Of Mice and Men
Timeless


3.5
great

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
February 24th, 2021 | 25 replies


Release Date: 02/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Return to Form, Pt. I

With the first installation in the trilogy of 2021 EP’s for Of Mice & Men, Timeless showcases the band harkening back to the classic metalcore days with soaring guitar leads, chugging breakdowns, and beautifully melodic choruses. Continuing with the momentum of their previous record, EARTHANDSKY, this EP displays the same duality of aggression and lofty harmony, exemplified through Aaron Pauley’s alternation of harsh screaming and melodious clean singing blended with the combination riffage and atmospheric lead-work from Phil Manansala and Alan Ashby.

Throughout Timeless, Of Mice & Men experiment with the mix of the beautiful choruses, aggressive verses, and impactful breakdowns. The title track provides the best example of this, combining the chugged intro riff with the classic metalcore tropes of the guitar work in the verses while allowing Aaron Pauley to vocally soar across the full, powerful chorus. In a similar manner, “Obsolete” fluidly embeds the palm-muted guitars with the harmonious, atmospheric guitar leads while managing to construct an energetic chorus that hits hard. However, although the band relies on the past success of their previous formula, this doesn’t mean they have abandoned experimentation as a whole. With the final track, ‘Anchor’, Of Mice & Men pushes into the realm of groove-influenced writing, producing a bouncy riff that deviates slightly from the metalcore songwriting of the previous two tracks. Moreover, the verses integrate an almost industrial feel, incorporating ambient work, electronic drums, and heavy reliance on bass, providing an invigorating sound to their style. Likewise, both “Timeless” and “Obsolete” attempt to expand upon the atmospheric sounds, creating interestingly melodic breakdowns and incorporating clean sections into the tracks to provide dynamic to their work.

Much of the success in this experimentation can be attributed to the pure chemistry among the band. Timeless shows the band at their most functional and talented, each member contributing immensely to the final product of the EP. In the vocal department, Aaron Pauley is at his most dynamic yet, fusing together soaring melodies with abrasive screams in a way that fluidly flows throughout the project. Along with his impressive vocal performance, his grooves behind the bass provide an essential backbone to the songs, emphasizing the power of the riffs while also highlighting some solo basslines in the verses of “Anchor”. Complementing Pauley’s bass, Manansala and Ashby’s guitar work leads the charge in constructing hammering riffs that utilize both palm-muted chugs and speedy single-note riffage while also implementing lofty, atmospheric leads that amplify the power in the songwriting. Encompassing both the aggression and melody of the instrumentation, Valentino Arteaga’s drumming drives and progresses each song effectively, providing the perfect balance of energy and groove that elevates ‘Timeless’.

With two more EP’s and a full-length to come in the near future, Of Mice & Men have established a solid foundation to build upon, providing fans with the perfect balance of melody and aggression desired from their recent efforts while also integrating innovation into their style. Although only three songs in length, Timeless encapsulates an immense amount of intensity and power within its short duration. Even despite its tendencies to fall into the cliché metalcore tropes of the past, Of Mice & Men manage to pull off the style in a manner that is both engaging and entertaining.



Recent reviews by this author
Twenty One Pilots Scaled and IcyDarko (US) Darko
Katahdin No Longer Room For UsLove and Death Perfectly Preserved
Landon Tewers Frontal Lobe SubmissionKars Landman Clouds
user ratings (44)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Got a press release copy of this a few days back and decided to give this a quick write up! Pretty fun, short project that definitely shows the band continuing with the style of the past record. Although nothing here is really "groundbreaking", it's still a solid jam to have on

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2021


24805 Comments


Solid review dude, pos'd!

Digging: Midwife (USA) - Luminol

SteakByrnes
February 25th 2021


24226 Comments


Hell yea brother, rad review

Digging: Origami Button - No Parking

Shamus248
February 25th 2021


500 Comments


ever since AC left, they've been cranking out content almost nonstop and while i enjoyed it initially, i'm starting to get burned out by the same caliber of content every time i turn around with no real time table between releases and no real deviation stylistically

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2021


58006 Comments


This band is just the worst

William21
February 25th 2021


676 Comments


I'm just gonna take a guess and say that most of the EP material ends up on the full-length album, so I'm not even gonna bother with this for now

butt.
February 25th 2021


8935 Comments


Trebor comes out of woodwork to comment on OM&M review

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks Steak and Dewi!

and wow, Trebor casually strolling to this review... love to see it

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2021


7141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oooh cool, I enjoyed their last record as a much needed return to form, but had no idea they were dropping eps and lps this year



Gud words here pos

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2021


14527 Comments


— Trebor comes out of woodwork to comment on OM&M article—

Mandatory appearance

TheSpirit
February 25th 2021


28123 Comments


trash since the flood

Digging: Saidan - Jigoku: Spiraling Chasms Of The Blackest Hell

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Oooh cool, I enjoyed their last record as a much needed return to form, but had no idea they were dropping eps and lps this year" yeah, they have three EPs coming out this year... probably all gonna end up as part of the LP but we'll see

Feather
February 25th 2021


7069 Comments


trash since the flood [2]

Once AC left they bounced back to being bland inoffensive metalcore. I really want to love this, but I don't. The album cover is cool though, I always liked their ampersand thing.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, definitely bland metalcore, but I have a soft spot for this some reason... just kinda grew up on it I guess

and yeah, the album cover is pretty sick

Feather
February 26th 2021


7069 Comments


I get what you’re saying man! Great review btw

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thank you!

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2021


7141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

much preferred their latest LP to this sadly, but still hopeful that they'll put out some more of that good shiii

bloc
February 26th 2021


66198 Comments


Haven't listened since Restoring Forks but I wanna check out the new members

Digging: Hiatus Kaiyote - Mood Valiant

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2021


2497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"much preferred their latest LP to this sadly" ah, that's fair.. idk what it is but Anchor is just super fun to me and that's what pushes this up for me

"Haven't listened since Restoring Forks but I wanna check out the new members" I'd definitely suggest the last record EARTHANDSKY, it's a pretty fun record to jam

heck
February 26th 2021


6084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

band has been on an upswing ever since they kicked out the rapist

Digging: The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy