Spelljammer
Abyssal Trip


3.5
great

Review

by Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (22 Reviews)
February 27th, 2021 | 13 replies


Release Date: 02/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Just another great stoner record meant to be played loud

Spelljammer is a Swedish collective playing heavy music which reliably falls under the stoner/psychedelic rock and metal umbrella. The band’s first LP, 2015’s Ancient of Days, was a strong slab of slow and heavy stoner metal, with tinges of atmosphere and proggy textures but nothing drastically deviating away from genre conventions. The newly released Abyssal Trip is the band’s second full-length effort.

Abyssal Trip doesn’t represent a major departure, either from the band’s previous album or from the generic stylings you might expect from a release of this vein. Monstrously heavy riffs, mostly slow tempos, and sluggish song lengths immediately greet the listener. The atmospheric opener "Bellwether" is a highlight, and gives ample illustration of what to expect from the rest of the album. Second track “Lake” begins with an uncharacteristically fast (and relatively brutal) section reminiscent of some of High On Fire’s more up-tempo moments, although it eventually settles into a more ponderous groove. A few spoken word intros provide a bit of diversity, as does the beautiful instrumental interlude “Peregrine”. Finally, closer “Silent Rift” may be the best track here, a well-crafted ten minute song which wraps up everything this album is about in a satisfying manner. The whole album presents some strong riffs, and a number of sweet guitar solos which should satisfy devotees of this style. Niklas Olsson’s gruff vocals are another high point, often functioning largely as another instrument, floating atop a wall of guitar sound.

Spelljammer haven’t crafted a masterpiece here, but this is a great release which will likely appeal to anyone who enjoys music in the stoner rock/metal/heavy psych spectrum. Abyssal Trip doesn’t reinvent the wheel, but it’s groovy and heavy as lead, and sometimes that’s enough.



Recent reviews by this author
Saccades Flowing FadesDohlmen Dohlmen
Mythic Sunship WildfireThe Antlers Green to Gold
A.A. Williams Songs from IsolationCassandra Jenkins An Overview on Phenomenal Nature
user ratings (7)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2021


2192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just a quick writeup for an album which will probably fall under the radar

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 27th 2021


37113 Comments


You're constantly reviewing stuff that I like. Haven't heard of this, but I'll check it based on your track record.

Digging: Manchester Orchestra - The Million Masks Of God

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2021


2192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Sowing! I don't really know your feelings about stoner metal/psychedelic stuff, but if you do enjoy that sort of thing I expect you'll enjoy this to some degree.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 27th 2021


37113 Comments


Not usually but on the rare occasion. If you like it then I might.
If I don't, I'll just veto any contrib votes coming your way so no pressure ;-)

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2021


2192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, no pressure at all!



Let me know what you think...

Cygnatti
February 27th 2021


34829 Comments


back in my day, we called it magic jammer smh

Digging: Prayer - In Your Arms

WatchItExplode
February 27th 2021


8647 Comments


Good for you Sunny! I gave this a try and dug it instrumentally but the compositions didn't really click with me. Also vox.

Digging: The Best of the Worst - Better Medicine

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2021


2192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks @WatchItExplode!



I'm liking this but I get those critiques. I did enjoy the vocals, they're a bit par for the course for the style but I felt they work well with the music

WatchItExplode
February 28th 2021


8647 Comments


You are one of the people I check for recent ratings to try and find new music by the way

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2021


24224 Comments


Definitely checking this. Good shorty, Sunny!

Digging: Zao - The Crimson Corridor

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2021


2192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@WatchItExplode, thanks man! That means a lot, our taste definitely overlaps a fair amount.



Thanks @Dewinged as well!

ThyCrossAwaits
March 1st 2021


3574 Comments


“ Just another great stoner record to meant to be played loud”

Minor typo there? Fantastic review, was wondering if this was worthy of checking out.

Digging: Xiu Xiu - OH NO

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


2192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ThyCrossAwaits, thanks for catching that! Somehow that went undetected despite being in the summary.



I'd definitely say this is worth checking if you like this type of music, just don't expect anything overly original/innovative



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy