World Peace
Come And See


3.5
great

Review

by Asleep: [on the forest floor] STAFF
March 30th, 2021 | 22 replies


Release Date: 03/01/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: LOUD NOISES

So WORLD PEACE just dropped a 10-minute 20-song BEAST of an old-school grindcore circa powerviolence LP featuring a couple of very angry gentlemen screaming something convoluted about our lord and saviour Jesus Christ to an equally angry bass guitar and there are also drums but there is no guitar as presumably the band forgot to hire someone qualified to make the riffs because they were too busy being heavy as GOSH-darn shit but anyway the album does that predictably unpredictable PV heavy thing real good whilst channeling this sort of crunchy addictive pounding pulsating primal rhythmic thing by virtue of the bass and drums mashing and meshing and moshing around one another for fervent 30-second messy manic mangled stints that can get a little tiring but are over before you realise and then you’re left craving more of that barbaric breakneck bullish beatdown babbling boisterous bullshit and then you also realise you no longer appreciate songs that exceed 53-seconds in length and as such all other reasonably LOUD music has become comparatively quiet and/or soft and/or redundant and/or obsolete and yeah anyway I just thought you should know.




Recent reviews by this author
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO PromisesGenghis Tron Dream Weapon
God's Hate God's HateKing Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard L. W.
Fire! DefeatGod Is an Astronaut Ghost Tapes #10
user ratings (14)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

please don't feature this it's not very good but the music is good and i think you should listen to it if you like music that all merges into one but also sounds distinct and varied and unlike most things that the genre has to offer and it goes chug and it goes chuggachugga and it's real spicy and engaging and makes you feel like you're hearing it live in some shitty beaten up pub where the bass kick feels like a landmine going through your chest and makes you wanna punch plasterboard and then you do punch plasterboard and it feels good man i mean it feels really good and you just listen to it over and over and over and it fucks up your scrobbles because all the tracks are like 25 seconds long and that kinda pisses you off but then you listen to the record again and you smile because you know that there are some real swell dudes in California making the good music and that's a good thing and then you pick up your own guitar and try make similar music and you can't and you become sad the end

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


13918 Comments


Single para beauty.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2021


7430 Comments


Single sentence beauty.

Digging: Andy Stott - Never the Right Time

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


13918 Comments


On metacritic when?

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i hope this will remain my highest and lowest point as a staffer for years to come

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


13918 Comments


you have many highs to come my child.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2021


2780 Comments


lol this is amazing and i love it a lot

good to see you've joined the catbois nocte (is that a cat? it is now)

Digging: half/cut - Salt an Atlas

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


34683 Comments


pwrmv = apprv

Digging: Xiu Xiu - OH NO

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tnx jhny b

Gyromania
March 30th 2021


32213 Comments


Winterfell is mine, bastard, come and see.
Your brother Rickon is in my dungeon. His direwolf's skin is on my floor, come and see. Then I will spoon your eyes from their sockets and let my dogs do the rest. Come and see.

botb
March 30th 2021


14405 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This band is pretty cool, will give this a spin.

Sniff
March 31st 2021


6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually it pwns

Digging: Nasvikensmaffian - It's Hamre Time

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2021


24160 Comments


Thought about doing smth like this for the Gravesend album last month but eventually chickened out.

Glad someone had the balls and the chops to do it right lol

Digging: Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO - Promises

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol cheers Dewi < 3



my last write up took it out of me, i needed a dumb and stream of consciousness type thing to reset i think

botb
March 31st 2021


14405 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is somewhere between a 3 and 3.5 for me. Lacking in memorable hooks but well executed

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tbf if they managed to fit anything closely resembling a hook into those 15 second songs i'd be damn impressed. the intro and In Excelsis Deo/Atrophied Muscles of Atlas have some chunky bois tho.

botb
April 1st 2021


14405 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah it’s tricky to do in the genre but bands like sex prisoner and despise you are killer at it

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will check them out, cheers

Minushuman24
April 2nd 2021


4667 Comments


This is pretty neat

CaliggyJack
April 3rd 2021


5868 Comments


Christian Punk!?

I WANT



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy