Null (USA)
Hiraeth


4.5
superb

Review

by Grumpy CONTRIBUTOR (32 Reviews)
February 11th, 2021 | 75 replies


Release Date: 01/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dance like a hobbit, and riff like a warmaster.

The one-man band, Null's, latest release is more than just another atmospheric black metal piece you may find every other week. The band's page on Metallum does not lie: behold, the mindfulness black metal has arisen!

“At the start of spring
Listen closely and the land will sing
No more coldness
No more suffering”

/from "Discovery"/

Sometimes even the infamously grim genre washes off the corpse paint, and albums like Hiraeth can take the opportunity to bring some colors into the black'n'white masquerade. The album's opener, "The Clearing", makes this all clear at very beginning (pun intended): the very first impression reflects a very positive tone. The album welcomes the listener with a "suspiciously" uplifting vibe through very Fief-alike neo-medieval elements in contrast with an "ordinary" black metal release which would focus "only" being sinsister - and that's the twist! This feeling gets even more intense when the riffs kick in, and not to mention the subtle yet slightly dominant influence of flutes.

It's impossible to connect the album's success to one single factor, because it feels like Hiraeth has everything in a perfectly right amount. First of all, there is no great black metal album without somebody mentioning "oh yes, this riffs!", and it is true for Hiraeth as well: the riffs are just keep coming and coming (strong Windir influences, I'd say), and are often connected by many folky/instrumental passages. And I mean it: there are tons of them (pretty much like in Ensiferum)! Through these sections, the album manages to capture and present numerous different emotions and themes, such as: calm and pleasant medieval ambient pieces, epic and victorious battle hymns, Eastern/oriental melodies in “Sacred Bliss”, cinematic fairy tale idyll through piano melodies in "Long Shadows"... or just some Howard Shore-alike epicness especially in "Arrival" or "Hiraeth II". However, all these things together might be too much for some people's cheese-o-meter, but that's why there are songs like "Discovery" on the album: to deliver the exact same energetic riff-storm and solos as Havukruunu did last year. Also, I'd like to mention the album's production quality. Everything proves the creator's dedication and talent: everything is colorful and sounds gorgeous - pure excellency!

Charming. This is the most perfect way to define what captures the listener who dares to start the musical adventure through this 110+ minutes long atmospheric black metal piece.

“I walk out to the land
This feeling is so grand
I am regaining my
Strength in life and I refuse to die”

/from "Old Growth Forest"/



Recent reviews by this author
Kekht Arakh Pale SwordsmanTaake / Helheim Henholdsvis
A Compendium of Curiosities Heaven Feels Like Floating Around in a Golden CityPoison Ruin Poison Ruin LP
Deafheaven 10 Years GoneStriges Verum Veterum
user ratings (44)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2021


5927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

For some reason the Bandcamp page disappeared, so here is the official premiere instead: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dsndsN6-k9w



Temporary bandcamp account: http://nullbm.bandcamp.com

Digging: Impaled Nazarene - Eight Headed Serpent

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2021


7109 Comments


Sounds like a good time, may check

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2021


7551 Comments


This sounds like the kind of cheese I won't dig, but a nice rev nonetheless garas!

Digging: Andy Stott - Never the Right Time

Elynna
February 12th 2021


833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice to see you back to reviewing. It's a grandiose and epic album, almost cinematic in scope. And like I said in your shoutbox, I'm particularly fond of the instrumental passages and the flute here. My only gripe with Hiraeth is that it doesn't justify its near two hour runtime, but that's just me nit-picking.

Digging: Niemi - Spiraalit (Spirals)

Bedex
February 12th 2021


2642 Comments


garas rev m/ m/

normaloctagon
February 12th 2021


5180 Comments


nice one garas

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2021


15919 Comments


Nice feature ;) I'll take a peek in the next couple of days. Pos'd

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - Violence Unimagined

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2021


7109 Comments


Ye good feature 👌

garas
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2021


5927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Holy cow, featured!! Thanks!! 🖤

acdrums777
February 12th 2021


14 Comments


Haven't checked this out yet. That nearly 2hr runtime is kinda dauntingxD

Pho3nix
February 12th 2021


1069 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'll have to czech this, thanks!

zaruyache
February 13th 2021


23781 Comments


that link doesn't work when you click it for some reason. :|

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2021


24228 Comments


Oooh this calls me, I feel it

Nice rev garas, grats on the feature!

Digging: Spectral Wound - A Diabolic Thirst

combustion07
February 13th 2021


8191 Comments


Gonna jam this one real good

garas
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2021


5927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks guys!

zaru: the link is fixed now!!

Dizchu
February 13th 2021


324 Comments


I'm a few songs in, this is actually pretty cool.

Enough to justify 2 hours of music? We'll see.

JohnyBlood
February 13th 2021


16 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why just 2 hours? I could listen to this even for 3 or 4 :D But in all seriousness, this album is an epic journey and I will always eat its cheese. Very well done.

Digging: Kauan - Ice Fleet

parksungjoon
February 13th 2021


29152 Comments


great avatar Dizchu


Pangea
February 13th 2021


6214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review garas! alb rules hard

Digging: Danny Brown - XXX

Egarran
February 13th 2021


21991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic review.



I still need to be properly hooked by this, but it is very nice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy