Life's Question
A Tale of Sudden Love & Unforgettable Heartbreak


3.5
great

Review

by Ben CONTRIBUTOR (32 Reviews)
January 10th, 2021 | 19 replies


Release Date: 12/10/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A tale of sudden m/

The amount of ground that Life’s Question manage to cover in a measly 10 minutes with their latest crossover thrash EP is only made more impressive by just how darn good the Chicago 5-piece are at everything they turn their hand to. Demonstrating a refreshing level of respect for the old school sound it draws from whilst continuing to push at the boundaries of its influences, A Tale of Sudden Love & Unforgettable Heartbreak toes the line between unrestrained hardcore chaos and nuanced metallic riffage with such poise that you could be fooled into thinking it were easy. All four of its blistering tracks offer up something unique, whether that be the unkempt punk aggression of its closer Broke, the NWOBHM-edge to the instrumental-led Who Stole the Soul? or the technical flair evident in Cracks in Floor of Heaven's meaty, thrash grooves. It's a punk record for every flavour of metalhead, sure to appeal to all with its eclectic bag of tricks and vibrant, breathable production, allowing every explosive cymbal crash and palm-muted riff to soar, avoiding burial beneath a brick wall. And even though there really ought to be more content here to unpack after several years of the band drip-feeding EPs (including many of the same songs), what their latest lacks in length it more than makes up for in quality. Wherever your allegiance lies - thrash or hXc, headbang or spinkick - A Tale of Sudden Love & Unforgettable Heartbreak delivers. Come join the pit.



Recent reviews by this author
For Giants There, TherePUP This Place Sucks Ass
Blood From The Soul DSM-5Malfet Alban Arthan
Giraffes? Giraffes! Rite Of SummerThe Front Bottoms In Sickness and In Flames
user ratings (2)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A teenie tiny review for a teenie tiny EP.



https://bbbrecords.bandcamp.com/album/a-tale-of-sudden-love-unforgettable-heartbreak

parksungjoon
January 11th 2021


25751 Comments


>allowing every explosive symbol crash

cymbal ;p

i'm not sure this is crossover tbh

Digging: Government - Shitshitshit [japanese death poem]

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shit, tnx parks, fixed



no? my knowledge of crossover is admittedly rather limited, where'd you think this sits? it's a bit crust-ish guess

garas
January 11th 2021


5485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That's a nice lookin' cover art. Will check.

Digging: Demolition Hammer - Epidemic of Violence

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


25751 Comments


>where'd you think this sits?

my first guess was metalcore

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


25751 Comments


anyway its a neat find

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fair play, i guess their relative eclecticism would make a fair few labels fit tbh. Glad you gave it a whirl.

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


25751 Comments


yeah i dont think crossover is super wrong or anything but the breakdowns especialyl gave me more of a mxc vibe

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're gonna have to educate me on what classic crossover is tbh, I think i've only heard that prong record you reviewed

also ye garas the only reason i checked this was the art lol. glad i did though.

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


25751 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykiyfwGFKa0

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


25751 Comments


actually it's a tough one tbh... been digging hard into it lately looking for answers and im still not satisfied

parksungjoon
January 12th 2021


25751 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYXvnCJQUB4

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that leeway record is fun so far, though tbh i wouldn't have thought of it as anything more than straight thrash, but also not my genre of expertise either

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the cadence of the vox / rhythm is very punk tho, so idk

parksungjoon
January 13th 2021


25751 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gV-Pxn0fBvM

garas
January 14th 2021


5485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This thing



RIFFS!

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ye boiiiii

DDDeftoneDDD
January 20th 2021


15390 Comments


"It's a punk record for every flavour of metalhead"
lol count me in

Digging: Nervosa - Perpetual Chaos

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2021


6803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jam it and rejoice, for the m/ is good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy