Yu Su
Yellow River Blue


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (63 Reviews)
February 6th, 2021 | 25 replies


Release Date: 01/22/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: At home in the world

Yellow River Blue’s liner notes indicate that the record was created ‘at home’ in seven different places across China, Canada and The United States. While, naturally, this could mean that Yu Su has seven houses scattered across the globe, it seems much more likely that the artist is able to craft a sense of home, a sense of belonging, no matter where she finds herself. This is evident throughout the record, as it comfortably weaves a wide array of influences into a skeleton of glitchy ambient and minimal house.

The album’s first track, ‘Xiu’, appears to incorporate every single element that can be found on Yellow River Blue in its brief four minutes. This setup makes for a brilliantly constructed record: while the opener may be somewhat jarring with its manically hypnotising patterns, odd electronic quips, and prominent inclusion of traditional Chinese instrumentation, each subsequent track focuses and elaborates on one such aspect. The deconstruction of ‘Xiu’ allows for an exploration of a multitude of different sounds and influences, and, most importantly, Yu Su’s ability to display her strengths across this particular board. The excellent ‘Touch-Me-Not’ concentrates on a warm, bubbly ambient atmosphere, culminating into a collision of glitches delivering a sparkly, wonderfully minimalistic climax. Entirely relaxed, the song possesses a unique sense of urgency; evoking a sense of fully achieved, yet vaguely threatened serenity.

This relative placidity is directly followed by the equally impressive ‘Gleam’. While allowing its instrumentals to breathe in a similar manner, the song zooms in on a simplistic, repetitive drum pattern. Much more abrasive than its counterpart, it remains drained in sparkly ambience, with an obscured vocal sample adding an eerie touch to the track. Similarly, ‘Klein’ takes its time building up to metallic, industrial drums pounding through an abstract backdrop of drowned out wails and nearly indistinguishable synths. The song demarcates Yellow River Blue’s paradoxical strengths brilliantly: entirely directly engaging in its highly addictive melodies, its primary worth can be found in every odd, concealed sound, that somehow manages to fit just right: everything feels fully organic.

As such, while every song appears to directly contrast the previous one, Yu Su’s ability to maintain her uniquely diverse approach focused throughout the record makes for a highly cohesive listen. Every sound can be traced back to the opening cut, and, more importantly, each decision makes perfect sense. As a direct result of this, Yellow River Blue wears its influences on its sleeve, yet manages to find depth in doing so. It’s an album that persistently engages, and never fails to highlight Yu Su’s sophisticated artistry.



Recent reviews by this author
London Grammar Californian SoilPONY TV Baby
half/cut Salt an AtlasCitizen Life In Your Glass World
Sullii Me and My Absent Mind AgainTigers Jaw I Won't Care How You Remember Me
user ratings (20)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is super addicting and i hope at least 1,5 more ppl check it out

https://yusu.bandcamp.com/album/yellow-river-blue

Digging: Lunation Fall - Near

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2021


13648 Comments


on it bb

Digging: Julia Kwamya - Feel Good About Feeling Bad

Gyromania
February 6th 2021


32276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Found this to be on the good side of boring. Might be a rating I end up revising after more plays. Klein is mindbending and dusty is just so pleasant sounding

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2021


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds like nothing I've ever heard before. Will cheque.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay, hope you guys dig pher and asleep!

fair enough gyro, it took a few listens to really sink in for me and then it just didn't let go haha

Gyromania
February 6th 2021


32276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah disregard my first comment. I've played this nearly 3 times now this morning and it's getting exponentially better each time. The last 3 tracks are all perfect and reading your review made me realize how xiu is a good summation of the album to come which is cool.



Good rev btw

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha hell yeah, glad it clicked for you! and ty :]

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2021


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only had time to listen to the first couple of tracks of this so far, but really liked it

normaloctagon
February 6th 2021


5236 Comments


hey nice new yu su, have to check this

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2021


1158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn those recs are stacked, I’ll check this

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nicee, glad/hope you enjoy!!

Sinternet
February 8th 2021


24072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't see this review before but nice one, this is tight af

Digging: Lost Girls - Menneskekollektivet

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers! it really is, 'klein' might just be my fav song of the year so far

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2021


1158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I like this a lot! Klein is definitely a highlight

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2021


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ffs i keep only managing to hear snippets of this but it is really lovely

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice hel!! and snippets is still more than most have heard haha :]

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2021


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what genre is this? im completely lost when it comes to electronic shiz im afraid haha

Sinternet
February 16th 2021


24072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for the most part i'd call it ambient house, but there are times it goes off in a more dubby direction

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2021


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Interesting...and what are the characteristics ambient house and "dubby" music? I'm afraid if it doesn't have riffs or an acoustic guitar then I'm woefully out of my depth...

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2021


5703 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is sick damn

Digging: Witxes - A Fabric of Beliefs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy