God's Hate
God's Hate


3.4
great

Review

by While She Sleeps: [in the back] STAFF
March 13th, 2021 | 39 replies


Release Date: 03/12/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Anger as an aesthetic.

God’s Hate are pissed, I think. The gnashing, thrashing beatdown riffage splattered across their self-titled LP would seem to suggest so, though I’m not entirely convinced. Maybe it’s the obvious intentionality behind their reprisal of snotty 90s Troy-core that imparts their latest effort with just a hint of insincerity, smacking of a calculated retelling of the anger of another generation rather than a spontaneous rebellion of their own. Indeed, given that the band’s co-founder/vocalist moonlights as a professional wrestler, it’s perhaps unsurprising that their sophomore performance feels somewhat staged. The thing is though, I’m not sure I really care, and, quite frankly, neither should you. Despite the mildly-manufactured edge to their sound, what’s far from fake is this: God’s Hate by God’s Hate is goddamn, goshdarn fun.

The building blocks of the Californian 6-piece’s sound are easy enough to list off: truculent schoolboy lyricism (check), ‘uge monster-truck riffs (check) and more goofy TV samples than your average Aborted record (double-check). Thankfully, however, there is much more to God’s Hate’s wayward house of hXc than meets the eye. Not only is their playing incredibly tight - multifaceted riffs wrapped tightly around machine-gun drum-work, warping from breakdown to solo to chorus without skipping a beat - but each song benefits from an actual audible structure (wow, who’d have thought?!). Modern hardcore’s growing tendency to senselessly string breakdowns together is completely disregarded, with God’s Hate favouring an antiquated but satisfying return to a verse-chorus-verse-‘oh-shiiii-it’s-time-to-windmill’ framework. The controlled demolition of “Six Feet Deep” and “Eternity of Hate” is an excellent case in point, each barnburner rattling through whammy-bar solos, indignant chugging and invigorating sing-along hooks at breakneck speed whilst remaining headbobbingly accessible. It’s textured and nuanced without sacrificing an iota of the meatheaded aggression that makes their return to that much-maligned chapter of hardcore so satisfying. There’s even a nod to straight thrash on the nastier moments of “Violence Unlimited” and “War Man”, both sticking staunchly to their lane of sweaty hardcore whilst paying due respect to the group’s more metallic influences.

Sporting such poetic musings as “Remember you should be fucking dead, bitch” and “Life is hard, be harder”, it’d be easy to write off God’s Hate as a tacky throwback to an outdated, outmoded sound. Give it a moment, however, and the lads’ latest outing reveals itself as one of the most entertaining romps of 2021 so far. Smothered in cheese it may be, but a welcome blast from the past it surely is, one no doubt as heart-pounding and eviscerating as anything those GODDAMN whippersnappers are churning out these days. Sure, it ain’t new noise, but it is still noise, and, if you ask me, that’s pretty hard to refuse.




Recent reviews by this author
While She Sleeps Sleeps SocietyFloating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO Promises
World Peace Come And SeeGenghis Tron Dream Weapon
King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard L. W.Fire! Defeat
user ratings (36)
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2021


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

My first official staff write up is a lil quick and dirty, like the record.



Is fun. Promise.

Gyromania
March 13th 2021


32274 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

nice review

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2021


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Cheers. Wait, hold up ... someone fetch the ban hammer, we got a 1.5 up in here



Totally get why you may not have vibed with this tbh, I have a feeling it's a bit of a marmite LP

loveisamixtape
March 13th 2021


10109 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

not a fan tbh too sweaty

Gyromania
March 13th 2021


32274 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

can't stand the vox and not into the music much either. but it's cool other people dig it!

bloc
March 13th 2021


65235 Comments


Sweet album art

Digging: Chaka Khan - What 'Cha Gonna Do for Me

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2021


2823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice imma give this a shot!

2nd para is pure gold, "verse-chorus-verse-‘oh-shiiii-it’s-time-to-windmill’ framework." lmaoo hype

Digging: Lunation Fall - Near

Calc
March 13th 2021


16705 Comments


yeah, did not dig this unfortunately

Digging: The Armed - Ultrapop

jouroboros
March 13th 2021


97 Comments


No one gonna comment on that sly nod to the Refused at the end there? Haha. Nice

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2021


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I felt like I shoehorned it in a bit but glad someone appreciated it haha



Seems like I'm alone in my enjoyment of this, rip. Someone come be my friend.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2021


2823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ngl i opened their spotify to jam this and was instantly turned off by the bro energy radiating from their banner lmao

but am listening rn!

FabiusPictor202
March 13th 2021


639 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good review, can't get into this though

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - Violence Unimagined

FabiusPictor202
March 13th 2021


639 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"ngl i opened their spotify to jam this and was instantly turned off by the bro energy radiating from their banner lmao but am listening rn!"



it's going to be more of the same just fyi.

kevbogz
March 13th 2021


2960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good fun but hella antiquated

Digging: Whirr - Feels Like You

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2021


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

They do be oozing that insufferable dudebro energy and are working with 30 year old ideas but if you can get past that it's pre fun

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2021


2823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha yea this is super manly men masculine tm, didn't mind it too much in the background while ploughing through some work stuff tho lol. also it's essentially harm's way with a worse vocalist and less satisfying breakdownz

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2021


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Thats interesting, cause I can't stand harms way lol. Maybe I need to revisit them.

loveisamixtape
March 13th 2021


10109 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yes harms way isolation is a much better take on this and honestly one of the only good ones lol

JasonCarne
March 14th 2021


1156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The hatemosh is strong with this one, Sput just doesn't like hardcore unless it's shit like Counterparts.

loveisamixtape
March 14th 2021


10109 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

stupid take but that's fine i guess



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy