Svrm
Розпад


3.0
good

Review

by acdrums777 USER (3 Reviews)
January 4th, 2021 | 29 replies


Release Date: 01/02/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The foundation is laid, now it's time to build

Svrm is an atmospheric black metal solo project based out of Ukraine. *озпад is their third studio album, released independently in January of 2021. All instruments are written and preformed by Sergiy Tkachenko, with the exception of the acoustic guitar sections strewn through the record, which were preformed by Dmytro Cronin. The band was formed in 2015 and has since released 3 demos, 4 EPs, and 3 studio albums.

In the slew of solo black metal projects originating from cold dark countries, the chances of a musical endeavor to rise above the mire and make a name for itself is slim to none. Thy Light and Veldes come to mind as projects that have received some relevance in the metal community, but these groups are few and far between. It seems that the vast majority of this sect of music is plagued with incoherent riffs, whispered fry vocals, and the most absurd drum machine beats there is. Svrm, however, does not fall into this ploy.
The soundscapes that you find in *озпад are rich in melodies and atmospheric rhythms. The tone of the guitars is clear, yet it retains the black metal fuzz that has become a staple in the genre. Tracks such as Мовчання articulate this aspect of the record perfectly. The somber lead guitar that flows into the full band is an aspect of the music that you find throughout most of the tracks on this record. The sound is reminiscent of something you would here on a Veldes record. The vocals are another standout feature. Too often do poor quality fry vocals dampen the results of an album, but Tkachenko’s delivery is a rich false chord that may remind listeners of bands such as Downfall of Gaia. The vibe is most apparent in the track Dementia.

Now, all that is the foundation. The key issue with this record lies in the unfortunate fact that the group simply does not utilize these aspects to their full potential. The record is filled with clunky transitions and abrupt endings. You will have a blazing section filled with intense drums and guitars, and then suddenly an acoustic section for 15 seconds, and then back on the gas. Songs would build around a majestic soundscape and then stumble into an ending that feels like a little kid hitting a tree while sledding. These may sound like little issues, but there isn’t a single track on the record that does not contain one of these factors. This detracts from the overall experience considerably.

Overall, *озпад is a record that shows the basic foundation of what Svrm could be. If future releases from this project expand on the melodic and atmospheric aspects of the record, and they learn how to write a song ending, then I can see this group becoming a relevant name in the realm of atmospheric black metal projects. Time will tell if their potential is realized.


Author’s Note: Hey Sputnik community. If anyone actually reads this, this is my first crack at critical writing/reviewing so any input on how to reference bands and songs in text would be swell. Let me know what areas you felt were solid, and where you feel my thoughts were not quite formulated clearly.
All the best!
-Adam


user ratings (24)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2021


22950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will get on your points later but review is solid. The album is great, reminds me of Drudkh or however it is spelled.

Digging: Typhoon (USA-OR) - Sympathetic Magic

ieatbabies795
January 4th 2021


573 Comments


Ayy your first review

Not sure if I would be into this band but good review, i like it.
“something you would here on a Veldes record” hear instead of here

Digging: Twin Tribes - Ceremony

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2021


13130 Comments


Added this album to my steadily increasing 2021 playlist, weirdly enough I already feel like I'm falling behind.

For a first review this is quite commendable. I'm not sure what to do about the lettering of the album name, the site's inability to adapt to multi-lingual phrases can be annoying sometimes. I know Dewinged mentioned he'd be back to add some pointers - but I have a couple to kick things off if that's alright.

Think about flow and tone. How professional would you like your review to sound? Or would you rather a casual approach? Taking your first paragraph for example, without changing any of the context you've given you readers it could look something like this:

Since Svrm's formation in 2015, the Ukrainian project has released a slew of material including demos, EP's and three studio full-lengths. The project's 2021 offering continues largely in the atmospheric black metal style found on previous records while being released independent from a label.



Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2021


22950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First of all, welcome to the fray Adam, as I said before, for a first, your review is quite decent and gets your point across, so I am not gonna comment on the basics, cause you got that covered, plus Noct raised some valid points too so heed those!



I would add, when stating a fact, or making an argument, provide a context, quote a song title for example, like when you say "You will have a blazing section filled with intense drums and guitars, and then suddenly an acoustic section for 15 seconds, and then back on the gas." Where does this happen?



Second, keep any author's note for the comment section. When you publish a new review, be the first to comment so it goes into the timeline, that way everyone will be able to notice it. If you want comment on something on the review, do it there!



Aside from that, not much left to say, for a language like Russian, Sput doesn't have many options, it's gonna show as broken, you can add titles in English in parenthesis maybe? And about formatting, if you care about it, we use italics for album's names and quotation marks for tracks, but it's not smth written on stone.



Thanks for reviewing this and keep it up!





zelenichajnik
January 4th 2021


58 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Definitely agreed that it could use some development on its good ideas cos what's here is definitely solid as hell - I'd have preferred half the tracks but with, say, 7-8 minute lengths cos there's some nice little melodies on here, if simple. Sweet opening review btw :]

botb
January 5th 2021


14235 Comments


I love drudkh so will probably give this a spin

Essence
January 6th 2021


6436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is above average drudkh worship. probably yet another 3.5 for them. some riffs almost sound stolen lol

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2021


22950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep but Drudkh rule, which makes these guys to rule too, automatically

acdrums777
January 9th 2021


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the feedback guys! I don't know why it took me so long to officially join the community, I've had a shadow account for nearly 3 years xD



And, admittedly, have never actually listened to Drudkh, despite knowing about their existence. I'll check em out m/

combustion07
January 9th 2021


7780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review man! Drudkh is definitely worth checking out.

Digging: Burial (MA) - Enlightened With Pain

Pikazilla
January 9th 2021


14409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, this felt like bland drudkh worship

zaruyache
January 9th 2021


23419 Comments


it's better because it's not fash like droodkeh

Pikazilla
January 9th 2021


14409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Okay, I'll paraphrase that - this felt like run-of-the-mill cascadian bm with absolutely no standout features whatsoever.

zaruyache
January 9th 2021


23419 Comments


PFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2021


22950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Drudkh worship = Drudkh is great = This great too!

Pikazilla
January 9th 2021


14409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like Drudkh's music too, but I will only forever pirate it for obvious reasons.

garas
January 9th 2021


5493 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Will check.

Digging: Hulder - Godslastering: Hymns of a Forlorn Peasantry

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2021


22950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What obvious reasons Pika?

Pikazilla
January 9th 2021


14409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

While they openly denied any political ideologies, they do have songs about the Ukrainian National Insurgent Army.



Microcosmos is a near masterpiece though. What an album.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2021


22950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see, I didn't know that but I guess I'm not surprised. Oh well, their music still rules.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy