King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard
L. W.


4.0
excellent

Review

by Asleep: [on the forest floor] STAFF
March 1st, 2021 | 146 replies


Release Date: 02/24/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kay Jee El Duboyoo

So apparently King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard have released yet more music and, as predicted 4 weeks ago by yours truly, there remains very little left to say about the Aussie emperors and their magical pet reptile that hasn't been said before. L.W. is more of the same fuzzy, microtonal nonsense, pioneered on 2017’s Flying Microtonal Banana and perfected (arguably) on 2020’s K.G., and if you liked either of those albums then, chances are, you’ll like L.W..

Cool, I’m done. I can go home now, right Jom? Oh, really? That’s not enough? What? A glorified soundoff!? Fine ... have it your way.

If K.G. was the Gizz bois’ revisiting their psych-rock roots - representing both a timely retreat from years of relentless exploration and a joyous celebration of everything the lads have sought to achieve over the last 10 years - then L.W. is the victory lap that followed shortly thereafter. It seems there are no kingdoms left for the lads to conquer, the various treasure troves of psych, prog, thrash, doom, funk, blues, pop, rock AND jazz having been well and truly ransacked at this point. As such, with their pockets overflowing with trinkets, Stu and co. finally appear able to kick back and relax. With their feet up on the couch and laurels well and truly rested upon, they’ve gifted us with L.W. which (excepting its sister record) is undoubtedly the most comfortable LP the group has released in quite some time.

Blissfully carefree cuts “Supreme Ascendency” and “Ataraxia” are an excellent case in point, conjured from the sundrenched bass lines and supple, wonky riffs that have long been the band’s bread and butter. Mirage-like tunes “O.N.E.” and “See Me” follow suit, their cyclical saundering similarly suited to a camel ride across your favourite desert - reminiscent, perhaps, of a late summer sunset, with both songs basking in pastel oranges and warm pinks. However, despite their unmistakable warmth and air of familiarity, L.W.’s tunes still manage to sound fresh, utilising the same reliable Gizzard means but to satisfyingly distinct ends. As a result, each track slots snuggly into the Gizzverse, oozing the same quirky charm as the likes of “Head On/Pill” and “Gamma Knife” whilst continuing to benefit from welcome tweaks to the collective’s now decade-old formula.

As on K.G., microtonality has been grafted seamlessly onto L.W.’s bones. Volume 3 of the Explorations into Microtonal Tuning series lacks even the faintest whiff of the mild gimmickry present on Volume 1, the atypical tuning now sounding oddly typical for the oddball groove-smiths. Much as it’s hard to imagine Stu singing a different melody to that of his guitar, it’s also a struggle to picture trippy funk opener “If Not Now, Then When?” without that familiar twang of the unfamiliar, those seemingly off-key notes accenting the track's classic Gizz haze. The same goes for both the energetic desert rocker “Static Electricity” and doomy-gloomy closer "K.G.L.W.", the latter elevating its chugging High on Fire-esque tendencies by reprising the cute microtonal twanging of K.G.’s opener, bringing the double-album full circle with typical Gizzard flair.

Whilst primarily acting as the set up for a poorly conceived attempt at humour, I still meant what I said: it really does feel like there is little left to talk about when it comes to King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard. Both their admirable songwriting chops and chameleonic approach to artistry have now been well documented, such that discourse on either topic tends to feel somewhat redundant. You’ll know by now if the Gizzverse is a venue you’re content to frequent, and I’m unlikely to convince you otherwise. If, however, you’d care for one more trip around their particular madhouse, check out L.W.. There may be nothing left to say, but that doesn't mean it should go unsa-- --wait a minute…



Recent reviews by this author
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO PromisesWorld Peace Come And See
Genghis Tron Dream WeaponGod's Hate God's Hate
Fire! DefeatGod Is an Astronaut Ghost Tapes #10
user ratings (169)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and another one and another one and another one

osmark86
March 1st 2021


10578 Comments


K.G.L.W. is such a banger

Digging: Krallice - Mass Cathexis

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2021


24159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The man, THE LEGEND.



Great album great review.

Digging: Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO - Promises

alexslavco
March 1st 2021


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really love ,,doomy-gloomy closer"

Gyromania
March 1st 2021


32213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

supreme ascendancy rules

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2021


24159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

O.n.e. and Pleura for me. So good.

parksungjoon
March 1st 2021


28595 Comments


oh hey my soundoff is still up

Gyromania
March 1st 2021


32213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that page breaking one is you? you're the worst!

parksungjoon
March 1st 2021


28595 Comments


yea just scroll to the right and u can see lol

Gyromania
March 1st 2021


32213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't match up ratings with users and it's been rly stressing me out pls change ty

parksungjoon
March 1st 2021


28595 Comments


i cannot compromise on my artistic vision sorry

Gyromania
March 1st 2021


32213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm not happy about this... but i understand

LunaticSoul
March 1st 2021


1658 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn KGLW

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


2777 Comments


i think i promised to give this band (another) shot when their new album would drop
it dropped sooner than i expected
but hell yeah let's go, wonderful rev as always

Digging: half/cut - Salt an Atlas

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


13781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ataraxia is a certified banger, great review

Digging: My Bloody Valentine - m b v

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2021


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh shit why am i staff good loooord hype

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2021


34656 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

[pos]

Digging: Xiu Xiu - OH NO

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


13781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lmfao i just found out i'm a contrib the exact same way. Let's party bro

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2021


34656 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

congrats both!



this came at the perfect moment tbh, the colour scheme of the staff tab is finally presentable again. death to yukika3!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


2777 Comments


hell yes dudes, congrats!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy