Soundtrack (Video Game)
Mass Effect


2.0
poor

Review

by pizzamachine USER (228 Reviews)
February 28th, 2021 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Synths! Synths! And more synths! Oh my!

This sounded better when I was younger, but synths used to be “cutting edge”. Synths were so cool. We heard the synths in Tron Legacy, and we were like yes, this is what I want to spend my money on. Not any investments, just this. Now I’m like, wow, I feel old listening to this. The synths don’t sound futuristic anymore, they sound retro. The synths date this album back to the Jurassic Era. And this soundtrack has a LOT of synths. It’s not synths I’m against, though, it’s the way they use synths. Everything is so dang simple, the composition isn’t great, the synths sound like they were made on an iPhone. Add some strings and you get the entire vibe of the soundtrack. I would recommend listening to the soundtrack of Deus Ex: Human Revolution instead of this, it is very good. Not like this. This is moldy bath water.

Nostalgia alone cannot save this soundtrack from being forgettable and ultimately disappearing in the sands of time. “But I remember this soundtrack!” says the man child obsessed with nostalgia, “It’s the one with the synths! It’s SO EPIC!!!”. Nay says I. If you’re looking for a great space RPG soundtrack, try Knights of the Old Republic. The music sticks with you, they took some care to give you hooks, and some music you will NEVER forget. Once again, I am recommending you listen to anything but this.
There are a couple of bumping tracks here, sort of, but purely for nostalgic reasons.

Before I take a massive *** on this album and flush it away, let’s take one last look at the positives. The synths and the strings combined sound right. Also, some of the ambient tracks are effectively creepy, at least until the cheesy bits take over. And that’s all the good things I have to say, it’s not many, but it’s all you get. So put your space binoculars on the shelf, cause this soundtrack is definitely not out of this world. You deserve a better joke than that, and a better review, but I ran out of cares writing this. Please enjoy a different album.



Recent reviews by this author
Ra IntercorruptedTrapt Shadow Work
Love and Death Perfectly PreservedI See Stars New Demons
Ra DualityThe Wiggles Big Red Car
user ratings (15)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Get Low
February 28th 2021


9820 Comments


Always glad to see video game soundtracks getting reviewed even if it's just for trolls and lulz. A negative review is better than no review.

pizzamachine
February 28th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, I was surprised to see this wasn’t reviewed.

Get Low
February 28th 2021


9820 Comments


Same, especially since this game/soundtrack are generally held in high regard.

metalhead2425
February 28th 2021


371 Comments


This game was my shit when I was like 13. I don't remember the soundtrack though, so the review is probably accurate haha.

SitarHero
February 28th 2021


12817 Comments


"The synths date this album back to the Jurassic Era."

This sentence implies the existence of Synthasaurus Rex and that is rad af.

(inb4 some nerd points out that T-Rex was actually from the Cretaceaous period)

pizzamachine
February 28th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The synth Rexs stuff up, ok I’m done.

SitarHero
February 28th 2021


12817 Comments


That'll do pig. That'll do.

pizzamachine
February 28th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

😂

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This soundtrack kinda falls under the same category as the God of War one for me, in that it serves as really good background music but not a great standalone album. I’ll admit, my 4 rating comes largely from nostalgia and sentimental attachment. Needless to say, though, the next two games have much better scores

pizzamachine
February 28th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haven’t checked em out, but out of dire curiosity I’m sure I will. 😂

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They’re much more rich and orchestral, while keeping the better aspects of the synths used in this one. Much more professional-sounding, I’d say

Supercoolguy64
February 28th 2021


10388 Comments


My dad had the whole trilogy for Xbox but never played them myself

Digging: Ween - Pure Guava

MO
February 28th 2021


23236 Comments


Damn pizza rears his head sup bro

pizzamachine
February 28th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I see you’re still rearing your rear😂

MO
February 28th 2021


23236 Comments


like I would change it

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2021


24224 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't wait for the remaster

Digging: Zao - The Crimson Corridor

XyphDryne
February 28th 2021


124 Comments


"Now I’m like, wow, [...]"

WatchItExplode
February 28th 2021


8647 Comments


Nay says I.

Fun read pizza.

Digging: The Best of the Worst - Better Medicine

pizzamachine
February 28th 2021


14382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cheers mate

kkarron
February 28th 2021


73 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Y'know... I agree. This is a dull-ass listen. Nostalgia removed, it's wallpaper with a few interesting splats on it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy