Sungrazer
Sungrazer


5.0
classic

Review

by Trifolium USER (19 Reviews)
January 22nd, 2021 | 106 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Endless, sunlight drenched hills under a vast open sky.

You are standing in a wide landscape, on top of a ridge of hills. Beneath your feet, endless stretches of dry hills, the vegetation on them sparse and yellow from baking in the sun all day. The sky is immense overhead, pressing on you with all of its enormousness. An empty cavity, infinitely going on, even further than you can see. You have never realised just how huge the sky is, and how tiny and insignificant this makes you feel. Standing on this ridge, in the sunlight, looking up into the sky, just a speck of a living thing, in a vast world underneath that towering, empty sky.

After this pretentious beginning, I have a confession to make. I know nothing about this genre at all. Stoner/Desert Rock/Metal (pick your mix) has always appealed to me, yet I’ve never really explored it further than a handful of albums. In those albums that I did hear, however, I can easily find similarities which could be used to describe the genre(s). Words such as fuzzy, warm, sunlight, distorted, grooves, and feedback are highly applicable and used ad nauseam. It is no surprise, then, that they work well to describe Sungrazer’s self-titled debut as well. Hailing from the desert town (ha!) of Maastricht, The Netherlands, their existence was short lived. They released two albums and one split, to dissolve after four years due to ‘inner turmoil’.

Just like with many Stoner/Desert albums, most of Sungrazer’s six tracks feel like long, extended jam sessions. They are heavily focussed on grooves which lean on relaxed yet buoyant rhythms, equally suitable for a slow, Sunday listening session as for a head-bopping and body-shaking gig. Unlike some of their peers, the band manages to keep things interesting throughout the disk's entire runtime. To do so, they often employ contrasting approaches to keep the listener’s attention. One moment their riffs are as heavy as a cubic metre of sand, in for example Somo’s final few seconds, to completely switch gears by the time Zero Zero begins only a few seconds later, featuring an intro that could only be described as jazzy and smooth. Zero Zero for me truly encompasses what this record is all about, with sections flowing nicely together, minding their own business, in such a way that you do not even notice they went from very relaxed to headbanging in a matter of minutes.

The whole album is like this, moving from grooves full of sunlight, dust, fuzz, and distortion (there these words are again!) to jazzy interludes, sometimes even featuring saxophone. You can discern psychedelic influences nearly everywhere. The intro of Mountain Dusk leans towards blues, but the song ventures into straightforward yet delicious rock only moments later. Sungrazer always keep it fun and light-hearted too, never even coming near guitar noodling despite the albums many solos. This easy-going atmosphere is embodied at the album’s end, with the fake-out ending of Mountain Dusk tricking you into thinking it is all over. At first, its mammoth groove slowly starts fading out over the course of three minutes, only to fade back in again after a few seconds of silence. And when it finally resolves into nothingness, it suggests an endlessness that is not at all different from the sunlight drenched hills under a vast open sky on which we began our adventure. At that moment, I want to hear it all over again.



Recent reviews by this author
Monolake Hong KongMaria BC Devil's Rain
Underworld Beaucoup FishGabriel Rios Flore
An Pierle and White Velvet An Pierle and White VelvetRX-101 Serenity
user ratings (28)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
January 22nd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of my dearest lovelies 💖

SublimeSound
January 22nd 2021


28 Comments


Interesting album/review. I'll be checking this out for sure.

normaloctagon
January 22nd 2021


5605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ah trif, always providing the Netherbands for my favorite genres.... will check this soon. lovely rev, pos 'n all that

farmerobama
January 22nd 2021


450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't listened to them for a while, time for a refresh

Digging: Methadone Skies - Retrofuture Caveman

Trifolium
January 22nd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thank you, you, and you!



Hope you dig SublimeSound and occy!

parksungjoon
January 22nd 2021


31116 Comments


i want to eat the sun

check kyuss btw

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

Trifolium
January 22nd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I will! Which one is a good entry point?

parksungjoon
January 22nd 2021


31116 Comments


probably sky valley?

Trifolium
January 22nd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gooooooooooood, that's going on my list of stuff to check then!!!!!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2021


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

loove that one-two punch of the pretty opening para and the second para's first sentence haha! pos'd ofc

few thingies:

- "They have released two albums and one split, to dissolve again after four years due to ‘inner turmoil’.": past simple would prob work a lil better here (delete 'have') and the 'again' seems unnecessary/unexplained

- "Yet unlike some of their peers": yet can be deleted here (unlike does the job + yet is used in the previous sentence)

- "disks": = disk's

Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture

Trifolium
January 23rd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Jesper you're the best 💕 Always bringing in some great suggestions and grammar/spelling things. Really appreciated!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2021


24315 Comments


Missed this on my 2010 run last year dammit. Gotta check it at some point, I've heard some scattered tracks of these guys and they are great.

Digging: Arabrot - Norwegian Gothic

Trifolium
January 23rd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hmmmmmmm it's such a lovely album Dewi, but I guess my rating kind of gives that away already.



I could see this having a lot of potential to be widely loved, yet I don't know anything about the genre so I don't know whether it's unique in any way of course.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2021


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

< 3

planning on giving this a listen today, doesn't sound too far up my alley but trif rev + dutch + ~underground~ make it a must

Trifolium
January 23rd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha nice! I hope you find something to like here.



For me this is one of those few that has been with me for a long time, where I still feel the urge to jam it back to back millions of times every couple of months, and which instantly transports me back to so many nice moments and memories. And apart from that I think it's just very nicely composed and played and all that stuff.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lovely write up. This sounds like itd be similar to Causa Sui, who you should check if you haven't. Cant go wrong with Summer sessions vol 1.

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2021


14071 Comments


Yeah, nice work on this one Triffy

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

Trifolium
January 23rd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks guys 💞



The Sui one has been on my to check list for ages, need to make work of that soon yeah. But I remember checking a snippet here and there and not really digging the vox... Hmmmmmmm.

Trifolium
January 23rd 2021


24197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ah I did only check their latest one and didn't really feel it by the looks of that 3.0. The average of Summer Sessions is very promising though, will check!

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tbf I've only heard vol 1 of the summer sessions but it makes me real happy. Probs the best example I've heard of the genre at its most chill and hypnotic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy