SOUL GLO
Songs To Yeet At The Sun


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ben STAFF
January 26th, 2021 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fire and fury

SOUL GLO’s latest barnburner of an EP deserves to be recognised as one of the very best releases of 2020, not just for having the single best album title of the year (or maybe ever?), but also for being punk as fucking shit. Picking up where the likes of Plutocracy left off, SOUL GLO’s explosive blend of back-to-basics hardcore, skramz and hip hop is as bewildering as it is skull-shatteringly addictive. Frontman Pierce Jordan tosses out lyrical hand-grenades one after another like a man possessed - as convincing a voice for the oppressed and pissed-the-fuck-off as any - whilst a near indecipherable barrage of eclectic riffage and furious drumwork propels Songs to Yeet at the Sun to towering heights of fury that not even the likes of END and Gulch managed to attain in 2020.

It’s near impossible to keep track of everything that’s going on, and harder still to not be impressed by the spirit and passion clearly fueling the hardcore four-piece from Philly. Yet somehow, despite the band’s consistently dizzying aesthetic, everything slots neatly into place on Songs to Yeet at the Sun, the quartet’s latest riff-fest sporting levels of cohesion, polish and precision far exceeding 2019’s The Nigga In Me Is Me. It’s the type of shit to make you genuinely excited about a genre in desperate need of a shakeup, with the potential of the group to put out their own Calculating Infinity or [insert genre defining album here] shining clear as day. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m by no means well placed to comment authoritatively on the current state of the Afro-Punk scene - white, middle-class Brit that I am - yet even I can say with certainty that its future looks brighter than ever with the likes of SOUL GLO at the helm.



Recent reviews by this author
King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard Live at Red Rocks '22Captain Jazz Captain Jazz
Danny Brown QuarantaFuming Mouth Last Day of Sun
Year of the Knife No Love LostEND The Sin of Human Frailty
user ratings (69)
3.7
great
related reviews

Diaspora Problems


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2021


9741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did I just publish an end of year blurb with a few tiny tweaks as a shitty soundoff review? Yes. Do I care? No.



Listen to SOUL GLO.

FitToSwing
January 26th 2021


132 Comments


Great review! I’ve heard a lot of praise for these guys but haven’t checked them out yet. Making that my new priority today.

Jamdbz
January 26th 2021


1507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

stoked this has a review. great band, great dudes

MarsKid
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2021


20927 Comments


Honestly, the album title turned me off of checking this lol. Maybe I'll reconsider.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2021


9741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

essential listening tbh, ignore the title if that's what's putting you off

SteakByrnes
January 26th 2021


29444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad I finally checked this, it rips and owns



Album title was the reason I wanted to check it in the first place lol

AxeToFall93
January 26th 2021


315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, possibly the best newcomer in the entire genre. This absolutely slays.

dedex
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2021


12694 Comments


Love this kind of tight rev Ben! This sounds extra cool

Jamdbz
January 26th 2021


1507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@mars ya gotta check it out. It's a short but sweet listen

ian b
January 26th 2021


2175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

imagine not listening to something because of a title in 2021 lmao



seriously tho this seems like an absolute ripper, lovely lil writeup btw !

Mort.
January 26th 2021


24822 Comments


'blend of back-to-basics hardcore, skramz and hip hop'


what

will have to check this

SteakByrnes
January 26th 2021


29444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It goes hard in the whip, the toyota corolla, the honda civic

ian b
January 26th 2021


2175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

....i dont know what i just experienced.....but i am a changed man....

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 27th 2021


70239 Comments


Album name is stupid af but like also low key super hilarious

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 27th 2021


70239 Comments


"The Nigga In Me Is Me"

Is also pretty incredible

My expectations were deffs SUBVERTED when I saw the genre tags

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2021


9741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

noice ian bb, didnt know you were in to this type of thing, sveet

WatchItExplode
January 29th 2021


10416 Comments


This is def spastic and volatile...I can support that.

kevbogz
February 11th 2021


6063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if u haven't heard their 2019 album yet do yourself a favor and at least check out 31

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2021


9741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Them white n***s you fuck with turned tiki torch real quick, ReAl QuIcK, REALQUICK" [riffs ensue]



31 is great. that whole album is great tbh.

kevbogz
March 25th 2022


6063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

couple songs in on the new one. p good so far, but it's definitely got....... a different sound than their early stuff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy