Vicious Blossom
You Breathe Inside Of Me


3.5
great

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (49 Reviews)
January 7th, 2021 | 27 replies


Release Date: 01/08/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Comfortably detached

You Breathe Inside Of Me finds itself in a constant haze. While somewhat disorienting, it’s highly inviting in its comfortably detached nature. Fittingly, Vicious Blossom appears to be in a similar state itself, with members persistently rotating and differing per song. Yet, it is this refusal to adhere to an explicit reality as well as the constant fog that unites both the collective and the album, whether the particular tracks were recorded fifteen years ago or last week. Opener ‘Luminous Heaven’ is a delightful slice of shoegaze, as much purposefully lost in its own world of distortion and atmosphere as it is decidedly gorgeous. Elsewhere, ‘Carrie’ presents pleasantly claustrophobic vocal patterns, rotating in perfect harmony with the echoing guitars and drums.

The album’s best song, ‘Goth Girl’ encompasses all the simplistically gorgeous elements that make You Breathe Inside Of Me such a gratifying listen. It’s comfortably wrapped in a blanket of haze and adrift on a highly addictive rhythm, exploring the sophisticated topic of rawdogging in Vicious Blossom’s typically explicit, detached manner, removing itself from actuality with paradoxical grace. In spite of the album’s undeniable beauty and ability to turn the ordinary into the ethereal, it does suffer from its brevity and relative lack of risks. Nonetheless, You Breathe Inside Of Me is a highly pleasant trip through dense mist, and a great, comfortable way to start off the new year.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dirty Nil Fuck ArtThe Dangerous Summer All That Is Left of the Blue Sky
Palm Reader SleeplessSoft Kill Dead Kids R.I.P. City
Woodes Crystal BallSea Oleena Weaving A Basket
user ratings (15)
3.1
good
recommended by reviewer
sonhos tomam conta cyberia


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2021


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lil review for some quality mbv worship. releases tomorrow but has been streaming on bandcamp for a bit: https://viciousblossom.bandcamp.com/album/you-breathe-inside-of-me

srsly, check goth girl and read along w the lyrics lol

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

BallsToTheWall
January 7th 2021


50239 Comments


Need to jam. Cool shit, man.

Digging: House of Harm - Vicious Pastimes

ian b
January 7th 2021


1387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds like something i woulda been all over in '17/18, regardless, this sounds fun. def gonna give this a listen, great lil review here too :')

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2021


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thx guys!

& hope you both enjoy even if it's not entirely your thing anymore :]

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


22850 Comments


Nice shorty Jesp, 2021 music come to me! Gonna jam.

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


22850 Comments


damn didn't like this at all

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2021


3573 Comments


Ooo, this sounds very interesting, I'll check today, nice Jesper.

Digging: Moor Mother and Billy Woods - Brass

zaruyache
January 8th 2021


23374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

there's like nothing on my RYM release calendar for this year yet so i'm starved for new albums and will cheq this tmrw bless

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

aw, shame dewi! hope you guys enjoy

starved for new albums [2], the ep i put in the rec section is also worth checking for some slightly heavier gaze

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


22850 Comments


Jesp, check the Nicarus album I just added to DB this morning, might be up your alley

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice, i'll get on it!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


22850 Comments


Reminds me a bit of Iress but not as good, still decent though

cold
January 8th 2021


5853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really digging this so far, but those lyrics to Goth Girl...bigg oof

Digging: Jessie Ware - What's Your Pleasure?

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nicarus was quite neat! lots of potential for sure, i think they could create something special with better production (plz) and some more focused songwriting

goth girl lyrics are so bad they're good i think or idk maybe i'm just tired

cold
January 8th 2021


5853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"take me to your room

lay me on the bed

give me love

give me head"



yr tired

parksungjoon
January 8th 2021


25494 Comments


tfw no big dick goth bf

Digging: Government - Shitshitshit [japanese death poem]

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


22850 Comments


Always wanted a goth gf

Never got blessed

butt.
January 8th 2021


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

150 monthly listeners, how did you even find this album??

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2021


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bandcamp genre tag browsing bby haha

butt.
January 8th 2021


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh cool. I should do that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy