Goat Girl
On All Fours


3.3
great

Review

by Dewinged STAFF
February 5th, 2021 | 27 replies


Release Date: 01/29/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A drugged goat enters a bar...

The second album of South London psychedelic pop rock squad Goat Girl timidly bleats through my headphones on a foggy morning. It's a significant improvement over their 2018's debut, with a richer use of synths and percussion, carefully tweaked production tricks and more ambitious songwriting, which translates into longer instrumental passages and intrepid exploration of their capabilities as musicians. Songs like "Once Again" and "Sad Cowboy" paint a pretty picture for the band, the first with a strong vocal chorus that spirals down your brain as the song fades away and the latter with a synth taking the spotlight and inducing a mental dance party of all things potentially doable in a post-covid timeline.

On the other hand, the soporific singing style of Lottie and Ellie might not make a strong case for the album, being specially egregious in the case of "P.T.S.Tea", where the mic is stolen by drummer Rosy (or Reux), illustrating why it's usually not a good idea letting a drummer sing (this comes from a drummer!) The same goes for the several themes exposed by the band's rather dull lyrical prowess, touching on ecology or archaic mentality about gender identity, but ultimately having the impact of a fly's punch in the shoulder.

It seems the band switches instruments too depending on the track, also to no effect, since all the songs blend together with little variation. On All Fours is not an album that will make you blood boil or make you question your life choices, but it makes up for a good time if taken lightly. "Closing In" rides on a wicked beat, "Badibaba", which also served as a single, is as solid as it gets for those going to Coachella expecting to experience p.s.y.chedelia, and the masked soul of "Anxiety Feels" is hypnotizing enough to keep your ears glued for another minute as they free fall on the pillow at the midnight hour.

I would say Goat Girl's future is promising, but after two albums running on a turtle race my faith is starting to crumble, and I am beginning to doubt the band will be able to produce something defiantly good in the future, enrapturing even... Encapsulated euphoria is what I want from the goat, not this hornless, sedated version aimlessly ramming around a field of possibilities. On All Fours is a step closer to that ideal, which is entirely personal and maybe not shared among their fanbase but expanding is key and dreaming is for free.




Recent reviews by this author
Zao The Crimson CorridorNicarus Coal People Coal Puppets
Lunar Shadow Wish to LeaveGates Of Doom Aquileia Mater Aeterna
Dvne Etemen ÆnkaWaldskin Clarity Before the Crash
user ratings (23)
3.2
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I really want to like this band, but they are not cooperating.



Stream: https://goatgirl.bandcamp.com/



Still, album's good fun, give it a go.

Digging: Arabrot - Norwegian Gothic

Gyromania
February 5th 2021


32359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice, I heard this about a week ago. Rly middle of the road stuff but nothing downright bad. I kept the opener which I think is pretty solid

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Yeah man, they really have the chops to do smth really cool. "Sad Cowboy" is a jam and a half.

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


14070 Comments


A drugged goat enters a bar...


Really want the rest of this joke now.

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

orders a shot, eats half of the bartender, becomes the goat girl, rams the gramophone, a song plays, someone drops a cigarrette on the tequila spilled on the counter, it catches fire, the goat girl flinches, the place burns down, goat girl jumps out of the window cause she/it knows insurance won't cover this, police arrives, a meteorite falls on them, earth shatters, volcanoes erupt, torrential rains, zombie goats rise from their graves, they breach a dimensional rift, time folds, space folds, the universe warps...



And here we are.

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2021


12777 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A drugged goat enters a bar, wearing a hospital gown. They stumble in, sit down at the first open stool, and order a drink, but the bartender catches them, "Sorry, no drinks for you tonight." The goat looks 'em with a glare and says, "Because I'm using? You're kidding, right?" The bartender laughs and says, "Well I'm not, but if you were, I'd say the nurses shoulda given you a stronger dose."

https://youtu.be/RZ6KWfZz4BY?t=8



*The act of a goat giving birth is called "kidding."

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2021


12777 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Anyways, album isn't very good save for a few songs.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I like my version better shanquiltch, no offense.

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2021


12777 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Everyone's a critic.

Or in this case, a music reviewer.

https://youtu.be/RZ6KWfZz4BY?t=8

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

don't get me wrong, my friend, it WAS funny just... not as funny... I mean...

Mythodea
February 5th 2021


6076 Comments


I thought I'd listen to this fully, but now I'm on Sad Cowboy and don't feel like I've moved an inch from the first song. Cult of Luna for today, apparently.

Good review, as always

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

If you made it to Sad Cowboy and nothing stirred then it's safe to say you're done with the album Myth.



You can proceed to Cult of Luna and bask in all its glory.

Mythodea
February 5th 2021


6076 Comments


Say, have you ever heard of Chelou? (Myth coming with another rec, amirite?)

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I had not, but I'm listening to Real now. Not digging his voice much but the instrumentation is nice, and damn, lot of reverb.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


7132 Comments


lovely tight write up mate. that album art is super charming / kinda fucked looking the closer i look at it.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


15991 Comments


That summary deserved an ending ;) Nice writing, as usual.

Digging: Grave Miasma - Abyss Of Wrathful Deities

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Yeah man, the art is cool. They have a double gatefold pink vinyl edition that looks pretty sick.

Egarran
February 5th 2021


22418 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you had me back at zombie goats

Digging: Kauan - Ice Fleet

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2021


24299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Oh here's the goat 🐐

Egarran
February 5th 2021


22418 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I read a review of this that made it sound like a must-listen, esp for a horny type like me.



But it's pretty lousy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy