Mogwai
As the Love Continues


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
February 19th, 2021 | 127 replies


Release Date: 02/21/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I wouldn’t place it up there with their best though...

As Mogwai ascend to veteran act status, they are more productive than ever. Working on soundtracks for TV series, documentaries or music, provided a natural expansion for their music. For a band that pioneered the post rock genre, the Scottish quartet makes sure they don’t stagnate. Unsurprisingly, As the Love Continues keeps inserting new sonic elements into the mix. Wandering down the synthesizer assisted paths, the group managed to create a rather glossy and at times uplifting odyssey. The pop sensibilities that became more prominent during the past decade shine here as well. Several familiar sounds and features appear along the way, yet they are filtered through the current production and style.

The side projects definitely expanded Mogwai's horizons in terms of dynamics, styles and structures. Their sonic palette was gradually enlarged by incorporating various electronic bits and scaling down on the guitar distortion. A prime example is ‘To the Bin My Friend, Tonight We Vacate Earth’, which starts this journey in a very cinematic way, building on lush piano and guitar leads. The pulsing drum plays steadily until everyone kicks into an explosive second half. The epic keys and low bass chords beautifully enhance the entire segment. ‘Here We, Here We, Here We Go Forever’ and ‘Dry Fantasy’ create a rather glistening atmosphere for the band, the former toying with electronic beats and talk box-like guitars. The latter gives off a sci-fi vibe with its wavy layers of synths and glitches around them. The song gently unfolds into a classic Mogwai ditty, but everyone leaves considerable room for each instrument to be clearly audible. As usual, the overall result is emphasized instead of just one certain instrument. Meanwhile, ‘Ceiling Granny’ offers some muscle to As the Love Continues, delivering a round of chunky, distorted riffs. Though not as moody as ‘Batcat’ or ‘Glasgow Mega Snake’, the track is invigorating.

During the second half, ‘Pat Stains’ shares a nice drum groove and a powerful low end during its louder portions, whereas ‘Midnight Flit’ grows into a lovely, string-assisted number. I love how easily the band crafts a solid foundation for their tunes with sparse components. This barely audible softness that graced mainly their early works still works wonders. Towards the end, ‘Supposedly, We Were Nightmares’ brings back some of that Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will pop rock energy, before ‘It’s What I Want to Do, Mum’ closes the record on a high note. The calm bass and guitar notes pave the way for discreet, ethereal keyboards until, inevitably, everything bursts for the grandiose finale. I believe this cut harkens back to old school Mogwai most from all here.

Overall, As the Love Continues ends up as one solid album that does a great job blending the Mogwai we are accustomed to into a friendlier direction. I wouldn’t place it up there with the best though. While the production is crystal clear and the guys used most of their sonic arsenal to shape the songs, a fair number of them don’t really stand out. Even with all the pop elements included, the LP actually unfolds slower than expected. There are few immediate moments, but to be honest, the main issue is that one third of the record feels as if the band is running on auto pilot.




Recent reviews by this author
Chevelle NIRATIASFront Line Assembly Mechanical Soul
Viagra Boys Welfare JazzSamsara Blues Experiment End of Forever
Shores of Null Beyond the Shores (On Death and Dying)William Basinski Lamentations
user ratings (93)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2021


5368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Saw the album received some raving reviews, but I'm not feeling it as strong as Every Country's Sun for example. There are some great tunes and some standard stuff.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1dtTYIvwegw&list=OLAK5uy_lCJtO9LMo02rk5cqRqNJ9F3zpElNVXxL4

Digging: Chevelle - NIRATIAS

Tunaboy45
February 19th 2021


17294 Comments


banging album

Digging: Nick Cave and Warren Ellis - Carnage

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2021


33525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Will read this as a hangover cure tomorrow (hype!), is it worth checking if I never bothered with any Mogwai post-Mr. Beast?

Digging: Lane Shi Otayonii - Ming Ming

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2021


12762 Comments


and hour and a minute long

can i be arsed

can i

maybe not

Digging: Heroic Doses - Heroic Doses

Demon of the Fall
February 19th 2021


18627 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The rec by reviewer section reads like a compendium of post-peak post-rock poster boys. I haven’t decided if I care enough to check this yet.

Digging: Husker Du - New Day Rising

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2021


12762 Comments


man i love that artwork - also the similarities between it and the cEvin Key one on the front page are mad

especially with fkn yukika underneath

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2021


5368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Johnny - If you want, check Hardcore Will Never Die and Every Country's Sun first IMO. This ain't better than those.



@Demon - Yeah, pretty much, although I really dig replicr, 2019.

JimpyJ
February 19th 2021


4 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just started listening to this now but I gave up after "Ritchie Sacramento." The album's basically well-made background music.

Digging: Expedient Self - The Present EP

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2021


12762 Comments


why rate it then my dude

as a great ars would say, you're ruining mogwai's average!

JimpyJ
February 19th 2021


4 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good point. I'll listen to it all the way through when I have more time and update (or not) my rating accordingly.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2021


12762 Comments


haha you do you to be fair

i somehow feel this will probably end up being rated whatever someones first impression of it are over the first few tracks. it is mogwai

Project
February 19th 2021


4673 Comments


GIAA and Mogwai releasing albums in back to back weeks? a banner month for post-rock veterans

hopefully I like this more than GIAA's latest

anatelier
February 19th 2021


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I listened to it all and could have rated the same without listening at all tbh

Digging: Arab Strap - As Days Get Dark

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2021


16796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

great review ins. my mate said this is amazing so i'm going to check this. they haven't done a good album since hawk is howling imo, so i hope it delivers

Digging: Black Sheep Wall - Songs for the Enamel Queen

NorthernSkylark
February 19th 2021


10826 Comments


It’s probably alright but it’s also 1 hour

Digging: Leon III - Antlers in Velvet

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2021


5368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you! If the past few Mogwai records were not your cup of tea, then I don't think this could turn into a favorite. There are a couple of tunes that sound closer to earlier Mogwai.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2021


2037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really liked this one upon first listen, but then again I've liked all of Mogwai's latest run more than the averages would suggest

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2021


7043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Still gotta listen to this, feeling a hard 3 incoming

Digging: Mudhoney - Superfuzz Bigmuff

Brinner
February 19th 2021


65 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Average is harsh compared to the rest of the discog. Was hoping it'd settle on a 3.7 or so. Sputnik is so harsh on post-rock these days.



Ah well, nice review!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2021


5368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks! I wish for a heavier record overall, it'd be a nice change.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy