Josh Scogin’s next step forward, but don’t get it twisted, this record is executed greatly on almost every front; it’s just the sound of Josh Scogin getting perhaps too comfortable with his own sound. And before you start commenting about “well ian! you silly goofy doodoo head, it’s a ‘68 record, of course it’s gonna sound like Josh Scogin getting more invested into his own personal sound palette you silly goose!” and to that I respond, 1) shut the fuck up my dad works for Microsoft, as well as 2) yeah you’re right; my opinion there is arguably uhhhh completely invalid. But the reason I bring it up is not to say Give One Take One should be held to such standard. It’s just that since Scogin seemed to perfect his formula on their previous release, so what else was there to really do other than to keep exploring that sound? The guitars still ring, the cymbals both crash and burn with the force of a thousand suns, but besides what feels like “Josh Scogin Mad Libs” for song lyrics and new tricks from the same bag, as a fan I still feel like there’s something missing to me. Though at the same time, there’s nothing that really genuinely misses on this record at the same time, it just doesn’t have the standout moments like the break in “No Apologies,” the groove and catchiness of “Whether Terrified or Unafraid,” or the cathartic climax like “What More Can I Say?” or even some of the hits off their debut. It just felt like I was listening to Josh Scogin and [insert ambiguous drummer name here] run through the rounds of what “a typical ‘68 album” would be, but didn’t come out with something truly gripping despite its impeccable recording/production job, and consequently leaves me feeling like I’ve missed something, or there’s something that’s not clicking with me that should, but with all that being said, it’s still a ‘68 record, and a goddamn banging one it is.



Recent reviews by this author
6 dogs RONALD.A Day To Remember You're Welcome
Playboi Carti Whole Lotta RedLil Peep crybaby
Lil Peep Lil Peep Part OneLil Peep HELLBOY
user ratings (56)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
ian b
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2021


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

did someone order a half baked soundoff? i hope so because i threw up on my keyboard in the middle of writing this and that's not just a metaphor for how poorly structured this review is B)

Digging: Meat Computer and KirbLaGoop - Goop Computer

BookoftheFallen
April 4th 2021


530 Comments


hmmm ill have to listen to this. I liked norma jean and the chariot but never got around to listening to 68.

MusicinaBox
April 4th 2021


798 Comments


Holy run on sentence Batman.

MusicinaBox
April 4th 2021


798 Comments


Also was really turned off by the vocals on my first listen. Will give another go cuz last album was excellent

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2021


13800 Comments


i threw up on my keyboard in the middle of writing this


wait actually

Digging: My Bloody Valentine - m b v

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2021


2823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hope ur (keyboard is) ok ian

album is fun but also their weakest, agreed

Digging: Lunation Fall - Near

Scoot
April 4th 2021


20530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's not as good as the first two but still a rip roarin good time



i miss the chariot though

Digging: Yesduke - Yesduke

ian b
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2021


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Holy run on sentence Batman."



"hope ur (keyboard is) ok ian"



both of these are [un]surprisingly related, but simultaneously not really, considering this is what came out. oh well, at least this has a thread now lol

ian b
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2021


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fun fact: with every review i post, my brain cell count halves and im scared whats gonna happen when i get back up into the double digits !!!!

Pikazilla
April 4th 2021


15545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

#bringbackchariot

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2021


24228 Comments


I can tell you what happens when you get to 3 digits, and it's not fun brother.

Good shorty dude, you could trim a bit of fat but it reads good to me as is. I don't know if I'll check this one then.

Digging: Spectral Wound - A Diabolic Thirst

FoozerFan
April 5th 2021


19 Comments


nice tight review, stoked to see some two parts viper love, i still think that's a fantastic record that never gets enough love. been meaning to get to this for a while, prob gonna give a first listen tonight

XingKing
April 5th 2021


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really love the previous two lps but this is severely underwhelming to me right now

Veldin
April 5th 2021


4343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://www.kerrang.com/features/josh-scogins-track-by-track-guide-to-68s-new-album-give-one-take-one/

ian b
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2021


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bold of you to assume that i have the motivation to copy and paste that link into another tab, let alone read it smh

Pajolero
April 5th 2021


1164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this isn't bad per se, but I can't remember a single thing about it an hour after listening to it.

Digging: Armand Hammer & The Alchemist - Haram

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2021


7579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

album is fun but also their weakest, agreed [2]



i like dem shorty reviews

Digging: Monobody - Comma

SteakByrnes
April 5th 2021


23252 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea this one is pretty underwhelming, no desire to return to it either

Digging: Hail the Sun - New Age Filth

XingKing
April 5th 2021


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with that. There's something obnoxious about this record

Wildcardbitchesss
April 6th 2021


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'68 already made a masterpiece with Two Parts Viper, I'm fine with them dipping a little bit in quality as long as they keep playing live shows.

Just so goddamned entertaining.

cool review, pretty much exactly the way I feel about this record.

Digging: The Armed - Ultrapop



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy