Love and Death
Perfectly Preserved


2.0
poor

Review

by pizzamachine USER (228 Reviews)
March 4th, 2021 | 19 replies


Release Date: 02/12/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The only kind of review this album deserves since Love and Death are stuck in the past.

How does one make generic alt metal more generic? When it is perfectly preserved. Jokes aside, this album is terrible. Follow me into the rabbit hole as we explore this nightmare, and unravel why Love and Death have failed on all levels.

1. The confusion of who the lead singer is.

Who is the lead singer exactly? Is it the growly guy, or the smooth vocal dude? Can’t you just pick one so I’m less confused? I’m trying to focus on the music here, damn. Is one of the singers not good enough to hit the high notes? None of the singers are even that special.

2. Terrible growlies

Wtf is with these growls? They sound terrible! I’m getting some constipated, angry smoker vibes. I thought the dude was a Christian, why is he yelling all the time and sounding like he’s mad at the world? Just saying. These are the worst growls I’ve heard since HeavensDust. How in the world do these angry yelly bits make sense with radio friendly, forgettable melodies?

3. Generic everything

Oh, yes please. I want another generic chorus, lay on those flat autotuned vocals mmmm. Don’t forget to steal some Korn, Red, and Breaking Benjamin riffs. The kids love those. Give em enough choruses and maybe they’ll forget how terrible the growlies were. Maybe they’ll even forget that embarrassing cover of a pop song that was bizarre and unwanted.

4. No flow

Ahh, I see you want to disrupt the flow of another song so you can have an excessively aggressive growly bit. Oh, you’re going to go straight back into clean, beautiful melodies, and a relaxing chorus right after? Okay, whatever works for you I guess.
Just pretend I wasn’t head banging, I don’t care. Maybe I was just trying to shake lice out of my hair.
Yeah, that was totally it. Btw, the beat was completely different in that bit, and it felt like a different song, and not in a good way. And yes, I am actually referencing the entire album in this paragraph.

In conclusion: bad album
Good tracks: not many
Pros: are you serious?
Cons: I listened to this album

Summary: 2/5



Recent reviews by this author
Ra IntercorruptedTrapt Shadow Work
I See Stars New DemonsSoundtrack (Video Game) Mass Effect
Ra DualityThe Wiggles Big Red Car
user ratings (32)
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (4)
A satisfactory return...



Comments:Add a Comment 
William21
March 4th 2021


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well... I agree at least that the changing vocals were a bit odd, especially since I thought this was primarily Head's project, not some kind of low-key supergroup. But I still enjoyed this a lot, I'm pretty much always down for some Head riffing

pizzamachine
March 4th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I’ve really enjoyed Head’s past stuff, this album is disappointing.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2021


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean, I see what you're saying here, but I don't entirely agree considering I enjoyed this album

Not as good as Between Here and Lost, but still a great record imo... gonna be giving this one a review by the end of the week because I got to interview JR

Digging: Taylor Swift - Fearless (Taylor?s Version)

pizzamachine
March 4th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha well then. Hope your review is positive and heart warming to make up for mine.😬

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2021


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also, "embarrassing cover of a pop song that was bizarre and unwanted"

gonna have to disagree with you there because it was fun... and definitely wanted after how they did with Whip It by Devo

pizzamachine
March 4th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It was just the wrong song to shove in forced aggression imo (although that characterizes the album). I definitely didn’t want it, and I hated its vibe.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2021


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough fair enough... I'll definitely agree with you on the flow of the record, that has been my major qualm with it the more I listen to it. But I do appreciate the individual tracks as they are (aside from White Flag and The Hunter, those are my least favorites and don't really enjoy them as much as when they first released)

I was honestly hoping for another track like "Bruises" from them and so I'm slightly disappointed that they didn't have a mellower ballad kinda track... but it's all good I guess

pizzamachine
March 4th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, definitely no ballad here lol. Pretty much all the same stuff. That one song that was lead by growls stood out for me, and Down I think slaps.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2021


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Down is a great track... my standouts here are Tragedy, Slow Fire, and Affliction

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2021


16848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah, this thing is pretty bad. 'let me love you' is a sterile cover made solely to draw heads to the band

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2021


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my fanboy side of this band is slightly hurt, but you're also not too wrong

William21
March 4th 2021


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoyed the cover surprisingly (though I still think it was a very odd choice), but that's probably in part because I pretty much can't ever pass up a good Lacey Sturm feature



DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2021


16848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@tyman



don't get me wrong, i wanted to like this. 'down' is a pretty solid song. the problem is it feels very korn-lite, and sounds too samey to me.



head's vocals surprised me too, he's not too bad as a singer

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2021


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah yeah I get that. And yeah, Head is genuinely a pretty good singer, he's got a unique tone to him quite honestly

if anything, you should check out their debut, it's a lot more cohesive and has stronger highlights (like Chemicals and Bruises)

pizzamachine
March 4th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

“the problem is it feels very korn-lite”



Why you gotta be so hard on Adema like that 😄





Rammbrecher
March 4th 2021


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haven't heard it yet, but I'm hoping it sounds better than you're making it out to be. I still go back to their debut every now and then.

hangth3dj
March 5th 2021


45 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I put this on a couple of weeks ago and thought it was fairly decent. Not as good as Between Here & Lost but still a worthy listen.



2 is generous considering the bashing you gave it in this review!

heck
March 6th 2021


5713 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is worse than the new ADTR

Digging: ERRA - ERRA

Lolwhat
March 31st 2021


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

new adtr is shit far worse than this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy