The Dirty Nil
Fuck Art


3.0
good

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (58 Reviews)
January 12th, 2021 | 63 replies


Release Date: 01/01/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: pup punk

Okay, let’s address the elephant, or eh, puppy in the room first: that cover art is quite something, isn’t it? But, absolute shocker, it’s possible to draw a clear parallel between the collared good boi and the music on F*ck Art: in fact, it’s the perfect visual representation of the album. On this new record, Canadian punkers The Dirty Nil present a whole lot of fun, exhausting and persistently dumb-but-kinda-cute music. Every song is energetic and relentlessly catchy, but as you make your way through 35-minutes of bangers and the band stuffs even more gang vocals into closer ‘One More And The Bill’, you’ll find yourself saturated with enough pop punk to last you through the winter.

F*ck Art’s first major issue can be found in the vocal department. That’s not to say Luke Bentham has a bad voice, quite the opposite: he has enough grit to carry the entire record, while injecting the exact right amount of nasality for the genre. Sadly, his vocals are incredibly high in the mix, utterly failing to gel with the instrumentals during the slightly less upbeat moments. Besides sounding awkward at times, the poor production job makes every single lyrical slip up painfully apparent… and there’s a whole lot of them. The Dirty Nil may just be the most literal band out there: you’ll never guess what songs with titles such as ‘Done With Drugs’ and ‘Hello Jealousy’ are about! The former is especially amateurish, as the bridge single handedly negates the need for rehab centers around the world: “Maybe I'll try origami or jujitsu / And walk around Ikea with you / 'Cause I'm done with drugs”.

However, ‘To The Guy Who Stole My Bike’ is an absolute lyrical goldmine, whether this is intentional or not. Bringing to mind that video where Canadians are asked to trash talk, Bentham fires off insane insults such as “I hope the brakes [the bike’s brakes, remember, we’re being extremely literal here] don't cease / When you're riding down the hill to hell”. Equally shockingly, he states his anger in the chorus by barking that ”I was angry then and I’m still now”. Absolutely brutal and resolutely cute.

For all of its lyrical issues, F*ck Art is still incredibly enjoyable. Almost every song is a blast to listen to, presenting several relentlessly catchy hooks. While this makes the full project a mildly exhausting listening experience, especially during its back half, it does ensure a high degree of memorability. Early album highlights ‘Blunt Force Concussion’ and ‘Elvis ‘77’ boast some of the best feel-good choruses in recent pop punk memory. While there is no flashy musicianship to be found here, The Dirty Nil are highly competent at delivering fun, simplistic music, with each member chipping in on their respective instruments. Occasionally, the band sees fit to unleash into hardcore-inspired bridges or outros, making for slight, pleasant changes of pace. The overall childish ‘Doom Boy’ ending on a rather intense breakdown is pretty random, not all that remarkable, but adds a little edge to a track that desperately needs it. Similarly, ‘Damage Control’ fits a sick scream into its bridge, compensating for the previous song’s incredibly annoying ‘doo-doo-doo’s as an effective form of, here it comes, damage control.

With a whole lot of selective amnesia in the lyrical department, F*ck Art is a highly enjoyable listen while it’s on, but it won’t exactly leave you begging for more. Give it a shot, add a song or two to your summer playlist and call it a day. The Dirty Nil are in need of learning a new trick or two on future projects, but until then, this record is pretty fun to spend a limited amount of time with. Just don’t ask me to adopt it. Get it? Puppies.



Recent reviews by this author
Tigers Jaw I Won't Care How You Remember MeBathe Alone Last Looks
nothing,nowhere. Trauma FactoryTeenage Wrist Earth Is A Black Hole
Loathe (UK) The Things They BelieveYu Su Yellow River Blue
user ratings (99)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


2543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

woof, this was a lot of fun to write

video of canadians trash talking: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kp1HwI1JHkI

Digging: Bathe Alone - Last Looks

Gyromania
January 12th 2021


31949 Comments


Great summary! Tells me everything I need to know to hard pass on this

Digging: Daniel Knox - Won't You Take Me With You

ian b
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review, even if i disagree heavy. these guys have been getting compared to any and every other Canadian punk/punk-pop band ever since they started putting out full-lengths and it's annoying as hell because they preceded most of the bands that they get compared to lol at least by a couple of years in most cases. Minimum R&B is a great comp that plays like an actual album that showcases pretty much all of their best songs from their first few years, would highly recommend checking if you want to hear these guys with a lot more garage-y and more punk influenced punk-pop

Digging: Hospital Bracelet - South Loop Summer

Deathconscious
January 12th 2021


26025 Comments


First song was pretty fun.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


2543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

at ur service gyro lmao

thanks ian! fair enough yeah, i'll give that comp a shot :]

lucazade22
January 12th 2021


632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The closer is such a banger

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


28226 Comments


cute writeup but it doesnt really pack the same punch as "insta 1 pour petrol on it"

Digging: The Sisters of Mercy - Temple of Love / Heartland

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


7011 Comments


cool rev, will prob not listen tho lel

Digging: A Day to Remember - You're Welcome

Colton
January 12th 2021


8424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Can’t wrap my head around a band from Hamilton putting out a good album. It just doesn’t make sense

Digging: The Hold Steady - Open Door Policy

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2021


33422 Comments


nice rev, played a game where i reread each paragraph pretending you were talking about Futures and it made a disarming amount of sense. might check for the hell of it

Digging: Lane Shi Otayonii - Ming Ming

mectcd
January 12th 2021


2 Comments


IMO the mix sounds great on my setup at home & in headphones, vocals aren't too high. Great album to kick of the year. It's like a kick of vitamin D when we're in these dreary winter months.

SlothcoreSam
January 12th 2021


2990 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their 2018 album Master Volume shits all over this.



Digging: Glass Beach - alchemist rats beg bashful (remixes)

ian b
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all of their music (but especially Minimum R&B and Master Volume) shits all over this but it's still pretty good imo

ieatbabies795
January 12th 2021


688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review. Some of these songs are not as fun as the ones on their last album, so this was pretty boring to listen to

Digging: KANGA - Eternal Daughter

NorthernSkylark
January 12th 2021


10825 Comments


Garfunkel?

Digging: Lisa Germano - Happiness

Colton
January 12th 2021


8424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The vocals on this are sooo generic pop punk it almost hurts but there’s some solid songwriting and fun lyrics

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2021


57675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is very OK

Digging: Jetty Bones - Push Back

gryndstone
January 12th 2021


1857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've got about half of this album saved, the other half i will forget about entirely but damn the good stuff is catchy

madrigal30
January 12th 2021


1200 Comments


tfw i feel like my lyrics are better than most of this record (and i hate my own lyrics)

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


2543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lmao johnny ye i can see that

madri ur lyrics are dope tho! really fit the genre as opposed to nil's target audience of 29 yo slayer fans who are quitting ket



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy