Mechina
Siege


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (98 Reviews)
January 2nd, 2021 | 59 replies


Release Date: 01/01/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The year is saved, Mechina is back.

The project led by Joe Tiberi started the sacred tradition of releasing a new album on the very first day of the year with the release of Conqueror in 2011, a tradition that he continued until 2017’s “As Embers Turn to Dust”, with a new album seeing the light of day on a yearly base. This insane pace was interrupted in 2018, with no Mechina album to be found, and the band disappearing until its resurgence in 2019 with Telesterion and a remixing/remastering of the band’s whole catalogue titled The Conpendium. Breaking the tradition resulted in a curse upon the world known as “2020”, and no more words are needed, since we all know how that panned out.

But worry no more! Because Tiberi and co. are back like clockwork with a new album titled Siege, available since yesterday, January 1st. If that is not a sign that this year can only go upwards, then I don’t know anymore.

Mechina’s ninth album is a solid piece of work, one that continues the sound set in Telesterion, with a heavier presence of long-time member Mel Rose’s vocals and even a new addition to the fray in the flesh of Anna Hel, from Russian industrial metal squad Conflict. The first single released from the band’s new album, the title track “Siege”, actually features the harsh vocals from Anna, but it is the only track to do so. The rest of the albums is dominated by the cybernetic melodies of Mel Rose.

The sound of Mechina, or say its essence, hasn’t changed drastically from previous records, but it has naturally evolved into a more melody-centered sound, result of Tiberi’s 6 months of studying different aspects of the production process, which has made the process of crafting this new album less of a torment, with Tiberi relying also more on David Holch and Mel Rose.

The band hasn’t lost its edge on Siege either. The album preserves the heavy, low-tuned djenting, but abandon the death metal blasts of the band’s first works. Synths and symphonic elements are also pushed to the background in comparison to the previous album, but they are high enough in the mix as to feel how they wrap the songs like a cosmic storm.

Without diving too deep into the laborious lore of Mechina, the album takes place at the same time as Acheron’s opening track “To Coexist Is to Surrender”, but this time through the perspective of Enyo, the character voiced by Mel Rose, who is the center piece around whom the album is constructed. Track lengths are quite demanding too, with an average of 7-8 minutes per track, with the exception of “Shock Doctrine”, which is also one of the highlights of the album. Same as in Telesterion, the vocals flow from track to track almost seamlessly, disregarding recognizable vocal hooks found in past tracks of the band like “The Synesthesia Signal” or “Cryoshock”, with Mel’s melodies following the same robotic structure from track to track, despite her delivery being practically flawless. It’s one aspect that may affect the album’s accessibility, but that I, personally, didn’t find too grating after a few listens.

With their newest release, Mechina is back on track hopefully for years to come, with a terrific album that writes a new chapter for the band and for the elaborated universe they once created, preserving their stalwart sound and giving the reigns to Mel Rose for the time being. We won’t have to wait until January of 2022 to know the fate of Acheron, since there’s an album already telling that story, so only time will tell what awaits to Mechina next year. At this point, I just hope to be around to find out!



Recent reviews by this author
Ancient Mastery Chapter One...Frozen Soul Crypt Of Ice
Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou May Our Chambers Be FullEnslaved Utgard
Crippled Black Phoenix EllengaestEartheater Phoenix: Flames Are Dew Upon My Skin
user ratings (22)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Back to reviewing after the AOTY madness! I was so happy to stumble upon a new Mechina album on January 1st that couldn't help to give it a try. Hope it's not a disaster.



The album is a treat for Mel Rose's fans (like myself), but people longing for growls will have to wait one more year or jam t/t on repeat.



Buy/support them: https://mechinamusic.bandcamp.com/album/siege



Album trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwDnnvzqzHA&ab_channel=Mechina



Listen to "Siege": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPr33ot7Qw8&ab_channel=Mechina

Digging: Beautify Junkyards - Cosmorama

TundraL5Z
January 2nd 2021


5592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Surprised you reviewed this one ngl haha

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man, I'm on holidays now, so had the time. I may go back and review Telesterion too at some point.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 2nd 2021


64764 Comments


That album art just screams my name

TundraL5Z
January 2nd 2021


5592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mechina need more recognition/exposure, glad you're doing em Dewi!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pots this is as far as it gets from your taste my dear

MeatWolf
January 2nd 2021


194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I love Mel's vocals dearly but this is as blatant and empty as it could have been. One hour long song with no dynamics and standouts whatsoever.



And I thought Telesterion was mediocre.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I knew you were not gonna like this from the moment I finished my first listen meatwolf, ;D

TundraL5Z
January 2nd 2021


5592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

same haha, yeah not surprised MeatWolf doesn't like this, it really does feel like one single song, or, one singular slab, if you will, of continuous music, whether that is monotonous or not is up to the listener to decide lol

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First listen was a bit underwhelming but after a few you get over the Mel overdose and start appreciating some of the riffs, and man, there's some really neck twisting stuff in here.

MeatWolf
January 2nd 2021


194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well my fav post-Xenon songs are all with Mel but melody-wise Siege is unbelievably subpar. You mentioned it yourself, the harmonies in Cryoshock or Synesthesia Signal and here, aeons apart. I also think Joe got overwhelmed with criticism against his sympho overload on Compendium and Telesterion and decided cut everything (there is a SINGLE audible string passage on the whole album). So with the arrangements all gone background, the vocals are supposed to carry everything and they fail at it completely.

Ironically, the mastering is top notch, probably the best Joe ever did.

DDDeftoneDDD
January 2nd 2021


15288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2121s first listen it is

Digging: Fractal Generator - Macrocosmos

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There u go, to outer space.



Meatwolf, true, less hooks but give it time, Mel's singing has improved significantly, and I really like they synthetic effect on her voice. I appreciate also the less loaded songs, I think I hear more than one string passage though, but I could be wrong.



I don't know, I do believe Dave's harsh vocals would have balanced it out but I was longing for a Mechina album centered on Mel's vocals, so now that it happened I am gonna revel on it for a while haha

Pikazilla
January 2nd 2021


14196 Comments


overrated band at this point

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah Pika, I don't think they are overrated here in general, in fact they are pretty underrated,

Pikazilla
January 2nd 2021


14196 Comments


I was making fun of tundra's soundoffs haha

He's got the same one for like four albums by this band

TundraL5Z
January 2nd 2021


5592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

eh, my likeness for Telesterion has worn off by this point, Mechina excels most when they combine the death metal elements with the melodic elements. Something that is weirdly absent from their recent material.

MeatWolf
January 2nd 2021


194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Again, can't say I miss the growls per se although the growls would have made Tiberi focus on other melody creating instruments which are almost completely absent with this cleans totality. My issue is, indeed, no hooks. Shock Doctrine has SOMETHING but it's definitely not enough.

Telesterion was a mixed bag but nevertheless it had Realm Breaker and Tyrannos which were instant top tier Mechina classics that hit from play one. Several listens in, I can't find anything attractive here whatsoever. And last three songs are unbelievably boring, by the time Freedom Foregone starts I already have an irresistible yearning to move on to something coherent.

Of course I will return to it later on at some point but I don't have big hopes.

TundraL5Z
January 2nd 2021


5592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, on the previous thread I described it as clean vocals crooning over djent riffs and ambient soundscapes for an hour, which I think is accurate lol, and agree, the last 3 tracks are very dull.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2021


22847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just reading some YouTube comments and they are fairly positive, although your criticism is completely fair too.



Realm Breaker was indeed closer to what I expected from them on this one, and yeah Shock comes close.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy