Joshua Burnside
Into the Depths of Hell


5.0
classic

Review

by Scoot USER (41 Reviews)
February 6th, 2021 | 30 replies


Release Date: 09/04/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No ice in my whiskey, please.

The last eleven months have been some of the most harrowing in modern history. The economic divide has grown to monstrous proportions. Isolation is taking its toll on those of us who are separated from family and friends, the stress giving way to a massive worldwide increase in cases of depression and anxiety. Pubs and bars that once held crowds of laughing twenty-somethings have been reduced to hollow shells of records that aren't being played and glasses that hold no beer. Many artists have found creative inspiration to write songs lamenting the loss of live music and the overall beauty that comes with strangers coming together to enjoy the art.

One such artist is Irish folk-singer Joshua Burnside, who made waves in the underground scene with 2017's EPHRATA, a sun-drenched indie folk tribute to his stay in Colombia. A three-year break between releases can be a daunting task for a successful debut songwriter to live up to - after all, Burnside may have been writing those debut songs for years before the album took shape. Add that to the growing sense of uneasiness and lack of control felt by the world's majority, and it wouldn't have came as a surprise if writer's block had watered down his follow-up efforts.

Into the Depths of Hell promptly takes that notion and throws it out the window.

Over the course of ten songs, Burnside has drawn influence from The Midnight Organ Fight, The Glow Pt. 2 and For Emma, Forever Ago to craft a twisted and haunting portrait of a neurotic and suffering mind. From the pounding kick drums and warbling moans of opener "I Saw The Night" - which instantly brings Phil Elverum's signature style to mind - to the desperate and apologetic "Nothing for Ye", Burnside covers a broad range of emotions. Utilizing field recordings, experimental recording techniques and even a little autotune (an obvious nod to Justin Vernon), he manages to breathe life into a genre that has been stretched exceedingly thin over the last two decades.

Although several of the album's themes have to do with society's sad insignificance in the grand scheme of it all, Burnside manages to carry an underlying sense of hope in his voice that never truly wavers throughout the journey to the final moments of the closing track. There is a pain and sorrow in his words that resonate in a way that few musicians have managed to convey, especially not as early into what should be a very promising career as Burnside is right now. An incredibly ambitious tribute to the genre's best and brightest, Into the Depths of Hell is a resounding triumph in the face of all the ugliness, paranoia and unsteadiness of the modern world - one that will surely provide some form of comfort to anyone that can relate.



Recent reviews by this author
Scarypoolparty Doom HologramWake Confluence
Cloudkicker SolitudeFor Squirrels Example
Grandview Everything Between Paint and a WallAnonymuz There Is No Threat
user ratings (17)
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scoot
February 6th 2021


20511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the true album of 2020

Digging: Yesduke - Yesduke

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 6th 2021


37090 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for recommending this to me the other day. It's such a harrowing record. Very dark and carries a thick atmosphere of personal apocalypse, yet occasionally shines through with those precious rays of hope. This thing is an absolute gem.

Digging: Manchester Orchestra - The Million Masks Of God

NorthernSkylark
February 6th 2021


10945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Those recs. Sounds sweet.

Digging: Stina Nordenstam - And She Closed Her Eyes

anatelier
February 6th 2021


4060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell YES this was my AOTY also

Digging: Feu! Chatterton - Palais d'Argile

Scoot
February 6th 2021


20511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i can't believe this didn't immediately take off here



it ticks every box of a sputnik classic

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 6th 2021


37090 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The 1-2 punch of "And You Evade Him/Born in the Blood" and "Whiskey Whiskey" is unreal.

anatelier
February 6th 2021


4060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I get massive noonday dream vibes from this at points

Scoot
February 6th 2021


20511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

4:00 into driving alone really hits hard



getting stoned to this album is highly recommended

Scoot
February 6th 2021


20511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also don't sleep on ephrata or bluebells, shit is straight fire

theBoneyKing
February 6th 2021


20109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, love “Driving Alone in the City at Night”

Digging: Neil Young - On the Beach

Lucman
February 7th 2021


5171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gosh, how did I miss this? What a brilliant record.

Digging: Taylor Swift - Fearless (Taylor?s Version)

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 7th 2021


37090 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I'll have to go back and check his debut at some point. This would have been a top-5 album of 2020, possibly my AOTY, had I heard it on time.

JayM
February 8th 2021


43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Normally wouldn't listen to this genre but I couldn't turn it off

DDDeftoneDDD
February 10th 2021


16912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have this one to listen. I'm pretty sure I took it from anat's list.

Digging: Zao - The Crimson Corridor

DDDeftoneDDD
February 10th 2021


16912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lovin it

added the other LP's to DB

DDDeftoneDDD
February 10th 2021


16912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

War on Everything is so powerful.

theBoneyKing
February 10th 2021


20109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ I love that one, it’s so out of place here musically but somehow it works.

DDDeftoneDDD
February 11th 2021


16912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sure it is out of place but it gives that final boost yk

theBoneyKing
February 11th 2021


20109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh for sure, last two track work nicely as a come-down.

DDDeftoneDDD
February 11th 2021


16912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, that track gives me those Manchester Orchestra vibes which is cool as well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy