Trapt
Shadow Work


1.0
awful

Review

by pizzamachine USER (228 Reviews)
March 9th, 2021 | 57 replies


Release Date: 06/19/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Well slap me with a dead fish and call me Susie! Trapt are still bad.

Trapt are known for two things: their song Headstrong from their glory days, and the fact that they are assholes on social media. Hoping to resurrect a clearly dying career, Trapt have brought out the big guns, and they are busted water pistols. This was the time to show people what they’re made of, and if this album is a castle, it’s made from moldy tuna fish. I honestly had hopes for this album (not high of course). I thought after all the controversy Trapt might give a single *** since it’s their career on the lines. Albums are expensive to record, mind you. Yes, they want to want what they want, but if what they want is what they want and the audience doesn’t want what they want to want, they should want to want to want what the audience wants. For example, we want another Headstrong, not a generic rock album that would sound fitting in a dentist office in the late 90’s. We also don’t want terrible lyrics that I could’ve written in elementary school, but I would’ve used a little more imagination.

Everything is terrible in this album. There was maybe one song that I thought was pleasant enough (albeit boring). I’m not even difficult to please, I will listen to your grandfather’s new album and enjoy it. In Trapt’s failure to give a ***, they forgot that giving a *** produces better results due to more passion. The singer here clearly hasn’t improved his vocals since their debut album, he’s still singing like, “ehh, whatever, as long as I sorta hit notes I can sing it live”. He gives the bare minimum in effort. The rest of the band isn’t much to write home about either, they play their parts, and their parts are basic. I’m not saying Trapt were ever good, but this is sad. What happened to the fire? The vision?

There is also pop in this album, sort of. There are some some songs with poppy bits that sound okay until the completely not matching choruses come in. Otherwise this is a generic, Nickelback-esque album, and that is not a compliment. There are no songs to recommend here, and there is not much to take away from this music. It enters your ear and somehow doesn’t reach your brain. The only song I remember as I’m writing this is that “I want what I want” song, but it’s only because of the hilariously immature, and repetitive lyrics. For your sanity, stay away from this band and their music, and listen to better rock bands. Keep in mind they also don’t deserve a penny for their social media antics. If you buy this album the ghost of Kurt Cobain will haunt you forever. You have been warned.



Recent reviews by this author
Ra IntercorruptedLove and Death Perfectly Preserved
I See Stars New DemonsSoundtrack (Video Game) Mass Effect
Ra DualityThe Wiggles Big Red Car
user ratings (120)
1.2
awful
other reviews of this album
resident shit music stan (1)
"Trying Too Hard" to remain relevant...

ShadowSoul1 (1)
You already know it’s bad. Why even bother?...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
March 9th 2021


32275 Comments


EZ TARGET, PIZZA

Dedes
March 9th 2021


7626 Comments


ILL TAKE YOU ON PIZZA
IM HEADSTRONG
IM HEADSTRONG

pizzamachine
March 10th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Wait, I like that

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2021


8743 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Haha, I was about to say the same thing Gyro

CaliggyJack
March 10th 2021


6057 Comments


Their lead singer went on a weird rant where he defended statutory rape on twitter and thats all i know about these guys

FabiusPictor202
March 10th 2021


639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

fantano did it better

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - Violence Unimagined

pizzamachine
March 10th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I do like his reviews

CaliggyJack
March 10th 2021


6057 Comments


"I do like his reviews"

Brave of you to admit this.

pizzamachine
March 10th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Let the record show we are all free to opinions

CaliggyJack
March 10th 2021


6057 Comments


there is no free thinking allowed in the year of our lord 2021

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2021


8743 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Fantano's not that bad, just misguided here and there

CaliggyJack
March 10th 2021


6057 Comments


I mean he's at least better than ToddInTheShadows

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2021


8743 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Todd's gotten a lot better over the years though... I'd watch him over Fantano anyday based on his last few years of reviewing

pizzamachine
March 10th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

He’s no pizza machine ;D

CaliggyJack
March 10th 2021


6057 Comments


lmao Todd has the dumbest opinions on music

He rarely ever gives music an indepth listen and a lot of the times he just hates on songs without actually giving them an actual chance.

He uses the "White Guy With an Acoustic Guitar" argument which is dumb.

He uses the "Four chord Progression" argument which is also extremely dumb.

His criticism of Holy Grail was face value bullshit

Supercoolguy64
March 10th 2021


10395 Comments


Todd is a goof will never forget when he called three days grace nu metal lol

Digging: Ween - Pure Guava

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2021


8743 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

As far as his older vids go, I think his Alien Ant Farm review was probably his worst because it was clear he didn't know anything about the genre he was discussing at all (going in line with your comment, Supercoolguy)

Spec
March 10th 2021


36282 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

this album would have been a 1/5 even without the twitter rants just sayin'

Supercoolguy64
March 10th 2021


10395 Comments


You’re not wrong but I’m still butthurt that he wrote aaf off like that lol

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2021


8743 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

No I was agreeing with you, lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy