Screamarts
Endless Journey Inwards


4.0
excellent

Review

by Evok CONTRIBUTOR (44 Reviews)
March 11th, 2021 | 23 replies


Release Date: 02/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I scream, you scream, we all scream for Screamarts.

Far from the rolling-neuro influence that often permeates Screamarts' modus operandi, the opening tune "Time" kicks things off in a rather restrained fashion. It's akin to, let's say, a hypermodernist rendition of something from Need For Mirrors' Swim LP, with rich pad stabs holding the lush, velvet structure together. It's wafty, and might have felt a bit gutless if it weren't for the nuanced sub-bass treatment that splices itself onto the main movements; a quality renders this opener a perfect example of how less is often more when it comes to quality sound design. Sure, Screamarts is a fairly new name in the drum & bass scene, but he's got all the talent to keep rising, and if the contrast between the opening pair of tracks tells anyone anything, it's that this Austrian producer has the chops to play it subtle, or in the case of the titular track, dive deep into the rollers game with the very best of them.

Evidently, it seems signing to Flexout Audio was a natural step forward, and a smart one too, as the label has been rotating some of the best 170bpm releases of the past half-decade. A stiff parliament of contemporaries to be certain, but his label debut fits right in, and shows the rising producer attacking drum & bass from all angles. Endless Journey Inwards, with "Chase Me Around" flexing the man's neurofunk roots six ways to Sunday and "New Technique" putting in work as one of 2021's heaviest rollers to date, covers a lot of ground in its short 5 tune runtime. While it's all part-and-parcel with the current sounds of the scene, Screamarts keeps things dynamic enough to stand above the crowd. Trendy foghorns are replaced with surprising guitar licks, synth jabs are stuffed with dovetail bass oscillations that maneuver like Bruce Lee playing DDR, and thanks to a spotless choice of cuts, the whole EP serves as an ace grab-bag of DJ tools. It's diverse in a sense, and almost unfocused at a glance, so it's not until the moody closer "Lost In My Mind" ties it all together that all the loose ends of this pseudo-multi-sub-genre excursion converge to a head. Acting as reflective breath of fresh air that draws on the disparing geometrics of the diverse tracklist, the opportunity to collect and gently sway back into reality is a welcome curtain call pinned down by silky liquid tones. Screamarts sounds intentional on his seminal Flexout appearance, and with its airtight runtime and engaging sound design, Endless Journey Inwards is a strong step forward in an already-impressive catalog.



Recent reviews by this author
RY X and London Contemporary Orchestra Live From The Royal Albert HallHyperdontia Nexus of Teeth
Nubya Garcia SOURCEUada Djinn
Wounds of Recollection Nowhere Else Feels More Like HomeDrought (ITA) Trimurti
user ratings (13)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Evok
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2021


8374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cop it here and give Screamarts, and Flexout, some lovin'

https://flexoutaudio.bandcamp.com/album/endless-journey-inwards

Digging: Dvne - Etemen Ænka

zelenichajnik
March 11th 2021


612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude I heard this earlier and it is so. fucking. sick. Lovely review, please feature and get some 170bpm on the front page.

Digging: Have a Nice Life - Deathconsciousness

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2021


8374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ill look into it!

zelenichajnik
March 11th 2021


612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ayyyy that's what we like to see

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


1192 Comments


Bruh, it's so refreshing every time you pop up talking all knowledgeable about genres this site (myself included) know dick all about. Love your work, love your writing, will check.

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2021


5645 Comments


This is rad, anyone know any other good d'n'b to check out after this?

Digging: Witxes - A Fabric of Beliefs

zelenichajnik
March 12th 2021


612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

From this year, you can't go wrong with Tim Reaper - Teletext, Quartz - Coercion, Kessler - Ambivalent or Harmony - Up in Smoke

zelenichajnik
March 12th 2021


612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you're totally new to it, then slap on Source Direct - Secret Liaison and have your mind blown away

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2021


8374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This is rad, anyone know any other good d'n'b to check out after this?"



Just about anything from Overview Music, Flexout Audio, Critical Music and Delta9 Recordings absolutely slaps. Hit up my shout box for specific releases, I got troves I dig up for you later!!



Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2021


5645 Comments


Secret Liaison is exactly the vibe, thank you zelen!

nightbringer
March 12th 2021


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will check this! Pretty new to dnb but really enjoying Nu:Tone from this year.

nightbringer
March 12th 2021


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this slaps.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2021


7531 Comments


dnb? woo woo very nice dude

Digging: Andy Stott - Never the Right Time

DDDeftoneDDD
March 12th 2021


16984 Comments


is it in the idm department? because I'm an intelligent animal.

Digging: Horndal - Lake Drinker

zelenichajnik
March 12th 2021


612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah, not especially. If you want IDM-y drum and bass, check out Squarepusher's 'Venus no. 17' tho

bloc
March 12th 2021


65208 Comments


"is it in the idm department?"

I hope not

Digging: Chaka Khan - What 'Cha Gonna Do for Me

bloc
March 12th 2021


65208 Comments


Nothing new here, but it still slaps

DDDeftoneDDD
March 13th 2021


16984 Comments


I'm def not in the mood now. But is this this year's Evok's Mystic State? That one was kinda sweet XD

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2021


8374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not quite on that level, and there's tons of dnb at this level and better, out in 2021 already. I just decided to write a review on this on a whim. I'll definitely be slapping more reviews on other good ones in the coming weeks. For the sake of objectivity I'm gonna have to roast an album or two pretty soon too though lol

AnimalsAsSummit
March 13th 2021


5466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Im getting kind of bored w all the minimal DnB since 2016 or so like this sounds like it was all made using the same software. Where is the weird sampling, crazy funk I know and love. Kasra’s Ski Mask is the closest I could get to fully embracing this very abundant DnB incarnation.

Digging: The Veldt - The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy