Ra
Intercorrupted


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gmork89 USER (5 Reviews)
March 19th, 2021 | 22 replies


Release Date: 03/19/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sun god shines down on Ra fans with Intercorrupted.

Every time a new Ra album comes out, it feels like a treasure to me, I always expect their new release to possibly be their last one. Their unique brand of hard rock, with an extra pinch of soul, a few more dashes of creativity, and a front man in Sahaj Ticotin with one of the most unique voices in the genre, seem to always fly under the radar even after releasing strong albums one after another.

With Intercorrupted, Ra have traded most of their Nu-Metal angst of yesteryear, for a much more pop oriented sound, and the result is stunning. Sahaj has always had a knack for writing captivating choruses and melodies, and here he is able to shine in full force with possibly his best vocal performances to date. If you have any love for pop and hard rock (think more in the vein of Fair to Midland when I say hard rock, than a Chevelle), there will be a lot here to love. Tracks like Enough, with perhaps their strongest Chorus since some of their classic tracks on From One, Nobody Loves You, featuring Lajon from Sevendust, creates a heavily R&B leaning track that I just don't know how you couldn't love, I also had fear about the track "Lets go to Mexico", but it ended up being incredibly infectious.

Another aspect of this album that surprised me, is the focus and consistency, there is no rapping or overtly pop pandering tracks like in the past, the pop influence is perfectly fused into the Ra sound here like it belonged there from the beginning. That's not AT ALL to say the classic Ra sound is not to be found here, tracks like Jezebel, Divided, I Can't Go On, and Let it Lie, all have driving djent inspired riffs with infusions of the classic Ra sounds, with middle eastern vocal melodies and riffs that break through to solidify that these are Ra songs through and through. If there were ever a track to rival fan favorite Sky, it would be "Somewhere Beautiful", ending the record on an extremely high note, with an epic chorus, beautiful guitar solo, and Sahaj at the top of his game, this song is a love letter to everything fans adore about this band.

Ra are back in a big way with this release, it's just a damn fun and consistent album with an excellent vibe. I’d say front to back this could be their most consistent release thus far.

I think it’s high time the sun shines stronger on Ra.


user ratings (18)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
pizzamachine (5)
Groovy AF!...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Gmork89
March 19th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not the most solid review but I wanted to get it out there on release day, personal 4.5 but probably an objective 4 so far, really excited about this album, hope you all enjoy!

pizzamachine
March 19th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Totally agree about Something Beautiful being their next Sky. LOVE that song!!! Fantastic album.

Gmork89
March 19th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's such a good closer, loving this album m/

Toondude10
March 19th 2021


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I liked this at first but the more I listened to it the more uninterested I got, "Jezebel" still rules though

Gmork89
March 19th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough man! How do you feel about Somewhere Beautiful? Gave me the classic Ra vibes for sure.

Toondude10
March 19th 2021


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

sounds like a slight better version of a Starset song tbh, it's not bad but eh

Gmork89
March 19th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't listened to Starset before to be honest, it sounded wholly Ra to me other than the electronics. Ill have to compare to them and see.

Toondude10
March 19th 2021


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Imagine Breaking Benjamin but an incredible over-reliance on Celldweller-like electronic effects



granted it's not as overblown/pretentious as your normal Starset song tbf, in fact Sahaj sounds a lot like Dustin Bates at times, though at least Sahaj can actually sing.

Observer
Emeritus
March 19th 2021


8968 Comments


never tried this band but might as well

Gmork89
March 19th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good to hear, I wish more people would at least give them a shot. Hope you like it.





@Toon - Interesting im going to check it out, they do sound pretty similar, in Enough I actually wasn't sure who was singing the first chorus.

pizzamachine
March 20th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sahaj has produced albums and wrote songs for Starset so yes, some of Ra’s style is definitely in there...

AaroN911
March 22nd 2021


3000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dang this isn't on Band Camp or Pandora... also not uploaded on youtube anywhere yet...

Gmork89
March 22nd 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Most of the songs are on Ras official Youtube channel now.

autoNamed
March 23rd 2021


118 Comments


Haven't jammed these guys since getting From One for christmas in 2002. That album ripped back in 8th grade

AaroN911
March 23rd 2021


3000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

fuck it, bought the album on iTunes, I know at the very least I will enjoy it and they deserve all the support they can get. Tried looking more up on the album and other bands/artists kept popping up.

AaroN911
March 24th 2021


3000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think it can go up to a 3.5 but as of right now it's just an enjoyable listen and nothing more... and I am trying not to compare it to their earlier works either.

pizzamachine
March 25th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It’s enjoyable but you only rate it 3??? 😂

Toondude10
March 25th 2021


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I mean a 3 still means "good"

Gmork89
March 25th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess im just biased to their sound for some reason, I feel like this is a really strong entertaining album, diverse, well produced, catchy yet still has deeper emotional moments. I see other bands in this genre that to me sound way more bland and boring get high ratings off of redundant releases one after another, it's a great mystery to me haha. I think maybe I just found these guys when I was young and am just really partial to their sound, truly don't understand the lack of appreciation for them.

Gmork89
March 25th 2021


8166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is like a perfect middle ground to me between something more traditionally hard rock like Breaking Benjamin or Alterbridge, and something more eclectic and fun/diverse like Fair to Midland, it's an absolute hit for me and really the only band I listen to in this genre anymore other that FtM.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy