Kanonenfieber
Menschenmühle


3.7
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
March 10th, 2021 | 31 replies


Release Date: 02/20/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Back to the front.

It is always refreshing for me when I come around a black metal album that deals with a subject matter other than old Mr. D, even though "refreshing" might be misleading, considering that Kanonenfieber focuses on World War I. However these guys play the World War card so well, that for a good 50 minutes, you feel like you're stuck in a muddy trench a century ago. The cover art brought to my mind Pink Floyd's the mincer from The Wall and illustrates perfectly how innocent lives are being treated cynically like commodities by those who gain from war. Additionally, there are samples scattered throughout that fit seamlessly into the songs and do a great job of painting that bleak WWI picture.

One thing, though, that prevents me from taking in everything that this album has to offer, is the use of German lyrics. However, the use of the German language suits the subject perfectly, so this is by no means a drawback of Menschenmühle, but rather a limitation of mine. Actually, the vocals play a vital role in conveying a variety of emotions such as anger, desperation, hatred, and pain, among others. For the most part, the vocalist uses a death growl which, combined with the guitars and the drumming, creates a sense of urgency. Nonetheless, what might draw a non-black metal enthusiast's attention, is the use of other elements from post-rock and doom metal. For example, "Grabenkampf" starts off with a death metal riff and has a post-rock section in the middle with a sound sample, allowing the listener to take a breather. Essentially, most songs are varied, which helps in making this one an engaging experience that lets you discover more with each listen, such as rock guitar lick on "Unterstandsangst".

The production on Menschenmühle is spotless and creates a big sound that suits the grim/violent atmosphere on here. In fact, it augments the band's great sense of melody and the emotional rollercoaster that this LP is. Finally, I love how the closer is purely acoustic - which is something that I had hoped - but as a song, it doesn't do much, apart from ending this one in an anticlimactic manner; just imagine Motorhead's "1916" in its place. However, don't let this minor downside prevent you from checking what is an extremely solid WWI-themed black metal album.




Recent reviews by this author
Fragment Soul Axiom Of ChoiceBlazon Stone Damnation
Frost-Rimed Iron The Fire of ConquestBlaze Bayley War Within Me
Old Wizard Old Wizard IICastle Zagyx Doors to the Battlefields of Ertbe
user ratings (44)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

This is very solid.

Digging: Trobar De Morte - Nocturnal Dance of the Dragonfly

garas
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2021


6552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Anticlimactic" was the perfect word I haven't found for this. Still a consistently good album. Good to see this got a review! It was a great read, manos!

Digging: Mirthquell - Return of the Ancients

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Appreciate it, garas. This is so easy to jam, that I have been listening to it almost daily.

XyphDryne
March 10th 2021


235 Comments


Then maybe you like this:https://dauthuzbm.bandcamp.com/album/die-grubenm-hre
It is a black metal album about working below ground and the hardship of the industrialisation era.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Cool, thanks!

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 10th 2021


10993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

solid record, liked it more than i thought i would

Donchivo
March 10th 2021


1313 Comments


A Black Metal album with a martial German bandname and titel about World War I is refreshing? What about a Power Metal album about heroes and dragons? Or a Punk rock album called 'Fuck the System'?

Very solid reveiw as usual apart from that!

Digging: Neptunian Maximalism - Solar Drone Ceremony

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


15233 Comments


Commenting here now to remind myself to check this after work.

grannypantys
March 11th 2021


2433 Comments


takes a while to pick up steam but this album really jams

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"A Black Metal album with a martial German bandname and titel about World War I is refreshing? What about a Power Metal album about heroes and dragons?"



You're probably right there, it's just that I haven't checked a lot of black metal with this theme so I generalized a bit. But, a Power Metal album about heroes and dragons? Hah, I'm always up for some heroes and dragons.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2021


6552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

> "A Black Metal album with a martial German bandname and titel about World War I is refreshing?"



Not a typical theme, so yes it is refreshing...

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


16774 Comments


I love these short, nice reviews. The World War I topic aroused my curiosity.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Existence Is Futile

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Appreciate it, man. I also enjoy more writing shorter reviews. Knowing your taste, I can definitely see you enjoying this one.

zelenichajnik
March 11th 2021


624 Comments


Absolutely seconding the Dauþuz rec, incredible band

Sounds like it could be a sweet time. I'm here for the doom metal vibes you extol ;] Nice review!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks, hope you enjoy!

Pho3nix
March 11th 2021


1175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love the album cover, will czech!



thanks for the rec.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Always a pleasure, Pho3nix. Hope you enjoy.

Brabiz
March 11th 2021


1570 Comments


Idk. WAR is equally as boring.

Digging: Today Is the Day - In the Eyes of God

Davil667
March 12th 2021


3931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short and to the point, great review manosg, you totally captured my interest here, already ordered a copy of this one.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2021


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Always appreciate the support, Davil.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy