">
 

God Lives Underwater
Life in the So-Called Space Age


4.0
excellent

Review

by supraman_2 USER (7 Reviews)
July 19th, 2006 | 11 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist


God Lives Underwater is grouped somewhere in the alt rock, indie and techno genres. While listening to their music you can definitely hear the obvious influence Depeche Mode have had on David Reilly and John Turzo's music.

The album slowly swirls into the track Intro which gives the feeling like you are caught in a sandstorm with a funky drumbeat. I would have really like to see what they could have done with this track if they had fleshed it out. From listening to the first track it gives you a pretty solid idea of where the album is going, ambient samples, turntable effects and synths.
Rearrange picks up nicely with a good upbeat bass synth line and somewhat sparse drumming. Reilly's singing is high above the mix in certain songs and placed nicely in between in others.
From Your Mouth is the track that introduced me to this band and was the only song from GLU I ever heard on the radio. This song features a catchy beat, a water drenched synth line and funky bass line. This is a good song to introduce you to this album.
GLU go through the album with this same sort of style but they do switch things up to keep the music interesting.
Can't Come Down features some nice simple acoustic guitar strumming strewn over effects, synths and a relaxing beat.
Behavior Modification and The Rush is Loud are two stand out tracks here. The first is almost as catchy as From Your Mouth and the latter is an in depth look at the recording process from an artist. Reilly's vocals on The Rush is Loud may bother some people but after a few listens it's likely to be over looked because of the good lyrics.

The album changes pace from upbeat to slow and relaxed throughout. Fans of Depeche Mode and Stabbing Westward should be able to get into this very easily considering the similarities in the musical style. One of the few things I dislike about this album is how the vocals are mixed too high in some songs and the last track is a nice song but then morphs into 25+ mins of noise. Overall it's somewhat of a tech rock record with some hip-hop and industrial influences thrown in to keep things interesting.

3.8/5



Recent reviews by this author
GZA Liquid SwordsDead Prez Let's Get Free
Cave In Perfect Pitch BlackCave In Until Your Heart Stops
Injected Burn It BlackHelmet Meantime
user ratings (38)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
sevasXtra02
July 19th 2006


14 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is an incredibly boring album. Barely any risks are taken in the songs. There are some alright beats, but thats about it.

Willie
Moderator
November 3rd 2007


18909 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I was going to write a review talking about how horrible this album was, but there's already a review here. The reviewer seems to think this is an excellent album... it's not. It's not even close.

Kaleid
November 8th 2007


746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Fans of Depeche Mode and Stabbing Westward should be able to get into this very easily considering the similarities in the musical style


An emphatic no. Anyone can chuck in a synth and declare, "Oh, Depeche Mode!".

I checked this out after they covered Fly On The Windscreen by Depeche, because I thought it was OK-ish. And it just sounds so boring and derivative. Even the title is a sub-heading of Depeche's Black Celebration album



/fanboyThis Message Edited On 11.07.07

Willie
Moderator
November 8th 2007


18909 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

That whole Depeche Mode tribute album is pretty damn good... I especially like the Verruca Salt song.



In God Lives Underwater's defense, their first album "Empty" is actually pretty good... this one is just horrible.

Kaleid
November 8th 2007


746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

...someone on here besides me has actually heard that?

*starts review*

Yeah, that was good, I liked The Cure's take on World In My Eyes as well

I can't comment on their first album cause I haven't heard it. If it's nothing like this I may check it out somedayThis Message Edited On 11.07.07

Willie
Moderator
November 8th 2007


18909 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

That would be a great album for you to review (The Depeche Mode Tribute album)... yeah, GLU's first album is much better... better song writing, better beats... ha ha, maybe I'll review it if no one has.

thegreatgriffin
November 29th 2007


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man it's not my favorite album or anything terribly too groundbreaking but i was pretty shocked to see the level of hate for this one.

Willie
Moderator
November 29th 2007


18909 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Have you heard their previous album? The quality level took such a nose dive... especially after releasing "From Your Mouth" as the first single and then having the album sound nothing like it....

ForeignFilm
January 13th 2012


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album Rules.

Willie
Moderator
January 13th 2012


18909 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I could never get into it. I loved their debut and their third album isn't bad, but this was just too... I don't even know. It was just so different from their debut and even way different than the first single (and only good song, IMO) "From Your Mouth".

xxm
January 5th 2017


228 Comments


This is a nice enough album in my opinion. From Your Mouth is the obvious highlight and this is definitely no great shakes when it comes to songwriting but it's enjoyable nonetheless. I also think that Rearrange, Alone Again, and The Rush is Loud are great songs and I love the modification in sound from the debut even if it doesn't work at times. Nice album, or at least I think so.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy