The Ruins Of Beverast
The Thule Grimoires


4.5
superb

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
February 6th, 2021 | 102 replies


Release Date: 01/30/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Beyond the borders of the known world

Alexander von Meilenwald's journey over the past two decades has been quite interesting, one might say. In each new chapter, his blackened signature sound has been adding more and more nuances and textures to its initial stroke, thus expanding the boundaries of his stylistic spectrum. However, his path has not been erratic or troubled, on the contrary, it has proved to be a straight line ride, coherent with its past but unafraid to explore new territories. If we listen carefully, we can easily find contact points between the debut album Unlock the Shrine and this brand new chapter, namely the gothic nuances which have always accompanied his work. This shows that despite its adventurous side The Ruins of Beverast has been built on strong foundations, thus mirroring a strong personality.

"Thule", which in classical sources is usually a place or island in the far north, often referred to as a distant place located beyond the borders of the known world, is the conceptual site where Alexander's new narrative roams. Symbolically, I have always found this place quite terrifying, as it represents in a way the demise of what we take for granted, where the world, as we know it, ends. I'm not sure if my perception of this place coincides exactly with Alexander's, and that doesn't matter either, but judging by the album's cover and the atmosphere surrounding The Thule Grimoires, I believe we both share a similar feeling.

As I mentioned earlier, The Thule Grimoires presents the gothic nuances of the past, but now with greater predominance. The Type O Negative-ish approach in a song such as 'Deserts to Bind and Defeat', the 80's-esque goth 'Kromlec'h Knell', or the clean vocals in 'Anchoress in Furs' are among the most evident manifestations of these gothic tones. In fact, the entire album is layered by these dark hues, lending it an elegance that pushes Alexander's sound to another whole new level. By this, I don't mean that his signature sound has lost any of its early energy, it's just better focused. The meticulous production is also a precious asset that catapults music, materializing the original idea perfectly. I love it when a black metal musician is not afraid to use the benefits of sound engineering to his advantage. The somber soundscapes that shape The Thule Grimoires are thus born not only from Alexander's creativity but also from the top-notch production that enhances them.

One of the album's most fascinating aspects is the dynamics and contrasts present in every song. Its crescendos, subtle details, and surrounding atmosphere become increasingly seductive in each listening, slowly revealing its true nature. The Thule Grimoires is therefore an album that gradually shows its true colors, progressively unveiling new secrets, new emotions. Each song has its own voice and character, being a relevant piece of the global narrative, however, despite this overall flair, songs such as the opener 'Ropes into Eden', 'Polar Hiss Hysteria', and 'Deserts to Bind and Defeat', should be highlighted due to their inherent dynamics and mystical aura.

The Thule Grimoires is yet another exciting chapter in Alexander von Meilenwald's creative journey which takes us beyond the dark borders of the known world. It is a stylistic expansion that introduces not only new layers of catchiness but also a sound engineering that matches Alexander's musical ambition. These monolithic soundscapes are thus the testimony of a grown-up musician who displays his gloomy universe within an elegant frame, and I, as a spectator and listener, am convinced that this set of ancestral incantations will be among the finest conjurations of 2021.



Recent reviews by this author
Sanguisugabogg Tortured WholeCryptosis Bionic Swarm
Enforced Kill GridEvergrey Escape of the Phoenix
Suffering Hour The Cyclic ReckoningSoen Imperial
user ratings (177)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2021


15866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album has grown significantly on me in the last couple of days. Massive jam.

Full stream:

http://youtu.be/Nd2EOKgxV_M

http://theruinsofbeverast.bandcamp.com/album/the-thule-grimoires



Digging: Cannibal Corpse - Violence Unimagined

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2021


13938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2021 is seriously getting thicc.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2021


15866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it got off to a good start. This is easily my favorite release, so far.

Tundra
February 7th 2021


5876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Tundra Shines bro, Tundra Shines...

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


24175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, I was gonna check this today. Will report back!

Digging: Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO - Promises

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


15866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

See you soon Dewinged

hal1ax
February 7th 2021


15531 Comments


oh shit new ruins. gonna check

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


57757 Comments


I enjoyed their last record. Must check this one

Digging: Sex-Dragoon - Mayo

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
February 7th 2021


10933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Took a while for me to get into it, but another hit for TROB. They sure don't settle on a sound for longer than an album or two before shaking shit up all over again.

R4zor3dge
February 7th 2021


1212 Comments


Easily one of the best one man BM projects around.

Pikazilla
February 7th 2021


15478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heck yes. We are also getting new Mare Cognitum this year too m///

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


24175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good dammit

Lichtbringer
February 7th 2021


587 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First song is awesome. No other song I enjoyed all the way through. Some of these cleans are pretty bad. Lots of the ideas feel kind of clunky and not at all well fleshed out or integrated musically.

Jasdevi087
February 7th 2021


6641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

looks tight

Digging: The The - Infected

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


24175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Second track has Pazuzu vibes. Dug this a lot. Cleans could be better, that Nick Holmes impersonation is not really up there but the rest is really good.

Elynna
February 7th 2021


825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album, great write-up. Production is top notch and the songwriting is immaculate. Alexander manages to embrace the goth (Type O Beverast?), while still maintaining that typical Beverast atmosphere. The cleans will grow on you Dewi, at least they did on me.



Digging: Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO - Promises

DDDeftoneDDD
February 7th 2021


16923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Eventually I listened to this until its a 4.5.

Tks for the rev Notrap. When was this up? Did you guys slept?



I felt this awesome TypeO neg vibe as well! Although this lacks some heavier tracks, the vibes are just awesome...that doomy section a la Pallbearer on 2nd track is also a big highlight of mine.

Digging: Kauan - Ice Fleet

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


15866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I posted it around midnight (GMT) D. I knew you'd like that sludgy moment on The Tundra Shines.

Thanks Elynna. Yeah, the album is definitely a grower, the cleans took their time to sink in.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


24175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah they are not half bad, I actually like them, I just think it's one of the things that has room for improvement.

Todesking
February 7th 2021


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album, however with this new style, the duration may be a little too long.

The general atmosphere is more "trippy".

A lot of great moments but also sometimes a little boring.

A little less introspective than his previous releases and maybe less powerfull than the previous one exuvia, for the moment...only listened to 2 times entirely...I'll see how it grows in me.

TROB is for me one of the best one man band (maybe the best !). And his other projects are just as well, especially with the black metal band Nagelfar (DE).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy